We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
28
16
15
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
16
15
8
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

There was a breakfast so i took nothing before, and i was surprised to see there was nothing else than coffee/tee to drink, so i just took water, good. Where is the milk or juices ? Anyway. The commun room is very small, and if you want to prepare yourself, be patient if the youth hostel is full or even half. Else, it's a good location to walk to the city, but not for park you car. Rooms are good, but not enough bathooms on the first floor (just one actually). And the owner was a little too much touch with some friends even he gave us good advices.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeromePuckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Well this place looks small from the outside, it is not! It is rather big!
I stayed in September and it was unusually quiet for the time of year, but we met a few people and that was lovely! Ok down to business : The Facts
1. Staff , Mohammed was lovely! He was helpful and always happy even if he was doing long shifts!
2. Bedding was lovely and clean, comfy beds, not too small either! Had thick duvets in case it became chilly in the night.
3. Myself and Conor had a five bed dorm for three nights and then a twelve bed dorm which were great.
4. The showers were clean but you didn't get a towel you had to pay for one which was 2 dollars.
5.Rooms were clean.
6. There could have been a few more lockers in the place especially the five bed room, there were only three.
7. The kitchen needed a scrub and the fridge needed a good clear out, I took it upon myself to throw some very rotten food out!
8. Milk, instead of horrid cream could be given out for tea.
9. Breakfast was OK. Bread. Jam coffee and tea. So.so but its food!
10. Location was perfect, not on a busy road and really close to everything.
11. There was one PC which was free to use and the internet was great on it.
12. Wifi was temperamental, cut out often.
13. Have to pay to store luggage there whilst you o out and enjoy your day after you have checked out! Not good. Very cheeky.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 849lizzie_loo849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of the Quebec Marathon with a group of friends (we were all running in various races). This is a really convenient location, being a short walk to the race activities and also a short walk (though up a hill...) to the old city. We stayed in one of the 8-bed dorms on the ground floor which had its own bathroom (basic but functional) and there are lockers in the room (you need to provide your own lock).

I think this place only opened recently so there is still a bit of refurbishing going on (mostly superficial, i.e. not structural), and the kitchen/common space was nice to hang out in. The owner is one of the nicest, most helpful people I've ever come across in a hostel. He was really friendly and chilled out and even helped us out by moving his car off the street so we could take his spot! They have bikes you can rent also. The breakfast is as much toast, PB&J and coffee as you can eat, and there is some kitchen equipment if you want to cook something simple.

Overall this is a really convenient place and I'd certainly stay here again. However, the owner said he was heading out on a trip across the whole of Canada to Alaska (!) and the place would likely be closed until he returned. (this may have changed, don't take my word for it).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This place opened just a few weeks before I travelled there. The house was still being refurbished but it felt already like home.
It's located on a nice house, in the lower part of Québec City, near to some attractions and many bars and restaurants.
The place was very clean. I had a room in the upper floor, shared with another travaller.
The staff also was very welcoming. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMetalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is a pretty good hostel. We were 7 people sharing a dorm room. The temperatures swung between very high and very low, and rolls of toilet paper seemed to dis- and reappear out of the blue. There was breakfast included, which means more toasted bread than you can possibly eat and a lot of coffee.
The owner was friendly, he gave us tips on what to see and where to park (you can park outside from 4pm-10am if there isn't a blizzard).

oh, and just 1 bathroom for the two dorm rooms on the top floor, ouch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BjornZall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews