We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel, but a few things would give it all 5's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 71

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 71
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel, but a few things would give it all 5's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at hotel 71 for 4 nights with a family of 4.
The hotel is beautiful and in the perfect location for all you would want to do.
The staff, especially Maxime and Francine were most accommodating and the lovely young lady who made our hot chocolate every morning. They were helpful and kept people's spirits up through the temporary blackout in the quarter and offered to walk people to their rooms.
Our overall stay was wonderful and we will be back.
The only recommendation I would make is in the penthouse suite. There is a full working kitchen in the penthouse, but there are no ammenities to use it. Some pots, pans, and cutlery would move my rating from 4.5 to a solid 5.
They are making a rooftop terrace for the penthouse and we look forward to coming back and trying it out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edandmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear edandmer,

It was a pleasure to read your review, thank you for submitting it and for selecting Hotel 71 upon your recent visit to Québec City.

We appreciate your feedback and will pass on your comments to our wonderful team. We shall also take in consideration your suggestion about our penthouse’s kitchen amenities.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the 71 and have you enjoy our soon to be open exclusive penthouse rooftop terrace.

À bientôt,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    285
    44
    15
    3
See reviews for
189
1,056
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The West
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This delightful hotel offered everything a larger hotel has such as a restaurant on site, work out room, and knowledgeable front desk staff with all of the benefits of a bed and breakfast (complimentary breakfast, intimate setting and personalized service). It is trendy but not over the top sterile. The location is ideal for discovering this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austrianpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear austrianpine,

What a pleasure it was to read your review about your recent stay with us at Hotel 71.

We thank you for selecting our property and for the excellent feedback you provided us with.

We are looking forward to many potential happy returns.

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This small hotel is in lower town with excellent shopping and restaurants right outside the door. It is close to the tram to go to upper town if you don't feel like climbing the hills. We had a superiour room with a king. The room was nice, but for me not over the top. The bathroom is has a nice shower and soaker tub. The hotel istelf is lovely. The decor is very modern in an historical building, which was an interesting combination. They have an expresso machine where you can make latte, expresso's etc. in a small lounge area that you can make any time during the day. There is also an expresso machine in your room. We stopped in a couple of times through out our day. Included in your rooom is a very nice breakfast, with cereal, fruit, breads etc. Great coffee/or latte to start off your day.
We had a small issue with our car when we returned late one night, becareful if you are coming home late and make sure your car is in the right place. Otherwise the valet parking was prompt and very effecient. There are free bikes you can borrow to ride along the river. What stands out as the best of this hotel is the amazingly helpful friendly staff. From the moment you are greeted at the door you will be well taken care of. They are truly outstanding, proabably some of the best staff I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: The highter up the better the view of the river. You can hear people through the walls, but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyedmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear judyedmonton,

Thank you for posting such a detailed review of our property; we truly appreciate your feedback.

We were happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you took full advantage of our central lower town location, complimentary coffees and bike rentals, included breakfasts, modern feel and most importantly our friendly and efficient Team.

We are looking forward to your potential return whenever you will be planning a repeat visit to Québec City.

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Hotel 71 and I will keep coming back! Their location in Basse-ville (Lower town) in Vieux-port is perfect to explore the beautiful Quebec city area and they have the most amazing rooms I have seen.

The location is in the heart of action - no more than 5 mins away from all restaurants and bars in Quebec. Hotel rooms are huge and have Pharmacopia toiletries. The showers in the room are huge and other amenities make it hard to leave the room itself.

They also have free bike rentals to explore quebec city during the warmer months.

My only complaints are that parking is a little steep at $21 + tax and the rooms are expensive too. However, when compared to Chateau Frontenac or the Hilton, Hotel 71 offers a lot of character, a reasonable deal and a much superior experience.

Will definitely always stay at Hotel 71 every time I visit there

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chintan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear chintanshah123,

All of us, at Hotel 71, would like to thank you for posting this great review following your recent return stay to our property.

We were happy to know that you repeat visit was awesome and that our central location, free bike rentals as well as our famous rainfall showers remain some of your preferred Hotel 71 features.

About parking, please know that due to our prime location, it could be (sometimes) a challenge to find one. As we cannot offer on-site parking due to the historic nature of our building, we compensate with an in & out valet service for a flat fee which is comparable to other properties in the area.

We appreciate your feedback and are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We had a great stay at Hotel 71. All of the staff was friendly and eager to help make our stay great. This started from the time I emailed the concierge for help with room and restaurants before the trip and continued till checkout. I liked the modern look of the rooms with the high ceilings, tall windows and wonderful rainfall shower. Rooms were very quiet despite hotel being full first night. Bed was plush, without being overly soft with a thick duvet and good choice of pillows. Room and bath could be a little dim at times (probably due to high ceilings), but there were good reading lights by bed, couch and desk. My wife would have liked a lit magnifying mirror in bath for makeup, but I was ok. Location in Lower Town is highly recommended. 2-3 blocks from Funicular to Upper Town, and steps away from many popular and highly rated restaurants, shops and galleries.

Minor quibble concerning curtains. With large windows (of which we had three), it would have been nicer if there were denser blackout curtains. While these blocked much of the light, I am sensitive to morning light and was woken each day by the early morning sun on the eastern exposure window (and the sun rises early in June). I'm used to waking in complete blackness in most hotels. Second quibble concerned breakfast. It was a nice continental breakfast, as expected (croissants, fresh bread, bagels, sliced ham, cheese, yogurt, cereal, cold hard boiled eggs, fruit, juices, etc.), but just a little variety day to day would have been nice (some different sliced meats, different cheeses, different jams?). My wife loved the cappuccino at breakfast, and it was nice having a Nespresso both in room and a larger one (with steamer) just off lobby.

Note to Expedia users, at least when I booked, Expedia showed the Superior room as having a queen bed and the Suite as having a king. I paid extra and booked a Suite for that reason. I was told by concierge before we arrived that many of the Suites have queens and we found at checkin that at least some of the Superiors have kings. As the hotel was full the first day, it's a good thing I inquired before hand. Thanks, Maxime for making sure we had a King.

Room Tip: Rooms above 4th floor should have better views above neighboring buildings. East side faces port, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgrahamiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Hotel 71, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear jgrahamii,

Thank you for selecting Hotel 71 upon your recent visit to Quebec City and for posting such a detailed review.

We appreciate your feedback. Your comments will be addressed and share with the rest of our staff and management.

We will also review our listing on on-line agencies to make sure it does reflect our current inventory and make the necessary changes if required.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel 71 upon your next visit to Quebec City,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,909 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 71? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 71

Property: Hotel 71
Address: 71 Rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,005 - ₹ 24,892
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 71 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2005 within the 19th-century building of the First National Bank Head Office in Canada, Hotel 71 was voted one of the trendiest Canadian hotels in 2012 as per TripAdvisor. Hotel 71 is an urban property offering a prime location in Quebec City’s Old Port district. It is situated within walking distance from the best restaurants and attractions the city has to offer. With a total of 60 rooms and suites, Hotel 71 is a contemporary property within a historic building and neighborhood. Each of its 60 rooms and suites includes hardwood flooring, high ceiling, flat screen television, Nespresso coffee machine, high thread-count bedding and duvet, complimentary high speed wireless Internet access, cordless phone, DVD player & home theater system, ultramodern bathroom with rain shower as well as some amazing views. Also, 4 meetings rooms for gatherings of 2 to 110 persons as well as a brand new Penthouse Suite which will soon have its own exclusive rooftop terrace are available. Its popular in-house Italian restaurant Il Matto 71 is also not to be missed. Hotel 71, a definite address of good-taste in Québec City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel 71 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 71 Quebec City
Hotel 71 Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing