We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint & romantic but not very accessible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“quaint & romantic but not very accessible”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

First, have to say "ditto" to the other comments: welcoming, no elevator, narrow stairs, no car access to the hotel (have to walk 25 feet up cobblestone street), comfy beds but small rooms, right in front of Chateau Frontenac, etc.

Some additional thoughts:

- Got a nice upgrade when celebrating our 20th anniversary in "Paris without the jetlag". Great!
- Breakfast included with the rate was very substantial and yummy.
- Doors were also hard to open so have to be relatively strong
- Furnishings were a mix of modern and antiques. Historic
- No long distance from room but front desk will sell you a cheap phone card if needed to make international calls.
- Parking is a short walk away off premises. Well disclosed in the hotel website. Not a very pleasant underground parking lot. If you're driving and traveling alone and need help with your bags, skip this hotel.
- Right in the mix of Quebec City so able to walk to main attractions of the Old Town.
- Heating/Air Conditioning system was hard to figure out. Loud and may keep you awake.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Bonjour Avon L
Merci beaucoup for taking the time to share your review of our property, it is appreciated. We are happy to have been a part of your anniversary trip and always try to have specials attentions for our guest anniversary.
The hotel, as you mentionned, has a lot of character since it is 2 historic buildings joined together. In our rénovations we did our best to save the old walls and old stairways…. from 1730 while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay. Because of the unicity of our hotel our rooms goes from european to oversize don’t hesitate to ask our staff, they will with pleasure help us out to find the one that suit your needs.
Our location in the middle of everything, as you wrote, is unique and each of our guest can walk everywhere to explore our beautiful city.Since we are on the only pedestrian street in Upper Town ,we ask our guests to come to front desk upon arrival so we can help you out for parking and check-inn. Our front desk team will take care of your luggage and give you directions for parking or call the valet parking. As you have noticed, it is our policy to take the luggage to the room,: nobody has to do it.
Just to let you know, starting this week the check-in will be speed up and completely personalized in the privacy of your room with the use of an Ipad.
In fact the parking lot where you where sent is used by mostly all the little hotels in the heart of Old Quebec and is safe and secure under City Hall.
Regarding the issue you have faced with the A/C, please receive my sincere apologies. A simple call to the front desk and they would have sent the maintenace to fix it, since each room has it’s brand new thermopump.
Having a restaurant in house allows us to offer such a variety on breakfast and change them from time to time. I will foward your nice comments to our chef Simon.
It is always nice to have feedback on everything we have to work on to improve our service.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour !
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    277
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
164
968
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel was placed in a magnificent place in Place D'armes right in front of the Famous Chateau Frontenac, the hotel was very nice, perfect size and the beds where very comfortable my only complaints are that if you take an upper-floor room, carrying the bags might be a little tiring and the bathroom to small, but the staff was exceptionally good and the restaurant amazing for brakefast

Room Tip: my only advice, don't choose upper floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour Santiago M
Merci for taking the time to send in your comments. We do have a unique location in the heart of Quebec on the only 2 pedestrians street. As the hotel is composed of 2 old very old buildings joined together rooms varies from one to the other in square feet but all have old period charm and modern amenities.
Should you wish to have a larger room at your next stay, just inquire at our front desk team ; we have different categories of rooms from small to oversize.
Our best asset is our team, devoted to our guests and their needs. They know their city and want to share it with you. . As you may have noticed, it is our policy to take the luggage to the room, and I can reassure you: nobody has to do it. Just to let you know, starting this week the check-in will be speed un and completely personalized in the privacy of your room with the use of an Ipad.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast in our restaurant le Pain Béni. In order to please our guests we offer more than 8 different warm or cold delicious choices.
Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochaine visite à Québec!

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited QC for our mini-honeymoon. From the moment we entered the premises we knew it was going to be a great experience. We cannot say enough about the wonderful staff who made us feel so comfortable and welcome. Everything was perfect! We were welcomed by a bottle of really good sparkling wine to celebrate our honeymoon :)

I have to admit that I was prepared to be disappointed with the choice of vegan- friendly food in the city but to my surprise the in-house restaurant, Le Pain Beni- a very popular one, was where we ended up each night for dinner thanks to the wonderful Chef who made me feel not only accommodated but appreciated with his special off-the-menu vegan creations, including desserts. My husband, an omnivore, too relished them. The staff are very friendly and unpretentious which was refreshing. I cannot wait to go back to our charming little attic room at this gem of a B&B right across from Chateau Frontenac. Thank you Auberge Place d'Armes for making our time with you unforgettable.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank crazyforquaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour Crazyforquaint

Merci, for taking your time to send us feedback on your stay. We are happy that you have chosen us for your mini-honeymoon and let us be a part of your souvenirs !
Combining 1730 old walls, modern amenities, hand made designer furniture and antiques give each of our rooms their unicity and soul.
I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard, but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>. Etienne the chef in second, was really happy to read your great words on his vegan creations !
Our team work hard to provide a unique stay for each of our guests and let them feel l’hospitalité Québécoise !
Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochaine visite à Québec!

Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights and loved it.

We chose room 32, in the attic, facing the street and Chateau Frontenac. As other reviewers have said, there isn't an elevator and the stairs - especially the last set to the attic - are fairly narrow. We managed the stairs no problem, though, and I'm six months pregnant! The staff offered help with our bags as well, though we didn't take them up on it.

The decor is beautiful, the bed very comfortable with ample bedding, and the heated floors in the washroom were a bonus. The breakfast included in the rate was great - so nice to have a selection and the food was delicious.

The hotel's location is perfect for exploring Old Quebec, with it very easy to get to the Lower area (the stairs and Funiculaire are just steps away) and to Rue Saint-Jean, the main street in the Upper area. Lots of great restaurants and shops are very close by.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Old Quebec and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: As others have said, the attic rooms are not as large as they may look in the photos, but this was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour Dee565
Merci, for taking your time to send us feedback on your stay. We are happy that you have chosen us for your stay in Quebec and that you loved our so incredible location. In our renovations we have done our best to to save the old walls, while adding modern amenities like the bathroom heated floor to provide you a home away from home.

The Auberge is 2 old buildings joined together. The attic room, in which you where, is in the Renfrew building who was erected(1850), in Scotland bricks that came to Quebec as ballast in ships. This English period is reflected in the decor : red and white. Just to let you know, the ceiling of your room was made with the original wood floor. In our renovations we took them apart one by one, planed them add fire retardant and back on the ceiling !

I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard, but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>. The chef, Simon, was proud to read that you where pleased with breakfast !

Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochaine visite à Québec !
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August and had the BEST experience. First of all...such a charming B&B. I loved all the unique touches. Our room opened up out onto the pedestrian street and we could open up the windows to hear musicians below, etc. Such a neat feature! The breakfasts at this place are the best I've had! SO filling. we didn't even need lunch! I can't imagine having better food at a bed and breakfast. This was tops! The location was perfect. An easy walk to anywhere you wanted to go. The staff was so friendly. I can't think of a single thing I'd change about the trip or this hotel. Just perfect! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Bonjour StephanieR
Merci, for taking your time to send us feedback on your stay We have done our best to save the old walls and windows while adding modern amenities to provide you a home away from home and give soul to our rooms ! I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard, but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>.
I will also pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it must be good !
Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.3 km away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,432 - ₹ 19,202
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing