We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,984)
Filter reviews
1,984 results
Traveller rating
1,688
266
22
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,688
266
22
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast basket picnic basket each morning yogurt filtered water rooftop garden hour walking tour free movies book directly with the hotel old city common room breakfast delivered nice lounge front desk staff lounge area cappuccino machine vieux quebec
Filter
Updating list...
887 - 892 of 1,984 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Superb experience. We were in a superior queen with our 2 children. Gave everyone a little more privacy and space. But it was definitely still cozy. Nice lounge area with complimentary warm beverages. Breakfast delivered to your door in a beautiful basket. The best croissants I have ever had outside of France. Very friendly staff. Huge DVD collection. We were there when it was very cold so we hunkered down and watched a movie with the kids after dinner every night. Great location to explore all parts of Quebec. Had no need for a rental car until we left town. Recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danagrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Many might have heard of the famous and historic five star Frontenac Hotel situated at the pinnacle of Old Quebec City; it’s certainly a beautiful, elegant (hint, expensive) place, but then again in this writer’s opinion you might as well be booking into a mid-city hotel in New York or San Francisco. Instead, we opted for the Hôtel de Vieux Quebec during a recent visit to the Old City and could not have been more delighted with our stay … very much a European hotel experience without having to fly over to Paris.

Hôtel de Vieux Quebec is located in the northeast quadrant of the Old City along trendy Rue St. Jean and is no more than a twenty minute walk from any place of interest within the old city walls. I was immediately over impressed with hotel staff who welcomed and helped settle us into surprisingly elegant but not overstated rooms in an area of the hotel we could claim as our ‘own private wing’. It even had its own stairway going up and away from the main floor. Like most every structure in the Old City this hotel was once something else, but in its reconstruction and remodeling they retained most of the ancient brick, stone walls and massive wood beams for their spacious rooms; my room had a fireplace, hers a small kitchenette. Promptly at 0700 the next morning a picnic basket containing a full continental breakfast was hung on the door to our rooms … a delightfully leisured way to begin and plan our day rather than seeking out and rushing through a street café bustling with others. Hôtel de Vieux Quebec is also a ‘green’ establishment and boasts numerous awards for their efforts and stewardship. They currently do not allow patrons access to their rooftop, but up there they harvest raw honey and grow their own spices.

Our room rate included a guided tour of the Old City. Neither of us is much on tours, but this one turned to be an eye opening leisurely walk through four centuries of city history, and was led by an extremely knowledgeable fellow who was a descendant of one of the original founding families … very worth our time to say the least. Once a week – a Thursday for us – Rue St. John that runs in front of the hotel is closed to only allow pedestrian traffic and it becomes a happening fest of live music, bustling streetside watering holes and dancing in the streets. Not for some, perhaps, but it was another surprising and welcomed delight for us.

Guides give this establishment a three star rating, but it’s really a four-and-a-half star experience with three star prices in the opinion of this patron. My only raised eyebrow came with a casual lunch at their bistro café – the Tournbroche – which is under the same roof and supposedly associated with the hotel. This bistro does not accept the same credit cards as the hotel, but there are numerous other café options within minutes in any direction. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for your next visit to the Old City, and without exception recommend any visit to Old Quebec City. English is spoken widely throughout the city, but do brush up on your French … it’s part of the fun!

Room Tip: Facing Rue St. Jean
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

We loved staying at Hotel Du Vieux Quebec Aug 31 - Sept 2. The hotel staff lived up to their reviews by providing me with a microwave in our room. The location could not be more perfect. They are so organized that drop off, parking and pickup were stress free. Great free big bottles of water in the room, small refrigerator, breakfast delivered to the room in a basket. Coffee pot in the room and expresso machine in the lounge. Sign up for the free walking tour with a great guide. I've already recommended the hotel to others.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank oceanview64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Not sure what to start with..........location, accommodation, ambiance, or service. ALL were exceptional. The hotel is located in the heart of Quebec City, literally. The rooms are appointed in a contemporary, eclectic style. The staff was more than attentive and informative. Don't miss the complimentary 2 hour walking tour of the old town, terrific.
The restaurant is worth a visit, also. We will definitely return to Hotel du Vieux.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Some days the trash pickup truck runs a little early.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Nice, small hotel. Very friendly staff. Great breakfast baskets left outside your door each day with crescents and danishes. Nice lounge with a chess board and interesting books. Excellent location for seeing the sights of old Quebec

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PeterPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews