We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Hotel Palace Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palace Royal
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here over March break, in a family suite that was supposed to accommodate 6. It's very tight and there are no drawers for clothing. Only one wardrobe for hanging 12 articles of clothing.

Towels are thin and lacking for 6 people. We were given 6 to start, but after our room was cleaned by the maids we had 4. I called for more and it took, several calls and well over 1 hour to receive them. Pool towels are even smaller and when busy, lacking as well. And beware of the pool, it leaves you smelling of urine.

Service is seriously lacking in the hotel, and they respond by telling you that they were busy at the time.

Breakfast was overpriced and mediocre. You're better off eating off site.

Parking in the basement is an attraction site on its own. Cars are parked everywhere, if you have a large SUV don't even try to maneuver here. A car parked in front of our space and did not leave their keys with the attendant. We waited and watched as they jacked the car onto wheels to push it out of the way.

The room fridge was not on when we arrived, so it smelled of mildew.

Location is good, but if you are looking for a quality hotel try the Marriott across the street. I would not come back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aloricat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 388 of 795 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Just checked in last night and could not be happier. Son loves the pool, we love the location and price. Staff has been very helpful. We got the suite and it's great with two tv's and foldout couch, one issue is that the French doors separating rooms don't allow or tons of privacy, opaque glass and hardly sound proofing. Can't wait to explore old Quebec tomorrow, we will because hotel is right outside of the gate of the old city.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evadninorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Just got back from a weekend stay at the Palace Royal, and really enjoyed the experience. We were 4 adults and one child sharing the family suite. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but it was quite comfortable while we were there. The room offered a nice view of Place D'Youville, with a small outdoor skating area in the center of the square. Lot's of shopping and restaurants around, including a Subway right across the street for those who need a break from expensive fine dining. The pool and hot tub area were nice, although the pool was a little small. The only complaint I heard all weekend was from my husband, who was slightly annoyed with the wait for the elevator. It didn't help that there were many hockey teams staying there and the kids would go from floor to floor to visit their friends, and sometimes press the buttons unnecessarily. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and the staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finefolle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is an excellent price and is right outside the old walled city. The rooms are large, modern and very clean. My husband and I have stayed here twice and will return every Fall for our romantic October getaway!

Room Tip: The bridal suites have the best views of the old city (especially at night!) and are luxurious. Defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jLuck-Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This hotel is right at the gate to the old city with a lot of shops, restaurants and museum. The pool area is very nice and the room very confortable. Parking is $18 but you may not need a car since you can walk to all the main attractions and bus and taxi are available.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YingBernardFrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#34 of 100 in Quebec City
2,856 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,436 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Hotel Chateau Laurier
#38 of 100 in Quebec City
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,876 reviews
8.3 km away
L'Hotel Quebec
L'Hotel Quebec
#51 of 100 in Quebec City
453 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#57 of 100 in Quebec City
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace Royal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Royal

Address: 775, Avenue Honore-Mercier, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 6A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#21 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#34 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: ₹ 7,608 - ₹ 15,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palace Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At a 150 meters distance from Old Quebec’s historic district, in the heart of the city downtown, stands Hotel Palace Royal | Downtown. The hotel features 234 sumptuously decorated rooms offering great comfort, memory foam mattresses, wooden floors, and magnificent views over the city. Luxurious setting filled with contemporary accents, central courtyard with swimming pool, indoor parking lot, Restaurant Beffroi Steak House within the hotel, privileged location right next to the d’Youville Place and the St. Jean Door, and more: Hotel Palace Royal provides an ideal setting for a fulfilling stay in Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palace Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Royal Hotel
Palace Royal Quebec City
Hotel Palace Royal Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing