We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Vieux Quebec at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Ranked #42 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vieux Quebec at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Fabulous location - walk everywhere. Great view of the Chateau Frontenac and the river from the room window. We had room #14 in the attic; 54 steps and a winding staircase... no elevator so be warned! Worth it, though. Quiet area, facing Governors Park. Ample space to move around the room, spotless, good price, helpful staff, what more could you ask for!

Room Tip: Ask when reserving; they have rooms for all tastes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SylvieSoleil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    91
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
119
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

very helpful staff, clean rooms, location is wonderful, can't be better, given the price. everything within the walking distance, very quite neighborhood away from the crowds. i will certainly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagaz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

I have been staying at Manoir Sur-le-cap when I stay in Quebec City for many years. I have never had a reason to stay elsewhere. It has remained unchanged in its excellence. Tucked in along the St. Lawrence with lovely views of the park and the river, the ambiance is truly old Quebec. The accommodations are always spotless and the rooms are charmingly Quebecois and comfortable. Recently, my partner fell ill and we found Sandra Roy to be extremely helpful in these circumstances. I am sure you can see why I most heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They are all good but the first floor saves climbing stairs if you are unwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fcorriveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Manoir-sur-le-Cap is located behind the Chateau Frontenac, about a block away. It's about two blocks from the Tourist Information Office for Old Quebec City. The hotel, in spite of its central location in the "upper town" of Old Quebec, is quiet. The queen-size bed was very comfortable. Towels were large and soft. The room that we occupied (#2) appeared to have been recently painted. (We know that our room was larger than some others.) On the down side there is no elevator, but we were on the first floor. The parking was very secure in a locked garage @ $22 per day. Although no breakfast was provided, coffee was available in our room and in the lobby (along with a basket of fresh fruit).

Room Tip: It was a bit confusing because online you are to select your room. Room #2 was great for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredProfPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

As travelers who do more adventuring than relaxing, my boyfriend and I tend to not spend much time in our hotel rooms, but we certainly could have stayed in ours for our five-day trip and been perfectly happy. We stayed in #14, an attic room with a vaulted ceiling, exposed wood beams, and walls of exposed old stone with a view of the treetops of the park across the street and the towers of the Chateau Fontenac practically across the way. Just beautiful. Our shower was a stand-up and on the smaller side, but my boyfriend is 6 feet tall and had no problem with it at all. On reservation, we asked about the options and were given many choices in terms of room size, floor level, and shower size, so if you're curious, ask away. They seem to have something for everyone.

From my terrible French, I believe I read on a plaque that the building was built in the 1800s, and this place had all the character one would have expected. We prefer not to stay in hotels with sterile, cookie-cutter vibes, and this didn't disappoint. From what we could tell, every room here is entirely unique in shape, size, and adornments, much like any home would be.

We meet four different people who worked the front desk, and all of them were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was in the 4th floor (the American counting style: ground floor, 2nd, 3rd, 4th) with a bit a climb, but we knew so ahead of time and never had any issues with it. The Wi-Fi worked great the whole time we were there, as there is a separate connection for each floor. The term "B&B" is a little misused here, as there isn't any breakfast available, but there was always a basket of fresh apples on the foyer and each room has its own coffee maker. The rooms don't have telephones, but the front desk can accept calls if need be, make calls for taxis or reservations for you, and there's a pay phone in the foyer as well.

The location is a real winner, within less then five minutes of walking distance from absolutely anything you'd want to see in town, but on a quieter street with none of the street noise of the busier Saint-Louis and Saint-Jean streets. From the front steps, one can see the St. Lawrence river and the grand boardwalk, which were our pathways to just about everywhere during our stay. We were very happy with everything we encountered hotel-wise during our stay. The Manoir is evocative of all the history of this beautiful city and we were very happy that the historic feelings imparted by the old town didn't have to end when we came inside.

Room Tip: The staff can tell you all about each room and help you find one that fits your needs. If a view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AskerFondly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 km away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#9 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#29 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Chateau de Pierre
Le Chateau de Pierre
#33 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
Manoir Sainte Genevieve
#62 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#39 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Sur-le-Cap? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Sur-le-Cap

Property: Manoir Sur-le-Cap
Address: 9 av. Ste-Genevieve, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#31 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,941 - ₹ 10,704
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manoir Sur-le-Cap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manoir Sur-le-Cap is located near the Château Frontenac and Notre Dame Basilica in Old Quebec, in the the most historic quarter of North America.On this site, facing the Jardin des Gouverneurs, a wooden house was built at the end of the 18th century.After purchasing the property in 1837, William L. Felton had the small house demolished and replaced by a comfortable stone house.Subsequently, Doctor Georges Mellis Douglas, owner of the residence, had the Grosse-Ile opened up for sick immigrants and became their medical superintendent.In 1856 and 1857, the owner of this home was painter Théophile Hamel who lived there after his mariage.The Roy family, owners of the premises since 1967, have preserved the historic cachet of this hotel. Their warm hospitality will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Manoir Sur-le-Cap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Hotel Quebec City
Manoir Sur-Le-Cap Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing