We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect For Us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Au Petit Roi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Au Petit Roi
Ranked #38 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect For Us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We really loved this b&b. We had the downstairs bedroom with the private bath. It was clean, spacious (living area next to the bedroom area) and quiet. The room included a coffee maker, fridge, small table, microwave, cups, saucers, wine glasses, and a remote controlled air conditioner in the bedroom area. Oh, and a small wide screen television. Kajima (I hope I spelled her name correctly) was delightful (she runs the place) and her husband Kalid (I hope I spelled his name correctly) was engaging as well. There are three or four other bedrooms upstairs, though we never saw them. The occupants, though, seemed happy when we met them at breakfast (Maine (tourists), San Francisco and Germany (in Quebec City for a scientific conference on brain mapping).

We parked the car ($5.00 an day) in the driveway and only moved it once when we went to see a waterfall north of Quebec.

The Location:
We found the location great. Down the hill to Rue St. Jean and turn right. A 10 minute walk takes you into the old city (Vieux Quebec) walls where everything happens; restaurants aplenty, street entertainers, shops, public art, buzz, etc.

The b&b is on the side of a very steep hill. Walking down is easy. Walking up? Well, let's say my wife and I were glad we are gym regulars! But if you leave the Roi and walk up a block, there is a flatter way around to the walled city, but it's less interesting. On St. Jean, we found convenience stores, a grocery, beer and wine shops, art galleries, nick-knack stores, restaurants, etc.

The Breakfast
It was tasty, though limited. Every breakfast started with a bowl of homemade yogurt with fruit. Additions, from day to day, were unstuffed crepes with chocolate drops on top (the only sweet topping is honey), a kind of French toast thing with apple chutney, and a fried egg on toast. There is no breakfast meat. The coffee is, thankfully, strong; no doubt a tribute to the owner's Moroccan heritage. There is also a lot of bread available. The breakfasts are fine and tasty (though my wife isn't a yogurt fan).

The Owners
Very nice and they'd do about anything for you.

This b&b was a very fair price for the value and when we get back to Quebec City, we'll plan far enough ahead of time to make sure we get the same room at the same place. Twas much better than a hotel room and it kind of felt like a home-away-from-home.

Room Tip: Call, e-mail, and plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobinindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    28
    11
    11
    4
See reviews for
24
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

I loved staying at this B & B. Our hosts were most gracious and helpful. The rooms and the common areas were cozy, clean and I felt like a special guest in their home. The breakfast was delicious, healthy and fulfilling. Location was a big plus since it is close to one of the stone gates to the old city. I was able to walk to everything I wanted to see.

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We found out the day before we travelled that our Royal Suite was double booked for the last night of our stay and we had to move to a 3rd floor room without ensuite, although the rate was discounted $10. The rates on the website are not up to date so make sure you are charged the lower rate. The breakfasts were okay but rather boring. Prisella wa very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and she was very apologetic. Even though the house is 150 years old with character, it could have been in better condition in certain areas.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guglil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I booked 6 weeks in advance going by the reviews on trip advisor. The hostess however double booked us, although the people who actually got our room did not have written confirmation. We only found out the day before as I phoned up to let her know what time we were due to arrive. We had a last minute search to find an alternative. She had found another B&B for us, but it was far out of town and had bad reviews. Not reliable!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catcrazy96London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

I stayed at Au Petit Roi for two nights and would definitely recommend it to everyone. Room was quite big, comfortable and clean. We shared bathroom with other guests, but that was no problem at all - in fact I didn't bump into anyone. Our hostess was very charming and helpful person - she made us feel comfortable and helped us to plan a wonderful walk through Quebec city. Food was very good, especially for girls. The only downside - my boyfriend doesn't like yoghurt and sweet french toasts, so he wasn't happy to see that one morning it was the main course. He ate rolls with jam instead :)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Gite Au Croissant de Lune
#5 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Hotel Cap Diamant
#13 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Auberge La Chouette
#26 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castel d'Amerique Francaise
#6 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Auberge du Tresor
Auberge du Tresor
#14 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
A l'Augustine
#20 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Au Petit Roi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Au Petit Roi

Property: B&B Au Petit Roi
Address: 445, Burton Street, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,799 - ₹ 8,814
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Au Petit Roi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your B&B Au Petit Roi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Au Petit Roi Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing