We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petit Roi Quebec Canada”
Review of B&B Au Petit Roi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Au Petit Roi
Ranked #36 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
new vineyard maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Petit Roi Quebec Canada”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone who would like a comfortable, safe, clean place to stay in Quebec City. The owner was polite and helpful, the room was clean and attractive, and the breakfast was excellent. We very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    28
    11
    11
    4
See reviews for
24
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We just returned from two nights at the charming Au Petit Roi, and were very happy with our experience. We stayed in the Royal Suite, which was comfortable and full of character. It was exactly as pictured in the photos on their website. The en suite bathroom was spacious and clean (as was the entire suite) and the bed was firm yet comfortable.

The B&B is perfectly located, just a short walk from Vieux Quebec. Close enough to walk anywhere you want to go within a few minutes, yet far enough away to be a peaceful respite after a day of walking and touring. There are tons of restaurants and interesting shops just a block away on Rue St. Jean.

The breakfasts were probably our least favorite part of our stay. No crepes or french toast while we were there, just very simple eggs with breads. The yogurt, fruit, and juice were delicious, though.

In all, a great value in a wonderful location!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxci623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

First off -The day before I left I sent a confirmation email confirming our arrival and received no reponse. When we got there, my husband and I stood at the front door for 3 minutes after ringing the bell wondering if any one was home - anddiscussing where else we could find a place with no notice. Finally, the hostess arrives -says very little-I asked if she got the email and she said yes and shows us to our room - Very quaint! But the bathroom door and trim were black with months of hand prints and the toilet smelled of old urine. Another guest had complained to me of lack of clean towels and bed not made each day. While I was brushing my teeth I noticed the sink had a crack all the way up to the top and the figurines on the counter were both broken.The breakfast was vegetarian all three days( my husband was not happy about this) and was exactly the same day one and day three out of our 3 day stay . No Imagination! and terrible coffee! However the location was good and it was quiet . although our host was very pleasant when we spoke to him -No helpful hints or suggestions as other reviewwers had mentioned - perhaps that was the old owner. They are cash only (still charge you the taxes and don't give receipts unless you ask).This has not soured me on B&B's but I now know what I Don't want !

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie77777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I joined my husband who was at a conference that happened to be scheduled at the same time of the Quebec City summer festival. We stayed at Au Petit Roi and had an amazing time in Quebec. The hosts were so kind, friendly, great hospitality, and gave great advice about restaurants and things to do in the area. One block from the B&B is Rue St. Jean which is filled with restaurants, cafes, grocery store, ice cream/gelato shops and takes you to all of the Old (Vieux) Quebec sites. We had a car but didn’t use it the entire time. We just paid for parking which was only $5 per day. In terms of the B&B itself, breakfast was included and consisted of crepes, French toast, or eggs along with bread, fruit and yogurt, tea/coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice every morning. On our last night they cooked a delicious homemade Moroccan meal (which was much better than the restaurant we went to on our first night). The rooms are clean, inviting, and the location is unbeatable. We stayed in a suite on the first floor with private bath, living room area, and dining table that we only used the night we had the Moroccan couscous. The rooms also have a fridge and microwave. We travel frequently and never write reviews but we definitely love this B&B and we can't wait to come back to Quebec.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcnmluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My friend and I stayed for four nights. We had a shared bath and room in the back of the house on the third floor. The bed was very comfortable and the room was always nice and clean. The bath was always available when we needed it and the shower had lots of hot water and good pressure. The host was informative and very welcoming (in both French and English). The Breakfasts were amazing starting with yogurt and fruit with fresh squeezed juice and followed by eggs and bacon or crepes, with bagels and toast etc. There is also a shared fridge and microwave and toaster in case you want to eat something you found at the local shops. The B&B is a perfect location near lots of restaurants and shops that are used by more locals and a very short walk to the old city, and in the opposite direction to the museum and the plains of abraham. Its also very convenient to the free Cirque du Soleil. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
#7 of 120 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Auberge La Chouette
#24 of 120 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Hotel Cap Diamant
#14 of 120 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge du Tresor
Auberge du Tresor
#12 of 120 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Couette et Cafe 253
#5 of 120 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
B&B La Marquise de Bassano
#11 of 120 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Au Petit Roi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Au Petit Roi

Property: B&B Au Petit Roi
Address: 445, Burton Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,227 - ₹ 6,521
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Au Petit Roi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your B&B Au Petit Roi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Au Petit Roi Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing