We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable, clean place with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Au Petit Hotel
Ranked #18 of 120 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wijk bij Duurstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very affordable, clean place with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We arrived late in the afternoon in Quebec not havinf any reservations, we drove around town trying to find a place in one of the hotels or B&B's suggested by our travelguide. Sine those places were all fully booked we just started te enter any hotel to ask if there were rooms available. Luckily this place had rooms available. The decoration is not really special, but is ha a nice old touch that goes well with the age of the building itself. Rooms were small but were kept very clean and the price was really cheap. I think we paid about $ 40 per night.

Room Tip: There are different kind of rooms in locatio and size. Just ask what is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twilight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    62
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
20
72
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Very clean, comfy bed, friendly helpful staff. Perfect location - hotel is located in the heart of old Quebec City close to many restaurants. Access to microwave and kettle.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti_K_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Sadly, I ignored the few negative reviews on this site because of the charming appeal of the photos of this hotel. The location turned out to be its only asset. However, about five hotels were adjacent, so any of those would have been better. We left after two nights for Hotel Bellevue which was leagues better.

Au Petit Hotel is not a hotel. It is not comfortable, and we did not have the basic necessities. It was more spartan than a hostel, a church lock-in, or even camping, in some regards. The beds were unbearably hard, and board-like, and the rooms dirty with dilapidated off-cast furniture without any style or thought. The upholstery was dirty. There were not enough blankets and the heat was too low in a cold October. We were not served any breakfast as advertised. The bath tub was about half the size of a small standard tub. The bathroom floor was very dirty. Dingy fluorescent light over a gold formica vanity and a gold formica headboard! made it worse. I have lived in the third world, traveled to Africa, stayed in hostels, and am willing to be flexible but we could not stomach this place. Staff were indifferent and hardly spoke to us. There is a language barrier as they do not speak French or English, and do not attempt to. There is no common room and no access to any food, ice, information or recommendations, logistics assistance with travel. Other hotels start at even just $113 per night. Save yourself our experience. Do not be lured by this curb appeal.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SmallWord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

This small hotel is wonderfully situated within the Old City. A short walk takes you to restaurants and shops, and a short walk in the opposite direction takes you to the Chateau and funicular. We were aware of the steep steps inside the hotel (thanks to previous reviews) but our request for a room on the first floor was attended to. The continental breakfast was basic but adequate, served in our room, and only $2.50. There was a microwave and jug outside our room on the landing.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solo_passenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

This was the cheapest hotel I could find in the old city, less than 2 blocks from the wall and just on the other side of the wall from the Parliament building. I reserved it and then later read some bad reviews, but there was nothing else available.

We were pleasantly surprised! The room was small, but clean and comfortable, and the lack of AC was not a problem even though it was very hot while we were there and we were on the 4th floor (up 3 flights of narrow stairs!) We left the window open and turned on the fans and it was fine. There was a small refrigerator, the bathroom was plenty big enough, and the beds were comfortable. The service was fine, friendly and polite and they spoke English and French, if not like natives, at least enough to do business. It was really conveniently located and a really good value, totally worth it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KdeBz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Hotel Clarendon
#37 of 104 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#55 of 104 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#9 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Petit Hotel

Property: Au Petit Hotel
Address: 3 Ruelle Des Ursulines, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3Y6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,709 - ₹ 11,925
Hotel Class:2 star — Au Petit Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Au Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Petit Hotel Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing