We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

This HI has a great location in the Old Quebec. It's clean and also quiet. If you need to park your car you can use the public parking 5 minutes-walk away. Sometimes they provide a breakfast. The staff is very helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeboMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    179
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
30
58
158
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

I wanted a place to stay in Quebec City while I attended a conference there and did some sightseeing. I wanted to stay somewhere inexpensive and ultimately chose this hostel and I'm glad I did. For three nights, I paid about $80. The hostel wasn't very busy (it was November) and most hostels in that situation cram as many people in the same room as possible so it's less cleaning. Not so here! I ended up with a dorm to myself for the entire stay, which was really appreciated. The dorms are comfortable and warm (important in a Quebec winter) and quite big. Lockers are provided in each room and there was a desk with four chairs.

The facilities are good too. The shower room was quite big and was clean, as were the toilets. The whole hostel has a free wireless internet signal and it was fast and reliable. Breakfast was provided with the cost of my room and it was continental buffet-style. There's a kitchen available and a bar is open in the evening, although I didn't use either of those while I was there. There's also a lot of common rooms: internet room (with computers), TV room, reading room and the general reception area. They have a storage room for bags too in case you've checked-out but still have some exploring time.

The staff were really friendly and efficient. They speak English so no worries if you can't speak French, although I'm sure they'd appreciate the effort if you tried. They've also organised various activities each day. While I was there ice skating, a trip to Montmorency Falls and a tour of Quebec City were organised.

The location is really brilliant. The hostel is situated in Old Quebec and is a 5-10 minute (uphill) walk from the train station. Walking to the shops takes about 1 minute.

So to summarise, this is one of the better hostels I've stayed at and I've been to quite a few! If you want something cosy and inexpensive with a good location, pick here!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

The hostel has a great location, minutes walking of every important attraction of Old Québec.
Look in advance in the website for week activities that you can do together with other guests.

Room Tip: Try not to get a rooms with so huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank repinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Good location with friendly staffs.

However, they need to do some maintenance on the facilities. The window has big holes that mosquitoes were so happy to see new blood source in. We have to use tissues to block the holes as to keep the mosquitoes away.

With the price, its a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

A friend convinced us to stay here, and she was right! We were three people who are 50+ years and haven't stayed at a Hostel in a number of years. It was perfect. We had a private room and bathroom, which was very large. Everything was clean and people of lots different ages, so we fit in. We joined the bike ride to the waterfall offered by the hostel, great deal at $20 and we could keep the bike all day.

The very best part was the location. I loved being in the old City. A 10 minute walk to any of the sight of the beautiful city. (yes, it is hilly, but everywhere in the old city is hilly).

The only negative is the breakfast. At $6 per person it wasn't great, and with a private room you have to have the breakfast included. But buy some berries at the market, and put them on your cereal and it isn't so bad!

On an aside, check out the free tour offered by Parks Canada of the historic remains under the governors promenade, located in front of the Chateau Frontenac. Very good and FREE.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,637 reviews
0.7 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec

Property: Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec
Address: 19, rue Ste Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,892 - ₹ 4,908
Hotel Class:2 star — Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff at the Auberge internationale de Québec is always ready to welcome all travelers, alone or in groups. Come and enjoy an unforgettable experience in the beautiful Quebec City region. We are in a great location, nestled inside the walls in the center of the old city. You will be steps away from popular cultural, historical and tourist sites. Our hostel offers lots of services to make your trip simple and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale de Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale De Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hi-Quebec, Auberge Internationale De Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing