We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,954)
Filter reviews
1,954 results
Traveller rating
1,546
334
51
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,546
334
51
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsil mattohigh ceilingsrain showerlower townold quebecwine barnespresso machineself serveart galleriesplace royalemodern designcontinental breakfastmuseum of civilizationview of the riverfree coffeeyogurthard boiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,954 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Lovely hotel in Old Quebec in a good location. Very accommodating staff. Room was extremely clean and it had a nice size bathroom. Only minor concern was the lack of closet space. Clothes had to be hung in an armoir which had a mini fridge on the bottom. Any thing long had to be folded over since it couldn't hang down without hitting fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Bonjour Karlene C,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We are pleased to hear you found our hotel to be a very nice place to stay; we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back next time you are in Québec City! And most of our rooms have spacious closets; we would be happy to recommend one when you book next time!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel 71. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. While all the staff were wonderful, Sandra (front desk) and Luc (valet, etc.) stood out as exceptional. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. As a light sleeper I really appreciated the blackout curtains. The location of the hotel was great. It was on a quiet street steps away from all the action in the lower old town.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank n2ron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Bonjour n2ron2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will be back next time your travel plans include Québec City!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We loved our time at Hotel 71. Located on St Pierre, it is only two blocks from the St Lawrence River, about four blocks from the funicular to the upper old city, and is at the foot of pedestrian walkways all along lower old Quebec City and her picturesque markets and cafes.

Our room and bathroom were modern, equipped with upscale toiletries, and a quality coffee maker. We had a corner room on the third floor that was nice and quiet.

The lobby had three self serve bars - one for wine, one for free coffees/teas/hot chocolate, and one for hard liquors and free citrus-infused cold water. Each guest received a special room-like keycard that opened the wine and liquor cabinets. Charges for alcohol went straight to the room. We enjoyed the free coffee and citrus water everyday.

The hotel offered a nice breakfast each day in a restaurant that that doubled as the Italian Il Matto for lunch and dinner. Their service and food throughout the day were excellent. The only downside was that the hotel lobby filled with garlic every afternoon and evening. We love garlic but realize it’s not for everyone. Enjoy!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bikermike81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Bonjour bikermike81,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments! We are happy to hear you loved your time here; we hope you will be back next time you are in Québec City!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

The Staff and Service at this hotel were great. Each of the staff we interacted with was friendly and helpful. All were bilingual.

For example, after settling into our room, Reception called to make sure all was OK
Later I realized the free WiFi log-on instructions didn't work for my Android phone. A young man at the reception desk happily showed me an alternative log-on procedure.
We did a lot of walking. On our first day my wife developed a friction blister on her foot. The female concierge volunteered a roll of medical tape and a compression dressing.
We only took our car out one time, for a day. A man from the Hotel, possibly a supervisor, asked me where we were going. When I answered Montmorency Falls and Île d’Orléans, he gave us a detailed map of Île d’Orléans and recommended we stop at a chocolate store on the map. We did and it was great.

We loved the location in Lower Old Town. Near shops but on a quiet street. Many good restaurants recommended on Trip Adviser are within a short 3 minute walk. For auto drivers, there is a Petro-Canada gas station just a few blocks away. As an aside, we arrived in Quebec City on the day of the raucous Fête Nationale concert on the Plains of Abraham, which we had to pass below on the way to the hotel. The Grande-Allée on the northern border of the Plains of Abraham reportedly has “huge traffic tie-ups” that day; but our route into Lower Old Town, QC-136 E, had no congestion at all.

The Hotel building is a stately stone former bank building. But our room and furnishings were new and modern. I really liked the rainfall shower head. There was a nice piece of art on the wall of our room and more in the common areas. We took advantage of the free espresso machine available 24/7 featured in one of the 2 lounge areas; a second lounge featured a distilled spirits dispenser (charged to your tab); also a wine dispenser to the left of reception desk (also charged to your tab).

The advertised price included breakfast, which was continental. Hard boiled eggs, pastries, ham, cheese, fruit, cereal and milk, coffee and tea. The same every day. But if you like a fuller or more varied breakfast, an alternative would be to skip their breakfast and take a 3-minute walk to one of TA’s recommended restaurants that do breakfast a-la-carte, like Buffet de L'Antiquaire.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcon616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Bonjour falcon616,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are very happy you loved the service and location of Hotel 71! We hope you will be back again soon!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Staff was warm, friendly and very helpful! Actually, many of the porters were more than helpful, and we were very grateful. We would stay in this hotel again! We truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel! We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank b00kw0man1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, General Manager at Hotel 71, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Bonjour b00kw0man1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments! We look forward to your next visit!

Susan Wilkinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews