We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Nearby Hotels
US$ 455
US$ 328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 271
US$ 218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Auberge Place D'Armes(Quebec City)
US$ 234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 213
US$ 196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Clarendon(Quebec City)
US$ 243
US$ 218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
L'Hotel Quebec(Quebec City)
US$ 146
US$ 141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Quebec(Quebec City)
US$ 239
US$ 202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Le Champlain Hotel(Quebec City)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Palace Royal(Quebec City)
US$ 249
US$ 241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
520
376
110
34
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
376
110
34
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold quebeccontinental breakfastprestige roomdispensing machinewine barquiet streetcrepeslawrence rivercoffee and juicebeautiful parkvalet parkingdufferin terracerooms are smallhot chocolatewithin walking distancequaint hotel
Filter
Updating list...
618 - 623 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a lovely small hotel on a pretty, quiet street of other stone houses. We stayed in a Distinction room (ours did not have stone walls) on the second floor and were extremely pleased. The large room had dark, contemporary furnishings, a seating area of two comfortable lounge chairs and small table in front of a big TV, and a good-sized renovated bathroom with a particularly deep tub, great for soaking. It also had super-fast WI-FI. Note that down pillows are not available; however, they use some that are a near-down quality and not too bad - I'm really fussy about this. The hotel cited allergy concerns.

We had a view of the other old stone houses on the street, and it was fine, even through everyone else on this site is mad for the park view.

The location is ideal - literally one block from the boardwalk, the river, and the Chateau Frontenac, as well as one or two blocks in the other direction from the center of town. It's the Chateau Frontenac location experience at about half the price. We were so centrally located that we walked most of the time, even though we had access to a car.

The serve-yourself breakfast was what I would call expanded continental - a variety of cereals, breads, very good cake slices, individual yogurts, basic juices, and a well- above- average array of specialty coffees and teas. I think that these are available all day. We had no trouble finding a table at 9:00. Crepes are available as well, but these are unfilled rounds in a warming pan - not hot filled crepes. A perfectly nice, unlimited breakfast, and included in the room price. Actually, this being Quebec, I think it's smart to eat lightly at breakfast and be set for a late lunch at one of the creperies or other unique snack places.

Service was good, especially Emily at the front desk, who patiently helped us choose among the rooms available (we booked pretty far in advance), and saw that our luggage was safely stowed after our early arrival. Valet service was great - no waiting at all after a call downstairs.

NOTE: It's important to know what you want here. The hotel's charm is that it's old and pretty and not cookie cutter, so rooms and prices vary.

Room Tip: Be sure you know the differences between the various categories of rooms - Prestige, Distinction, Deluxe, and whatever. Different reservation sites I looked at used different names and descriptions and it was somewhat confusing. ASK.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annette7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We returned to the Bellevue because of location and helpful staff. The room was VERY small and the TV was also small. The breakfast was adequate and sometimes difficult to find a table. It is critical to ask for a room on the second or third floor facing the park.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank DiamondjimSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I loved this hotel and service.
Located in centre of Old Quebec.
Friendly staff, small but cute rooms, great rate, free internet.
Complimentary continental breakfast and great coffee (espresso machine on site) available full day at no extra charge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The location of the hotel was excellent but there are several other hotels in the same district. In addition Quebec City is very small and the historic centre can be easily reached from more peripheral (but quieter) areas. Location is the only (marginal) strength of this badly managed hotel.

Upon arrival in our room we immediately reported a strong noise, making it impossible to sleep or rest. Hotel staff acknowledged the problem but was able neither to fix the problem nor to offer an alternative solution. “We are fully booked tonight, are you looking for a 10% discount?”, we were rudely asked by the hotel staff. We asked to contact the Director of the Hotel that, however, “could not be disturbed on a Friday”. Only after a one hour wait we were offered – “as a personal favour”(!) - a room outside the main building of the hotel (reserved to the hotel staff) with no air-conditioning, no wi-fi, a TV dating back to the 60s and a bathroom last refurbished in the 70s. No apology whatsoever from the hotel! STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Try and find something different.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RickExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Management, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chateau Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

We thank you to give us the occasion to say to the traveller’s community that, first of all, if you really want a specific type of room or let us know about request that could help you to have a better stay with us, please contact us directly.

As for noises regarding the pipes, air conditioning or the ventilation system, they are normal noises. The environment of a hotel cannot be free of sounds. Our hotel is located in a very quiet area of the Old Quebec facing a park and has hotels as neighbours. Most of the activities in town are down from where we are (a 5-minute walk).

Moreover, when we are fully booked, usually the rest of the town is also fully booked. In the following situation, we tried our best to help these clients who did not want their room. In hotels, we guarantee a type of room. We cannot downgrade people because others want their room. The room was clean and yes the air conditioning can be noisy. If it disturbs you or if you don’t want to sleep with the air conditioning on, let the front desk knows and we will turn it off completely.

Finally, regarding the badly managed hotel critique, well, we think that everyone, even our manager, has the right to enjoy her weekend with her family. Don’t you think? We understand that you have the right to enjoy as much as you can your stay, but no one is known to have to work 7/24. If there is a problem with your room, we suggest you strongly to contact us and we will give you her email address for a more personal answer if the solution offered by our team at the front desk is not what you were expecting.

We are trying to do our best in every situation and we always hope to come to an arrangement before the departure of our clients when a problem occurs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The otsde of the hotel looked a lot smaller than it did on the hotel's website. The staff were reasonably friendly except there was a gentleman at the desk who looked moody each time I saw him. The room was OK but felt generic and impersonal. In such a quaint city such as Quebec I expected something more personalised. The breakfast was very basic with seemingly the minimum on offer. I would not stay here again nor would i recommed it to anyone. As i was leaving early the following day i asked if i wou be able to take a muffin/tea for breakfast. The taff member did not look happy and instead of being accomodating, he simply said 'only if it is ready' It is far over price and has nothing special to offer. Thre are at least 4 other hotels on the same road as this one that i am sure would be more comfortable, friendly and worthy. A hot cooked breakft also wouldnt go a miss here either.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syreeta555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews