We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal William

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Royal William
Ranked #56 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
mid- Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This place is a jewel. It is NOT in Vieux Quebec, but about a 20 minute walk -- uphill, but safe and well lighted. The hotel staff is wonderful. This is a small boutique hotel with only 44 rooms. The rooms are wonderful, clean, a deluxe bathroom that's almost roomy. Fluffy towels and nice bath amenities. A continental breakfast is included, but you can upgrade to a much large, made to order breakfast for $3 per person more. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. We even took a city bus tour and were promptly pick up at the front door.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms were very nice. Our faced the street --#308 and we heard little noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mykeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    110
    40
    14
    13
See reviews for
67
122
15
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We've stayed for one night in this hotel cause there was nothing else availiable in the city.The location is ok and rooms are nice and big. But opposite to our room there was a room full of kids having a party. It was noisy all the time and I called the reception to complain,but they didn't care. So we couldn't sleep at all,and other people as well,were knocking and shouting the whole night trying to stop the party. The staff didn't even apologize the next day,the said it's not their problem. Never had this kind of rude service in Quebec before!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cateche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Location is ok. 15 minute walk to Old Quebec, which is where we spent most of our time. Room size was good and the bathroom was a good size too. Comfortable bed also. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and the AC worked well. Breakfast is ok at best. If you can, stay in Old Quebec, you do not need to leave that area for anything, especially good places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park,NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed for two nights for a family trip. The rooms were spacious and clean. We could have used a few more pillows. We were surprised that breakfast was included and upgraded to eggs and bacon .. You need to pay extra for a upgrade from continental breakfast. We didn't mind and were happy with such a small bill. The walk to Old Quebec takes about 15 minutes but is all up hill. If you are traveling with older Adults or kids drive or take a cab.

The front desk staff was very nice and print directions for us several times. They were very helpful with suggestions when we had a rainy day.

I would recommend this hotel , but would not recommend walking to Old Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryCliftonPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is now part of the Ascend brand under Choice Hotels. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful (they speak both French and English) located in a small lobby built for efficiency with underground parking across the street. This place is a short walk (5-10 minutes) to the free street elevator which takes you up to the old town, another 5-10 minutes away and around the corner. I was really impressed by how clean and well-kept this part of the city was. There is a huge green square (very modern design) right around the corner from the hotel with fountains and many places to just sit and enjoy the weather/view.
The room was big enough (probably owing to the 15-16 foot ceilings, something you don't see in hotels every day) with comfortable clean beds and large well-appointed bathrooms. Each room has a small fridge (former minibar) for general use as well as a DVD player with movies at the front desk--remember that you are in a French-speaking province, so of course some of the movies are in French! The Free breakfast (continental) in the adjacent restaurant each morning was small but satisfying, and the coffee they served was even better. You have the option of ordering something more substantial off the full menu, which made sense to me. Only strange thing about this place was the room climate control--Seems simple to operate, but you never quite figure out how it warms or cools the room--it just does it automatically, and I'm sure someone at the front desk would explain it, I never asked as we were comfortable with the temperature. A very good boutique hotel in a great downtown location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CR_Travels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#46 of 101 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
1.5 km away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#30 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#36 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel des Coutellier
Hotel des Coutellier
#12 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal William? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal William

Property: Hotel Royal William
Address: 360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,990 - ₹ 12,299
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal William 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal William Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing