We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“comfortable ,clean room with good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal William

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Royal William
Ranked #55 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Clifton Park,NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“comfortable ,clean room with good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed for two nights for a family trip. The rooms were spacious and clean. We could have used a few more pillows. We were surprised that breakfast was included and upgraded to eggs and bacon .. You need to pay extra for a upgrade from continental breakfast. We didn't mind and were happy with such a small bill. The walk to Old Quebec takes about 15 minutes but is all up hill. If you are traveling with older Adults or kids drive or take a cab.

The front desk staff was very nice and print directions for us several times. They were very helpful with suggestions when we had a rainy day.

I would recommend this hotel , but would not recommend walking to Old Quebec.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryCliftonPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    109
    40
    14
    13
See reviews for
67
121
15
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is now part of the Ascend brand under Choice Hotels. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful (they speak both French and English) located in a small lobby built for efficiency with underground parking across the street. This place is a short walk (5-10 minutes) to the free street elevator which takes you up to the old town, another 5-10 minutes away and around the corner. I was really impressed by how clean and well-kept this part of the city was. There is a huge green square (very modern design) right around the corner from the hotel with fountains and many places to just sit and enjoy the weather/view.
The room was big enough (probably owing to the 15-16 foot ceilings, something you don't see in hotels every day) with comfortable clean beds and large well-appointed bathrooms. Each room has a small fridge (former minibar) for general use as well as a DVD player with movies at the front desk--remember that you are in a French-speaking province, so of course some of the movies are in French! The Free breakfast (continental) in the adjacent restaurant each morning was small but satisfying, and the coffee they served was even better. You have the option of ordering something more substantial off the full menu, which made sense to me. Only strange thing about this place was the room climate control--Seems simple to operate, but you never quite figure out how it warms or cools the room--it just does it automatically, and I'm sure someone at the front desk would explain it, I never asked as we were comfortable with the temperature. A very good boutique hotel in a great downtown location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CR_Travels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambly, Quebec
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night. It was extremely clean, very quiet (room 207) and a good price. The continental breakfast is not much and you will want to spend a few more dollars to upgrade your breakfast - from $2 to $6 all depending on what you choose. The only thing I did not like about this hotel is its location it was at least a 10 to 20 minute walk to Old Quebec all depending on where you want to start your visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieChambly_Quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferney-Voltaire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We stayed in a suite with a king bed and a large foldout couch in a separate area. The beds were perfectly comfortable and the quarters spacious. Nice clean bathroom. For the price we paid ($400), I expected nothing less.

My complaints: the couple sleeping in the sitting room were woken up several times by what was probably a large a/c unit kicking on and off (room 101). While the receptionists we dealt with were very pleasant, there was a mix-up about the roomrate.
The girl who checked us in quoted us a base room rate of $240 with a supplement of $20 per additional adult, which should have added up to a base rate of $280. However, the girl who checked us in added the additional adult supplements to the $280 figure. I don't think they were being dishonest. It was no doubt a communication problem, which I failed to catch. Bottom line: be sure about the agreed rate and double check the final bill.
Finally, the breakfast was really disappointing. The rate includes a continental "buffet" breakfast, to use the term of the receptionist, but what they don't tell you is that it consists of a few scraps of bread and paperr thin slices of cantelope for a menu value of $5. It's not a buffet at all. If you want anything else, you have to order from the menu at an additional cost. The quality of the food was poor. A few days earlier, we had stayed at L'Auberge de l'Autre Jardin just across the road, which offered a much more generous and delicious self-service buffet with all wholesome, organic fare. The rooms there were just as comfortable and spacious, and about half the price. See my up-coming review on them.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101, which can be noisy due to heavy machinery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phiby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazlet, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Booked on Expedia, just 5 mins before checking in. They already had me in the system. I was ranting to the receptionist about my day, and she was nice enough to polity listen. We then had a few laughs after wards. She really made me feel better about my terrible day. I don't recall her name, but she was blond and always smiling.

Hotel is about 15 mins from downtown, uphill thoght. If you are older or out of shape, you should take a cab to the touristsy area. Area was REAL QC and I felt very safe even at night. Lots of bus stations and payphones....looked like mostly clean cut college-aged folks roaming around with backpacks on.

Efficient check-in. Breakfast was quite pleasant. Room was spotless.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DowMan5744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
0.1 km away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#45 of 104 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#30 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Vincent
Hotel Le Vincent
#15 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal William? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal William

Property: Hotel Royal William
Address: 360 Boulevard Charest Est, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 3H4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,145 - ₹ 12,084
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal William 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal William reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal William Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing