We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I'm Italian.
Location is at the top, room 11 is very noisy for the fan at the same level, while 31 is better, but has the same problem.
The hotel has free wifi, small rooms, average prices 160 cad, good breakfast.
Quebec city is a1 day and a half worth visit, stay there no more than 2 nights.
Parking for 22 cad, narrow stairs and no elevators.

Room Tip: not at ground floor nor on the internal, ok to the outside no noise after ten pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enricoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Bonjour Enricoca,

Thanks for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. Our location in the middle of everything, as you wrote, is unique and each of our guest can walk everywhere to explore our beautiful city.

I am surprised you found our air conditioning a little noisy as it is usually praised for its quietness and have been installed a year ago, if you had mentionned the problem at the front desk we would have sent the maintenance team right away to look at the problem.

Should you wish to have a larger room at your next stay, just enquire at our front desk team ; we have different categories of rooms from european size to oversize as the loft or junior suite overlooking the Château.

I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day : it must be good !

Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau,
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,075 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

We wanted a base from which we could explore the old city on foot over a long weekend, and this place was perfect for just that. We parked a block away in the public garage, and used the Place D'Armes as home base while we explored the area. It's very convenient to historical sites, museums, and restaurants, but you can tuck away in your room when you want to. Our room was in the back and was remarkably quiet - probably due to the 18" thick walls! The room was nicely maintained and had cool exposed stone walls, good light, and a creative (but perfectly functional) bathroom arrangement. The service was great, folks were largely bi-lingual and the breakfast (which was included) was served quickly and tasted good. In all, a great spot in the heart of Old Quebec.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMc968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

BonjourJMc968
Merci, for taking your time to send us feedback on your What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic. At the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town. Just in front of the Château Frontenac
We have done our best to save the old walls and windows while adding modern amenities to provide you a home away from home and give soul to our rooms ! I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard, but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>.
I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it must be good !
Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Location, location, location - you just can't beat it. On a little cobbled street, pedestrianised after 11am while we were there, almost under Chateau Frontenac with everything in the old city within a few minutes walk. The staff were the second highlight - we had five nights there (longer than average I believe) and every one of them was helpful and friendly. There was a problem with our booking (at their end we agreed) and we were upgraded to the Junior Suite which was wonderful - others have mentioned the small size of other rooms so this one would be worth considering as it was not small by any standards.

The breakfasts were 'a la carte' off a menu which was a pleasant change to the usual buffet style with plenty of choice of hot meals - very nice. Be prepared for expensive meals in the evening - no doubt high quality - so if something less expensive is your preference then there is a huge choice of places within a few minutes walk. My only complaint was the hard, very upright and narrow chairs in the restaurant, inside and outside. I would have liked to have spent longer relaxing and watching the world go by out on the street, but those chairs!! Anyway - choose this place if you enjoy something special and historic

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Bonjour Ian B

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay.
Your comments are a source of motivation for us and we will past your good words to all of our Team, maids, front desk, chef and brigade in Le Pain Béni . They work hard, in order that each of our guests will feel l’hospitalité Québécoise !
We are very happy that you felt the cosyness and charm of our rooms. The hotel has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together. In our rénovations we did our best to save the old walls , while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay. Sleeping in a former museum is an expérience !
As you mentionned the location of the hotel is unique and add to the pleasure of discovering Quebec. Everything is in walking distance, no need of a car.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My husband and I recently took my father to Quebec City to thank him for footing the bill for our wedding. We booked two rooms. One on the 1st floor and one on the top floor. The rooms were quaint and clean. But be prepared for some serious exercise on the stairs!!! There are no elevators. But I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. The location is perfect (across the street from the Frontenac). Walking distance to EVERYTHING. Breakfast is included, and it's not crap. The staff is helpful and lovely. A sure winner!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabriela t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Bonjour Gabriela T
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic. At the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town just in front of the Château Frontenac .
Our best asset is our team, devoted to our guests and their needs. They know and love their city and want to share it with you. I will also pass to the chef your appreciation of the breakfeast.
It is the most important meal of the day it as to be good !
Maybe at your next stay a brand new elevator will be waiting for you, it is plan for 2013!
Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just returned from a three night weekend at this little hotel. We booked a superior room and I think that next time we may consider a room that is a bit larger. Mainly because although well equipped the shower area was a bit small - good design made up for the lack of space though.
Breakfast was included with our booking - it was really excellent with plenty of excellent choices to cover all tastes in breakfast!
On the first night we ate in the dining room and were very pleased, the food was great and the service was excellent, as was all the service that we experienced. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The location is great, a stones-throw from the Chateau Frontenac, if anyone needs to have a reference point. Many good restaurants are a stones-throw from the hotel as is the Funiculaire or the stairs to take you down to lower town and Place Royal.
It's not possible to drive to the front door as it is pedestrian only, the staff will help with the bags while you park the car though! They do try to overcome this obstacle and it may be worth giving them a call when you arrive so that they can come out to meet you. It can get a little confusing.

My only complaint was that the air conditioning didn't really do the trick. It wasn't hot weather but the room got very warm, probably due to it's size, fortunately we could open the window at night as I absolutely have to have a cool room to sleep in. This worked well as the outside air was very cool, however, I'm not sure what would happen in the summer when the outside air is very hot! Just a thought, maybe they adjust their a/c ???

Do give this little hotel a try, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Bonjour Val065
Merci Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. We do have a unique location in the
heart of Québec on the only 2 pedestrians street. Walking distance of everything in Quebec.

As the hotel is composed of 2 old very old buildings joined together rooms varies from one to the other in square feet but all have old period charm and modern amenities, hand made designer furniture and antiques that gives each of our rooms their unicity and soul!
Should you wish to have a larger room at your next stay just enquire at our front desk team ; we have different categories of rooms from small to oversize and they will surely find for you the right one !
I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise> and Simon our chef at Le Pain Béni was honored to read your review about breakfast and dinner !

I am sorry that you dind’t made us aware of the AC problem a minor repair was made and now perfectly working.
Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,657 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,285 reviews
0.4 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 102 in Quebec City
1,662 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#11 of 102 in Quebec City
1,742 reviews
1.6 km away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: ₹ 8,148 - ₹ 17,392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing