We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vincent & Carmen IN VIEUX QUEBEC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Vincent & Carmen IN VIEUX QUEBEC”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stay at the Chateau Bellevue on the rue de la Porte behind the Frontenac. Choose a prestige room, 301, which is large, comfortable with many amenities. Size of the room is 16x23 and the bathroom with jacuzzi is another 8x10. Your room is well-supplied with 100% cotton towels, bathrobes, and above all, a phenomenal view of the St. Lawrence River. Breakfast is served from 7:30-10:30; so, you have plenty of time to catch up on your sleep. The elevator is a wonderful addition to the third floor rooms, our room was 301 at the end of the hall...a well-chosen location for views. The hotel stands above the Park of Governors with trees, benches and continual breezes. So, treat yourselves to a pleasant small hotel, 55 rooms. The staff is young, efficient and definitely most attentive.

Room Tip: Our room is 301, but there are many rooms on the third floor with views to the St. Lawrence River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincentpezzullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    345
    95
    30
    20
See reviews for
104
599
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a lovely small hotel on a pretty, quiet street of other stone houses. We stayed in a Distinction room (ours did not have stone walls) on the second floor and were extremely pleased. The large room had dark, contemporary furnishings, a seating area of two comfortable lounge chairs and small table in front of a big TV, and a good-sized renovated bathroom with a particularly deep tub, great for soaking. It also had super-fast WI-FI. Note that down pillows are not available; however, they use some that are a near-down quality and not too bad - I'm really fussy about this. The hotel cited allergy concerns.

We had a view of the other old stone houses on the street, and it was fine, even through everyone else on this site is mad for the park view.

The location is ideal - literally one block from the boardwalk, the river, and the Chateau Frontenac, as well as one or two blocks in the other direction from the center of town. It's the Chateau Frontenac location experience at about half the price. We were so centrally located that we walked most of the time, even though we had access to a car.

The serve-yourself breakfast was what I would call expanded continental - a variety of cereals, breads, very good cake slices, individual yogurts, basic juices, and a well- above- average array of specialty coffees and teas. I think that these are available all day. We had no trouble finding a table at 9:00. Crepes are available as well, but these are unfilled rounds in a warming pan - not hot filled crepes. A perfectly nice, unlimited breakfast, and included in the room price. Actually, this being Quebec, I think it's smart to eat lightly at breakfast and be set for a late lunch at one of the creperies or other unique snack places.

Service was good, especially Emily at the front desk, who patiently helped us choose among the rooms available (we booked pretty far in advance), and saw that our luggage was safely stowed after our early arrival. Valet service was great - no waiting at all after a call downstairs.

NOTE: It's important to know what you want here. The hotel's charm is that it's old and pretty and not cookie cutter, so rooms and prices vary.

Room Tip: Be sure you know the differences between the various categories of rooms - Prestige, Distinction, De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annette7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We returned to the Bellevue because of location and helpful staff. The room was VERY small and the TV was also small. The breakfast was adequate and sometimes difficult to find a table. It is critical to ask for a room on the second or third floor facing the park.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DiamondjimSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I loved this hotel and service.
Located in centre of Old Quebec.
Friendly staff, small but cute rooms, great rate, free internet.
Complimentary continental breakfast and great coffee (espresso machine on site) available full day at no extra charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The location of the hotel was excellent but there are several other hotels in the same district. In addition Quebec City is very small and the historic centre can be easily reached from more peripheral (but quieter) areas. Location is the only (marginal) strength of this badly managed hotel.

Upon arrival in our room we immediately reported a strong noise, making it impossible to sleep or rest. Hotel staff acknowledged the problem but was able neither to fix the problem nor to offer an alternative solution. “We are fully booked tonight, are you looking for a 10% discount?”, we were rudely asked by the hotel staff. We asked to contact the Director of the Hotel that, however, “could not be disturbed on a Friday”. Only after a one hour wait we were offered – “as a personal favour”(!) - a room outside the main building of the hotel (reserved to the hotel staff) with no air-conditioning, no wi-fi, a TV dating back to the 60s and a bathroom last refurbished in the 70s. No apology whatsoever from the hotel! STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Try and find something different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Management, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
We thank you to give us the occasion to say to the traveller’s community that, first of all, if you really want a specific type of room or let us know about request that could help you to have a better stay with us, please contact us directly.

As for noises regarding the pipes, air conditioning or the ventilation system, they are normal noises. The environment of a hotel cannot be free of sounds. Our hotel is located in a very quiet area of the Old Quebec facing a park and has hotels as neighbours. Most of the activities in town are down from where we are (a 5-minute walk).

Moreover, when we are fully booked, usually the rest of the town is also fully booked. In the following situation, we tried our best to help these clients who did not want their room. In hotels, we guarantee a type of room. We cannot downgrade people because others want their room. The room was clean and yes the air conditioning can be noisy. If it disturbs you or if you don’t want to sleep with the air conditioning on, let the front desk knows and we will turn it off completely.

Finally, regarding the badly managed hotel critique, well, we think that everyone, even our manager, has the right to enjoy her weekend with her family. Don’t you think? We understand that you have the right to enjoy as much as you can your stay, but no one is known to have to work 7/24. If there is a problem with your room, we suggest you strongly to contact us and we will give you her email address for a more personal answer if the solution offered by our team at the front desk is not what you were expecting.

We are trying to do our best in every situation and we always hope to come to an arrangement before the departure of our clients when a problem occurs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 km away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 101 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#14 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#4 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.0 km away
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
#47 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Bellevue

Property: Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Address: 16 Rue La Porte, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4M9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#23 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#32 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,594 - ₹ 15,838
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chateau Bellevue: Quiet comfort assured in the heart of Old QuebecAny reason to visit Quebec City is a great opportunity to stay at Hotel Chateau Bellevue… a perfect location in the heart of Old Quebec, near Dufferin Terrace and the Citadel, with views of Parc des Gouverneurs and the mighty Saint Lawrence River. Come enjoy the historic charm of North America’s only fortified city, discover an exceptionally beautiful architectural heritage, and bask in the comfort and quality service that only a hotel like ours can provide.At Hotel Chateau Bellevue, exceptional comfort and a warm family atmosphere live in peaceful coexistence with all the excitement Old Quebec has to offer, including a front-row seat of major events. Whether you’re passing through Quebec City on business, or looking for a romantic getaway, or sharing a tour with friends, you’ll soon find Hotel Chateau Bellevue has everything it takes to make your visit a success.Hotel Chateau Bellevue also has an awesome array of tour packages for every possible interest. Fine dining, culture, outdoor activities… Whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find terrific options to enjoy and explore. Just contact our hotel staff to make your reservations for the visit of your dreams… today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chateau Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Bellevue Quebec City
Chateau Bellevue Hotel
Hotel Chateau Bellevue Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing