We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable boutique hotel with everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Autre Jardin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L'Autre Jardin
Ranked #45 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable boutique hotel with everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We checked in last minute to this `hidden gem`of a hotel -- & were more than pleasantly surprised with the amazing service, helpful staff, and yummy included breakfast. The staff were especially helpful with advice and directions for Carnaval! All the breakfast food was fair trade. The room was small, but comfortable. & We LOVED the murphy beds -- gave us lots of roomto get ready.

Thanks for hosting our Girls` Weekend!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    37
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
20
36
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Velden am Woerthersee, Austria
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

This is a hotel I would normally have loved. The location is not perfectly central but still good. It is about a 15 minutes walk to the old town and the harbour. Off street parking is available but two blocks away. The area has a few restaurants and bars. The interior is modern with a bit of a New Age type touch. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I had a standard room which was spacious, newly furbished and nicely decorated. But there, the weird thing comes in. The windows cannot be opened. There is air condition in the room but still the air quality is really bad. Imagine you don’t open the window in your bedroom for a week, this is how it smells. I heard the rooms facing to the back have windows which can be opened. The breakfast was included in the price. It wasn’t the poshest I have seen but they had a good selection and everything was organic and fair trade. It is a recommendation if you get the luxury of a window that can be opened, and the smell in the room is really the only reason I cannot give this hotel five points.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We were two couples, one French and one from the US, traveling together and all four of us loved this hotel. The rooms were lovely and comfortable, the breakfast generous and delicious, and the location great, a short walk to the old city. The people at the front desk bent over backwards to be helpful and we were happy to be supporting several community endeavors. We'd recommend this place to anyone who is traveling to Quebec City.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMVNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed at the L'autre Jardin for 1 night during Carnivale. The price was much higher than usual, but we didn't find out until checkout. We were not very pleased about this. If booking here make sure you mention if you have AAA/CAA there is a discount. The Inn is located outside of the main city centre, a little too far to walk, but only a few minutes by car. There is no parking at the Inn, we had to pay $12 to park around the block. There is however a spot to unload your luggage, the street is very busy. The room has high ceilings, and the bed was so-so. The towels are the cheapest I have ever used, but the bath tub was fantastique. It was a hydro-therapy tub and fit 1 person. The Inn is located around many high rise buildings, and there is no view here. There is a pita pit across the street and a big hotel. I would book something closer to the vieux de quebec, this Inn was over priced for what it has to offer. The staff were pleasant and spoke both english and french. The breakfast was simple, croissants, toast, cereal and the coffee was good. A pleasant place to eat and start the day. The shop was closed on sunday.
There are some unique touches to the Inn, if you can book a luxury room for under $130 a night then maybe would be ok, I would recommend paying a little more money and staying in the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovestotravel76_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We were in the Quebec City area for a short family vacation right after New Years day. Since our daughter is into Fair Trade and Eco Friendly everything, this was perfect. The food and decor is all fair trade. It is a converted warehouse so the ceilings are high. Each room was decorated differently and it was a pleasure to be somewhere unique. The front desk was extremely helpful, trying hard to communicate with us. Our daughters are bilingual so that helped. We were able to walk to the old city and the vegetarian restaurant that was recommended was out of this world! There is a lot of steep walking to the old city, but it is cool to get a sense of the city. We were able to walk to the train station where we had to see 2 of our daughters off. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh, and good enough. The only thing negative would be parking. The street is VERY busy and you have 20 min in front to drop off, then you have to go to a parking lot nearby. You do have to pay a reasonable amount and they give you a pass to let the parking lot owners know. We would definitely stay here again

  • Liked — Unique decor and location
  • Disliked — Drop off zone, no parking on-site
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jangale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Hotel Royal William
#58 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Hotel Le Vincent
#25 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Hotel PUR Quebec
#46 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Couette et Cafe 253
#6 of 119 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
La Boheme Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Couette et Cafe a la Quebecoise
#50 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Autre Jardin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Autre Jardin

Property: L'Autre Jardin
Address: 365 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,305 - ₹ 12,393
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Autre Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At l'Auberge l'Autre Jardin, you will enjoy being responsible consumers and will experience a concept in tourism unique in Quebec City!L'Autre Jardin, a thoroughly urban inn, is an offshoot of Carrefour Tiers-Monde, an organization of international cooperation that aims to further sustainable development and fair trade on our planet.L'Auberge l'Autre Jardin invites you to discover the heart of Quebec City with its original boutiques, venues and restaurants; an area bustling with artists, students and high tech entrepreneurs, just a few minutes away from the Old City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your L'Autre Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Autre Jardin Hotel Quebec City
L'Autre Jardin Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing