We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great pool” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Universel Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Universel Quebec
Ranked #86 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great pool”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

The kids really liked the pool area and the swinging double bed. The rooms were OK, but the air conditioner rattled a bit. It is close to a small shopping centre. However, it is a fair distance from Quebec City Centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Good day,

We thank you for taking some time to share your comments about your stay in our hotel in June.

We are happy to know you enjoyed the pool and spa area, just as your kids did.

It is true that we are not directly downtown, but the City bus service is really good and it doesn't take long to get to Old Quebec.

We take good note of all your comments: it helps us improving our services.

In hoping to welcome you again,

Thank you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    102
    107
    50
    48
See reviews for
123
106
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Alberta
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We spend three nights at this hotel over the September labour day weekend. The hotel was busy but our room on the 4th floor of the newer part was very quiet. The room had good amenities and was very modern. The one down side is that there is no fan to draw humidity away. The hotel has pools and a tropical theme. Elevators that take you to the rooms exit onto the tropical area that is really, but really hot and humid. Quite unpleasant actually. Doorways were often left open so the humidity would travel down hallways where the rooms are. Our clothes felt damp and as a result were smelly two weeks later at the end of our trip. Another nuisance is that windows do not open so we must rely on air conditioning/heater unit, at times noisy. Would we go back? Most likely because the rooms are decently priced.

Room Tip: Do not pay the extra to have your room with a balcony overlooking the pools and tropical area. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Good day,

We thank you for the time you took to share your comments about your recent stay in out hotel.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that your room met your expectations in terms of comfort, clealiness and quietness.

We also take all comments about the fan, the atrium and the humidity. It is very important to us that all our guests our confortable and have a stay as perfect as possible. We will use the comments the improve our services.

In hoping to welcome you again,

Thank you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We have stayed in four with two rooms there for just one night last july, 2011. They have large rooms with large beds, breakfast, excelent indoor pool with sauna. If you have a car it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdd000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Good day,

We thank you for the time you took to share your comments about your recent stay in our hotel.

It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that the services met your expectations: the pool area is a must and people always enjoy the time spent in the atrium to relax.

In hoping to see you again in our hotel soon,

Thank you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Renovated hotel with excellent Greek restaurant. ONLY downside is that getting to the elevators you walk via the pool area which is very nice but very hot and humid. Chlorine smell on the first floor. Nice location near shopping. Opportunity to sit at umbrella-ed tables outside. Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the first floor to avoid smell of pool chlorine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolestgrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Good day,

We thank for taking the tim to write a comment about your stay in our hotel. We really appreciate all the comments we get, it gives us the opportunity to improve our services.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the services met your expectations. Even if the smell was strong, we hope youe enjoyed your time in pool and nordic spa area.

In hoping to welcome you again in our hotel.

Thank you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Ticks all the boxes: friendly, clean, tidy. BUT... the El Greco Restaurant! We decided to dine in. Asked to see the wine list and what followed was a scene out of Prohibition Era: "we don't sell wine sir, you can bring your own."
First day in Canada: "So where can we buy some? Is there a bar:
"No the bar is closed, you can buy some at reception"
Whispered tone to reception "I believe you sell wine"
She got the key and opened the cupboard behind the desk. (okay, I might be making up the bit about the key)
I chose the $20 one: "That'll be $25.01 with tax. First day in Canada so no small change. $20 notes and $5 notes. Offered $25: "Sorry sir, we need another cent". Offered $40: "Sorry sir we don't have change"
Paid by credit card. Weird or what?
(nice hotel though - will dine out on this story for ages)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelUniversel, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Universel Quebec, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Good day,

We thank you for your comments about your stay in our hotel. We really appreciate that your took the time to write them.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and that that room met your needs and expectations. We take good notes about all the things your wrote about the hotel restaurant, and we will everything we can in order to fix these things, because they are all important.

In hoping to welcome you again in our hotel soon

Thand you,

Hotel Universel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
9.6 km away
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
Hotel Ambassadeur Quebec
#81 of 104 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Quartier
Hotel Quartier
#87 of 104 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Plaza Quebec
Hotel Plaza Quebec
#49 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
10.4 km away
Auberge du Littoral
Auberge du Littoral
#27 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
3.2 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#92 of 104 in Quebec City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universel Quebec? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universel Quebec

Property: Hotel Universel Quebec
Address: 2300 Chemin Ste-foy, Quebec City, Quebec G1V 1S5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,889 - ₹ 10,082
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universel Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universel is located in front of the Laval University, aproximately a 15 minute drive to Old Quebec. For a warm and very relaxing getaway in Quebec, Hotel Universel offers you the best with its exotic Atrium and Scandinavian Spa. Our 160 stylish rooms and suites will please both business people and tourists alike, in their quest for commodity, comfort and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Universel Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Universel Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing