We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip advisor is always right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Arrived yesterday early afternoon, room was ready ahead of time. Front desk very kind and helpful. Excellent, excellent location. You are walking distance to everything. No need for a car ubless you plan on going out of area. Flat rate of 35 dollars from airport. Do NOT exchange currency at airport unless you need small sums. better rates right across the street from hotel. Will post again. Merci.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcesFull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,193 of 1,689 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

Everything was more than anticipated...and we anticipated the best. From our room over our bed we had a view of the roof garden....the view of our room from outside??? Reminded me of Arles and van Gogh...red with green trim...a garret in the best way. ....dream of romace...it's tasteful but speaks of it from the street scene...open the window....this room was large....at around 7:45AM...upon the hook on your door breakfast was presented in a beautiful wooden picnic basket...complete with pastiries, fresh fruit, orange juice,yogart...butter,jam...we have been to Paris also...wonder if they would sell us this room...or mini apartment... we are not fussy people but want the best for a buck...everyone was very friendly and courteous...please learn to say hello, please and thank you in French....don't you like the same when you are approached by a visitor from another country in the US?...common courtesy oui? yes...you understand....eat at the resturanrt downstairs...just take it all in...relax...my favorite t-shirt...La vie est simple! Manger.Dormir.Parler Français....we loved Québec City and her people....tell la madmoiselle across the street selling the most wonderful soap that I said hello...bonjour. Enjoy...refresh and relax.....

Room Tip: Our favorite ask for Room # 310.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel in September 2011 and we're returning next month. After business in Portland, Maine drove to Quebec City. Nice drive through scenic areas. This hotel is a little like France and location is right on. Didn't encounter much traffic noise so can't comment on other reviewers. Room was quite nice with natural stone walls and the bed was so comfortable. Especially liked the breakfast basket that was delivered to the room showcasing pastries, yogurt, and a maple butter spread that was special. They have in-room coffee so it was nice to indulge in breakfast without having to "get dressed"! Hotel staff recommended a walking tour of the old city that was fun. Staff friendly and willing to go extra mile for you. Location is perfect to walk the streets and we ended up at the Hotel Frontenac for cocktails while looking at the St. Lawrence River. One of our clients was staying at the hotel and said their room was very very small for the money. We were glad we chose the L'Hotel du Vieux. Lots of restaurants to choose from and if you're going in the summer months, do chose one that allows outdoor seating. Fun to see all the tourists walking. We closed our eyes and pretended to be in Paris.... with many people speaking French, it wasn't too much off the mark! Loved it.

Room Tip: If noise is a problem, ask them to recommend a room that would be accommodating to your wishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJewels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel based mainly on the favorable reviews from Tripadvisor and we were very happy with the experience. The hotel is located on a main shopping street in Old Quebec, Rue St. Jean, and there are numerous restaurants, shops, everything right at the doorstep. It is really in the heart of everything and within walking distance to all the attractions of Quebec City.The room was quite large and comfortable, nicely furnished, had a refrigerator. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating at all times. They provided recommendations and provided a map with directions. Overall it was a great stay and I would recommend the hotel highly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec is a charming, small hotel with the most pleasant and helpful staff (they speak both French and English). While small, the hotel has everything you could need, or it is just a matter of a few steps away on rue St. Jean. Our rooms (one for my husband and myself, one for our grown daughters) were clean, comfortable and cozy. Our favorite experience was having breakfast delivered to our door in a picnic basket each morning. It was more than enough to start our day -- croissants, another baked good (different each day), orange juice, yogurt and fresh fruit. With a coffee-tea maker in the room, we had a complete breakfast without the hassle (or expense) of hurrying to a restaurant each morning. It made for a leisurely start to our day. And when we had to check out early (6AM) Saturday morning to get to the airport, the staff was considerate enough to package the breakfast to take with us in the taxi.
We also enjoyed the comfortable lounge on the first floor and would often stop there to relax when we came back from sightseeing. We could put our feet up, check e-mail at one of the computers, get a drink of cold water and even check reviews of local restaurants before heading out to dinner each night.
As for area restaurants, our favorites were Le Cochon Dingue in Lower Town, and Le Temporel (25 rue Couillard) and Portofino Bistro Italiano (54 rue Couillard) -- both just steps away from the hotel. Le Temporel is a tiny local place, but with great, authentic food (the quiche and croque monsieur were delicious) and very reasonable prices. Portofino has outstanding Italian food and a friendly staff. If you can, sit outside for some fun people watching.
Quebec is a beautiful city. Staying at L'Hotel du Vieux-Quebec made our visit all the more memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,797 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,312 reviews
0.6 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#5 of 102 in Quebec City
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
Auberge Aux Deux Lions
#4 of 102 in Quebec City
1,002 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#8 of 102 in Quebec City
1,608 reviews
11.3 km away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#24 of 102 in Quebec City
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: ₹ 7,686 - ₹ 13,222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing