We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge Place D'Armes
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This boutique style hotel has everything. The rooms are lovely and decorated to remind you of your location in the old city of Quebec. This was my second trip there and I was not disappointed.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant downstairs and the staff is extremely helpful and very professional.

Room Tip: Doesn't have an elevator so choose a room near the ground floor if this is a problem. Help with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Manager at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Bonjour Marlene Y
We are very happy that you felt the cosyness and charm of our rooms. The hotel has a lot of character since it is 2 old buildings joined together.
Combining 1730 old walls, modern amenities, hand made designer furniture and antiques give each of our rooms their unicity and soul!
As you mentionned the location of the hotel is unique and add to the pleasure of discovering Quebec.
Merci for your compliments about the breakfast!
Our team work hard, to provide a unique stay for each of our guests and let them feel l’hospitalité Québécoise !
We are honored to be your Hotel of choice when visiting Québec City. Travelers who come back for numerous stays with us are our greatest rewards!
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochaine visite à Québec.
Michelle and Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    277
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
164
968
62
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here early in December. Had a lovely Junior Suite located at the front of the hotel. The view at night with softly falling snow and a quaint church outside the window was magical! Staff couldn't have been more helpful...the restaurant and included breakfast was excellent. At the end of a busy day a nightcap there also perfect!

Excellent location...can walk anywhere!!!!! Can't wait to go back....

Room Tip: As mentioned, the Junior Suite we had at the front of the Hotel was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Bonjour KarenL
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic, at the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town just in front of the Château Frontenac and Holy Trinity Cathedral. A marvelous view indeed !
In our renovations we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec , we are happy that you enjoyed your room.
I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it as to be good !
Thanks for your good words about our team they work hard and love their work!

Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The staff is very nice and helped us out a lot with finding places. The room looks great but the bed was not very comfortable. Also, the water temperature in the shower was not constant. We bought some groceries to make sandwiches but the next day we noticed that all of it had gone bad because although the light was on, the fridge was not working. In all, a very nice cozy place to stay but they just need a few tweaks. Location was great!
Breakfast for hotel guests is only $7, anything from the menu.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Bonjour Navreet
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We read all reviews in order to get better. We are sorry that you did not like the mattress, most people prefer a hard mattress. In order to accommodate the few who do not, we have comforters that can be placed on the mattress to soften it; we are sorry that you did not mention it to the desk, it would have been done. We are also sorry that you did not mention the hot water problem to the desk. There is somebody 24/24 to solve minor issues when they happen but they do happen ….
In order to minimise the noise in the room, our little refrigerators are of the induction type. As the card on them clearly states, they cannot refrigerate food from warm to cold, they can only maintain cold. Guests who bring warm food and want it to be cooled tell the desk and the food is placed in one the restaurant frig.
Most reservation sites as our offer rates that include free breakfast with the room, a few do not. So for them we have a unique price of 7$ which is very reasonable considering the offering.
We are happy that you enjoyed the unique location of the hotel.
Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas weekend - a quick trip from Vermont. When we arrived, our room had been upgraded and had a view of Chateau Frontenac. The room was very cozy and quiet and the bathroom - upscale and modern!! Stone walls in both. The included breakfast off the menu was great before heading out to explore Old Quebec City. Perfect location - on pedestrian street with covered public parking a block away - no need for car until we left. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask to overlook Chateau Frontenac and Holy Trinity Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtcowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Bonjour Vtcowgirl,
Merci for taking time to give us a feedback on your stay. What an excellent review and I agree with you our location is fantastic, at the corner of rue Ste-Anne and du Trésor the only 2 pedestrian streets in upper Town just in front of the Château Frontenac.
In our renovations we tried to take advantage of the 1730 old walls and add modern amenities to give you the feeling of Old Quebec , we are happy that you enjoyed your room.
I will pass to the Chef and his brigade your good words about breakfast, it is the most important meal of the day it as to be good !
Thanks for your good words about our team they work hard and love their work!

Au plaisir donc de vous vous accueillir à l’Auberge Place d’Armes lors de votre prochain séjour.
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Beautiful room - we had room 15, looking out onto the Ste. Anne street. The room was exceedingly tidy and clean and comfortable - exposed brick and stone, with a modern bed and well-chosen furniture and lamps - walk-in shower with rainshower head - either they hired a wonderful decorator when they renovated that can blend old and new seamlessly, or they have incredible taste! In spite of the central, old-Quebec location that can't be beat, the room was SUPER quiet and we slept like babies. Breakfast is plentiful, with good coffee and pretty amazing variety of dishes, in the restaurant downstairs, also comfortable - a restaurant we might have chosen if we'd just been casually walking by. We stayed in the days following Christmas and though it was chilly outdoors, it was warm and wonderful inside. Very nice and helpful staff. (Oh, and good flatscreen tv you can watch from bed. French and English channels both.) This was our first visit to Quebec City and I will recommend Auberge Place D'Armes to my friends - don't hesitate to book a room here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xiomaraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleDore, Owner at Auberge Place D'Armes, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Bonjour XiomaraNY
My son and I are personally touched by your review since Auberge Place d’Armes is family owned and that the décor was created by us…. The hotel has a lot of character and in our rénovations we did our best to save the old walls, while adding modern amenities to provide you an unique stay and each room is unique in size and décor. The Auberge is 2 old buildings joined together one part the museum aisle, the foundations are from 1640 and the stone walls 1730. Room 15, in which you where, is in the Renfrew building and was the first home of the founder of Holt Renfrew and was erected(1850), in Scotland bricks that came to Quebec as ballast in ships. This English period is reflected in the décor : red and white.
Your comments are a source of motivation for us and we will past your good words to all of our Team, each of them work hard, maids, front desk, chef and brigade in Le Pain Béni to provide a unique stay for our guests and let them feel l’hospitalité Québécoise !
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à l'Auberge Place d'Armes
Michelle et Marc-Antoine Doré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,039 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.3 km away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Place D'Armes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Place D'Armes

Property: Auberge Place D'Armes
Address: 24, rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,432 - ₹ 19,202
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Place D'Armes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Place D'Armes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Place d`Armes Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Place D'Armes Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing