We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT EVER go here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Ranked #81 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Do NOT EVER go here”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel is not 3 stars - nor is it worth the money. We stayed in Room 403 and paid 127.90 including taxes. From the hotel, it's also a 20 minute drive to Old Quebec City and situated in Beauport, which is surrounded by several other 1-2 star hotels and run down buildings. It is not in a strategic location at all.
Do yourself a HUGE favor and spend the extra money on a Hotel in Old Quebec City. It will be worth the money, and you'll be in walking distance to all the tourist areas without having to worry about parking. As for the hotel, it is old and worn down. Check out the pictures if you don't believe me. Stains all over the floor, broken furniture and very thin pillows. Plus one of the blankets had a cigarette burn in it. I would not ever stay here again, and I recommend to anyone looking to visit the old charm of Vieux Quebec, please book a hotel there and do not try and save money by looking in Beauport. This is not a 3-star Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alberta-bound2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    164
    145
    68
    53
See reviews for
236
135
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Very disappointed in this hotel. The accommodations were certainly not worth the 3 stars claimed. Two small pillows on the double bed, old and tired furnishings in the room. Overall dated looking. The tiny pool was too small to swim in. The walls between rooms are paper thin. Our stay was very noisy because of a group of teenagers running around the hall on our floor, yelling and banging doors. This went on until past 1:00 in the morning! We called the desk twice before they sent someone up to quiet them down. The second time we called, we asked to be moved to a different room and were refused without apology. I will never stay there again. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 93Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quebec City hotels

London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of August 2011 as part of a 7 day Canadian Eastern journey coach tour visiting Toronto, Ottawa, Quebec and Montreal. We had read the reviews before we arrived and it was slightly better than stated. Our room was spacious with two queen beds and the bathroom was OK if slightly dated, the wireless free internet worked very well so this was a big plus. One of the lifts was not working through out our stay but it did not present us any problems, we did not use the swimming pool but it appeared to be very popular. The breakfast was better than expected as we were told it may only be continental but there was a lot more choices and all the staff in the hotel were very good.
The hotel was situated about 10 mins by coach/taxi from the Quebec centre and it cost about 12 CD, also there were a few eating places near the Ambassadeur such as KFC, Subway, McDonalds and also 3 other eating establishments such as Mikes which we used and was pretty good. There was also a small shop about 10 minutes down the road which stocked most things.
We enjoyed Quebec especially the old town and went on a walking tour, also went on the Funicular which is something differnet. Visited the farmers market and also the artists exhibition area on the Marina and they were both very good.
Our highlight was a trip out to Montmorency Falls which we went by taxi from our hotel at about a cost of 18 CD and got our driver to pick us up 90mins later. We took the cable car up and walked across the falls and then down the other side by the steps, the weather was good and it made for a great day.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff as they appear helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

close access to Quebec city
room poorly maintained--loose rail handle in bathroom, cracked ceiling, loose toilet seat etc... stayed one night at Comfort Inn across street, but they were full the 2nd. night so stayed here. The Comfort Inn is well maintained, less $ per night, and includes a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherland Antilles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

My wife and I stayed in this Hotel just one night, after staying two nights previously at the Hotel Chateau Henry IV. We arrived at 12:00 and the person in front desk very kindly arranged for us an early checking in at 2:00 PM (Checking in is at 4:00). The Hotel has a very good and affordable restaurant -Chef Greco- and is also surrrounded of other restaurants, including CORA, (a typical "institution" in Quebec for lunch and breakfast, a "must' go), and some fast food chains like Subway, KFC., MacDonalds, etc. all of them in a radio of 100 yards around the Hotel.
There is ample parking at the Hotel and public transportation is available at two blocks of the Hotel (Bus 800, I believe - $2.75 USD/trip). We left our car at the Hotel (parking is difficult and expensive in Quebec city) and took the bus for going to the city and returning at night. The bus takes 10-15 minutes to the Old Port area, that is walking distance to Old Quebec, the Funicular, and consequently, the upper town (or you can take the Electrobus -1 dollar -in the Old port, and go to the upper town using it!).
The room was confortable, standard, nothing special. The hotel has a very nice interior area with a pool, birds and some balconies that look at the pool. (The picture of this hotel that usually appears is in fact a picture of this interior area and can be misleading is you try to identify the Hote; from your car)
The staff was very attentive all the time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Universel Quebec
Hotel Universel Quebec
#86 of 102 in Quebec City
386 reviews
0.1 km away
N Hotel Quebec
N Hotel Quebec
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
293 reviews
0.9 km away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#28 of 102 in Quebec City
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#53 of 102 in Quebec City
303 reviews
15.2 km away
Howard Johnson Quebec City
Howard Johnson Quebec City
#78 of 102 in Quebec City
176 reviews
14.7 km away
Hotel Quebec Inn
Hotel Quebec Inn
#68 of 102 in Quebec City
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec

Property: Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Address: 3401 Sainte-Anne Boulevard | Beauport, Quebec City, Quebec G1E 3L4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,529 - ₹ 14,706
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers 145 rooms where everything is close by. Located in front of St.Lawrence River, the Hotel Ambassadeur is only a five minutes drive to Old Quebec. The Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec offers a surprising view on Quebec City and the Beauport Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassadeur Quebec Hotel
Ambassadeur Quebec Beauport
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing