We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway!”
Review of Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My girlfriend and I traveled from Virginia to Quebec City in February for the 2012 Winter Carnival and had a fabulous time! We stayed in three different B and Bs throughout the week and wrapped up our vacation with a Monday-Wednesday stay in the "Condo Suite" at Manoir Sur-Le-Cap. We wanted to end the trip with a cozy bedroom with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub for two so we could rest and spoil ourselves after several busy days of walking around in the snow, wind and cold. This place was the ticket! It had a kitchen and dining area, too, and a nice view of the icy St. Lawrence River. Chateau Frontenac was just outside the main door of the lobby(about a two-minute walk), so it was ideally located for exploring all over Upper and Lower Town. One night we ventured out to dinner, the other(our last), we just filled the fridge with fine cheeses, bread and fresh pates from a nearby grocery, popped open some sparkling wine, soaked in the amazing tub, then layed by the fire. Man, just writing this makes me want to go back! Sandra and Audrick were terrific hosts, very friendly and accomodating and we would stay there again in a heartbeat. Don't know what the other rooms were like, but I'm sure they're more than adequate and you just can't beat the location. If you travel to Quebec City and want stay somewhere nice and close to everything, yet still very much in seclusion(tucked away in your own private nest), treat yourself to a night in the "Condo Suite," or two like we did. Can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: If you want a room that has it all, comfort, privacy, extras, etc..., book the "Condo Suite.&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 159 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Fabulous location - walk everywhere. Great view of the Chateau Frontenac and the river from the room window. We had room #14 in the attic; 54 steps and a winding staircase... no elevator so be warned! Worth it, though. Quiet area, facing Governors Park. Ample space to move around the room, spotless, good price, helpful staff, what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Ask when reserving; they have rooms for all tastes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylvieSoleil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

very helpful staff, clean rooms, location is wonderful, can't be better, given the price. everything within the walking distance, very quite neighborhood away from the crowds. i will certainly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagaz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have been staying at Manoir Sur-le-cap when I stay in Quebec City for many years. I have never had a reason to stay elsewhere. It has remained unchanged in its excellence. Tucked in along the St. Lawrence with lovely views of the park and the river, the ambiance is truly old Quebec. The accommodations are always spotless and the rooms are charmingly Quebecois and comfortable. Recently, my partner fell ill and we found Sandra Roy to be extremely helpful in these circumstances. I am sure you can see why I most heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They are all good but the first floor saves climbing stairs if you are unwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcorriveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Manoir-sur-le-Cap is located behind the Chateau Frontenac, about a block away. It's about two blocks from the Tourist Information Office for Old Quebec City. The hotel, in spite of its central location in the "upper town" of Old Quebec, is quiet. The queen-size bed was very comfortable. Towels were large and soft. The room that we occupied (#2) appeared to have been recently painted. (We know that our room was larger than some others.) On the down side there is no elevator, but we were on the first floor. The parking was very secure in a locked garage @ $22 per day. Although no breakfast was provided, coffee was available in our room and in the lobby (along with a basket of fresh fruit).

Room Tip: It was a bit confusing because online you are to select your room. Room #2 was great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredProfPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 km away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
597 reviews
0.0 km away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#56 of 102 in Quebec City
63 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
Hotel Terrasse Dufferin
#49 of 102 in Quebec City
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Le Chateau de Pierre
Le Chateau de Pierre
#32 of 102 in Quebec City
380 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#26 of 102 in Quebec City
1,023 reviews
0.1 km away
Maison du Fort
Maison du Fort
#3 of 102 in Quebec City
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Sur-le-Cap? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Address: 9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: ₹ 6,379 - ₹ 11,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Sur-le-Cap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Sur-le-Cap is located near the Château Frontenac and Notre Dame Basilica in Old Quebec, in the the most historic quarter of North America.On this site, facing the Jardin des Gouverneurs, a wooden house was built at the end of the 18th century.After purchasing the property in 1837, William L. Felton had the small house demolished and replaced by a comfortable stone house.Subsequently, Doctor Georges Mellis Douglas, owner of the residence, had the Grosse-Ile opened up for sick immigrants and became their medical superintendent.In 1856 and 1857, the owner of this home was painter Théophile Hamel who lived there after his mariage.The Roy family, owners of the premises since 1967, have preserved the historic cachet of this hotel. Their warm hospitality will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Manoir Sur-le-Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing