We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge Place D'Armes
Nearby Hotels
US$ 375
US$ 366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Manoir d'Auteuil(Quebec City)
US$ 215
US$ 210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Palace Royal(Quebec City)
US$ 249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 225
US$ 210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sepia(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$ 143
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Clarendon(Quebec City)
US$ 205
US$ 179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$ 139
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
US$ 203
US$ 185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cofortel(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$ 1,240
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 505
US$ 342
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,707)
Filter reviews
1,707 results
Traveller rating
1,306
330
52
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,306
330
52
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschez julesno elevatorpain beniattic roomold quebecperfect locationpedestrian streetbreakfast was includedstone wallsadjoining restaurantsmall hotelflights of stairsmurphy bedboutique hotelmodern amenitiesthird floorlower town
Filter
Updating list...
1,196 - 1,201 of 1,707 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here early in December. Had a lovely Junior Suite located at the front of the hotel. The view at night with softly falling snow and a quaint church outside the window was magical! Staff couldn't have been more helpful...the restaurant and included breakfast was excellent. At the end of a busy day a nightcap there also perfect!

Excellent location...can walk anywhere!!!!! Can't wait to go back....

Room Tip: As mentioned, the Junior Suite we had at the front of the Hotel was lovely...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Bonjour KarenL
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic, at the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town just in front of the Château Frontenac and Holy Trinity Cathedral. A marvelous view indeed !
In our renovations we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec , we are happy that you enjoyed your room.
I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it as to be good !
Thanks for your good words about our team they work hard and love their work!

Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The staff is very nice and helped us out a lot with finding places. The room looks great but the bed was not very comfortable. Also, the water temperature in the shower was not constant. We bought some groceries to make sandwiches but the next day we noticed that all of it had gone bad because although the light was on, the fridge was not working. In all, a very nice cozy place to stay but they just need a few tweaks. Location was great!
Breakfast for hotel guests is only $7, anything from the menu.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Bonjour Navreet
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We read all reviews in order to get better. We are sorry that you did not like the mattress, most people prefer a hard mattress. In order to accommodate the few who do not, we have comforters that can be placed on the mattress to soften it; we are sorry that you did not mention it to the desk, it would have been done. We are also sorry that you did not mention the hot water problem to the desk. There is somebody 24/24 to solve minor issues when they happen but they do happen ….
In order to minimise the noise in the room, our little refrigerators are of the induction type. As the card on them clearly states, they cannot refrigerate food from warm to cold, they can only maintain cold. Guests who bring warm food and want it to be cooled tell the desk and the food is placed in one the restaurant frig.
Most reservation sites as our offer rates that include free breakfast with the room, a few do not. So for them we have a unique price of 7$ which is very reasonable considering the offering.
We are happy that you enjoyed the unique location of the hotel.
Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas weekend - a quick trip from Vermont. When we arrived, our room had been upgraded and had a view of Chateau Frontenac. The room was very cozy and quiet and the bathroom - upscale and modern!! Stone walls in both. The included breakfast off the menu was great before heading out to explore Old Quebec City. Perfect location - on pedestrian street with covered public parking a block away - no need for car until we left. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook Chateau Frontenac and Holy Trinity Cathedral
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Bonjour Vtcowgirl,
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic, at the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town just in front of the Château Frontenac.
In our renovations we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec , we are happy that you enjoyed your room.
I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it as to be good !
Thanks for your good words about our team they work hard and love their work!

Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Beautiful room - we had room 15, looking out onto the Ste. Anne street. The room was exceedingly tidy and clean and comfortable - exposed brick and stone, with a modern bed and well-chosen furniture and lamps - walk-in shower with rainshower head - either they hired a wonderful decorator when they renovated that can blend old and new seamlessly, or they have incredible taste! In spite of the central, old-Quebec location that can't be beat, the room was SUPER quiet and we slept like babies. Breakfast is plentiful, with good coffee and pretty amazing variety of dishes, in the restaurant downstairs, also comfortable - a restaurant we might have chosen if we'd just been casually walking by. We stayed in the days following Christmas and though it was chilly outdoors, it was warm and wonderful inside. Very nice and helpful staff. (Oh, and good flatscreen tv you can watch from bed. French and English channels both.) This was our first visit to Quebec City and I will recommend Auberge Place D'Armes to my friends - don't hesitate to book a room here!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xiomaraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Bonjour XiomaraNY
My son and I are personally touched by your review since Auberge Place d’Armes is family owned and that the décor was created by us…. The hotel has a lot of character and in our rénovations we did our best to save the old walls, while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay and each room is unique in size and décor. The Auberge is 2 old buildings joined together one part the museum aisle, the foundations are from 1640 and the stone walls 1730. Room 15, in which you where, is in the Renfrew building and was the first home of the founder of Holt Renfrew and was erected(1850), in Scotland bricks that came to Quebec as ballast in ships. This English period is reflected in the décor : red and white.
Your comments are a source of motivation for us and we will past your good words to all of our Team, each of them work hard, maids, front desk, chef and brigade in Le Pain Béni to provide a unique stay for our guests and let them feel l’hospitalité Québécoise !
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à l'Auberge Place d'Armes
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Auberge Place d'Armes for four nights between Christmas 2011 and New Year's Eve. I chose the hotel because of its location on the Place d'Armes. The location was perfect being right in the centre of old Québec. The room had good character with its exposed stone walls. The room was well equipped with TV, fridge, etc. Our room had a view of the CHateau Frontenac and Holy Trinity Anglican Cathedral. The hotel's restaurant had a good breakfast menu with several options. We were pleased with the breakfasts. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennethPaulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Merci, for taking your time to send us feedback on your stay. We are happy that you have choosen us for your stay in Quebec and that you loved our so incredible location. In our renovations we have done our best to to save the old walls, while adding modern amenities to provide you a home away from home. I will definitely pass on your kind words to our team who work really hard, but with pleasure, to make sure our guests enjoy every seconds of their stay in Quebec city and feel <l’hospitalité québécoise>. The chef, Simon, was proud to read that you where pleased with breakfast !

Au plaisir de vous accueillir lors de votre prochaine visite à Québec !
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews