We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dissapointing but made the best of it.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dissapointing but made the best of it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Traveled to Quebec City by train for the 2012 Winter Carnival festivities and stayed at this Best Western Hotel. Location was ok as we could take the bus to where everything was taking place. Upon check-in for 4 days we were given probably one of the smallest rooms in the hotel. 10ft x 14ft is not very big when a king bed, TV and a dresser is placed. Not much of an upgrade especially when my Best Western level is at the top tier. The room was actually the smallest we have ever experienced with Best Western anywhere in the world....and we do travel a lot. Staff were apologetic and offered to move us the next day but once unpacked it is a real pain to move. I must add that I reserved and paid for two rooms for our accompanying friends...our room was quite a bit smaller than theirs. One day our room was missed and by 3:00pm when we came back to change, we had to call down to have room cleaned. At check out mistakes noted on our invoice which required our attention. As a complmentary appology we were offered dinner at the restaurant....excellent meal and the service was good....too bad the rest of our BW experience at this hotel was not of the same calibre. I did pass on our comments to the establishment....would I stay there again.....no way!

Room Tip: Take a look before you commit. There are some good size rooms available, sadly ours was well below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Plus City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and services that you were expecting. I investigated your comments and will take the necessary measures to ensure that the problems you experienced with the cleaning service and billing do not happen again. I am relieved to read the complimentary meal you were offered was up to your expectations. We invite travelers to note that our clerks will always be pleased to mark down your preferences concerning the room (size, view, floor, etc…) upon reservation and we will always do our best to meet these demands when availability allows us to. Since there is someone to answer your request in the hotel 24/7, do not hesitate to contact the front desk if anything can be done for you upon check in and during your stay. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western City Centre Quebec the next time you are in Québec City. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable one.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    554
    195
    59
    21
See reviews for
338
453
52
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were traveling to Quebec City on business/vacation. The 2nd night of a 3 night stay was paid for and we stayed at the Hilton. The other 2 nights we paid for so we decided to stay at the Best Western to save a few bucks. We were very pleasantly surprised! The rooms were large, modern and very clean. Our whole group agreed that the rooms were as good as the Hilton! I would also recommend the all you can eat breakfast buffet in their restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlesrob26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the American breakfast buffet of our in house restaurant the Settimo Cielo! An “a la carte” breakfast menu is also available. For dinner, the Settimo Cielo! offers a completely Italian inspired menu. Again, thank you for a most generous review. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Quebec City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorion
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We wanted a hotel at walking distance from the train station and also close to the old part od Quebec city . After consulting Tripadvisor.ca ,we decided to book with the Best Western Plus city Centre. We where impressed by the quick registring. We went to see our room but it was to close to the elevator so we asked to be placed else where and this was done in a few seconds without any arguement.

Our room was very clean and also the bathroom.The beds where very confortable. We did not hear any noise coming from an other room or from the people living on the same floor , even though the hotel was packed !

Altough we didn't have any meals at the hotel, the restaurant seemed very nice. But you can find any kind of food you disire around this hotel.

All in all we would stay there again and would recommend it to any one who wants a nice and clean hotel and peaceful hotel near all the attractions and at a fair price.

Room Tip: Higher floors away from elevator, ice and soda machines ,are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre Quebec. The perfect score you gave us is truly appreciated! I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and I am sincerely happy to know that you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Best Western in Quebec over Thanksgiving weekend.. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. It is about a 10 minute walk from the walled part of the city. We shared adjoining rooms with our children and we had plenty of room to spread out. I would highly recomend this hotel and can't wait to get black!

Room Tip: I would speak to the front desk staff and not book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DotRatBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful that you let us know of your satisfaction. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. It was a true pleasure to have you stay with us and I am sincerely happy to know that you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel last weekend on an organised tour with a group of au pairs and language students for 2 nights.

The hotel was a little difficult to navigate around in a bus in the winter weather, and there was nowhere for a bus to park safely/comfortably and unload/load luggage and passengers, so we had to park up the side street and traipse through the snow with our luggage.

However, this took little away from the hotel, which I thought was very nice.

We shared 4 to a room, and shared one of the basic rooms (which were very nice) on the 2nd floor. Some of the rooms are larger than others, and configured differently - ours was one of the larger rooms, with the 2 Queen-sized beds opposite each other. Very comfortable sized room for 4 people. The only downside to our room (232) was that it was next to the elevators, so was quite noisy with people coming and going at all times of night.

Bes were great - very comfortable memory foam. Nice pillows and having a duvet was great (compared to those cotton blankets, or nasty crinkly bedthrows some hotels have) and the sheets were really nice. I slept quite well!

Bathroom was clean, nice. Toiletries provided are the standard Best Western - Pantene Shampoo/Conditioner and Vaseline Body Lotion, however the bottles are tiny and they didn't really provide enough in the room (although you can ask for more). Towels were on the small side.

I didn't use the pool, but my friends did, and they enjoyed it. The elevator, however, seemed to have a lingering chlorine smell that was unpleasant.

Front desk staff were very friendly. They always greeted you in French, but when you said hello in English they spoke to you in fluent English, which made me happy.

Not really in good distance to walk into the main area of Quebec with the wall/quaint streets etc, especially in the winter since it is all uphill on the way there and downhill on the way back, but it was only an $8 cab ride.

Big plus was that they had Free Wi-Fi and it worked really well - also, unlike some hotel Wi-Fi that requests the password every time you turn your computer on, this one saved the password and connection for 2 weeks!

Within 5 mins of the hotel are a Starbucks, a couple of convienience stores, cafes and a pharmacy. There is, however, no Dunkin Donuts like google maps will tell you, so don't go looking for it.

Give the 'Thai Express' down the street a miss - we went there one night to eat and the food was average.

Overall a great hotel experience, and I would definately stay here again if I wasn't deadset on being able to walk everywhere and happy to pay for a cab. I would imagine that the walk into Vieux-Quebec in the spring/summer would be quite pleasant.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a standard room, ask for one where the beds are opposite each other, rather th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWCV-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Bonjour,
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western City Centre Quebec. I appreciate that you took the time to post them. The 5/5 you gave us for Service is sincerely appreciated. I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Unfortunately, it seems that Google Maps did not update the information concerning our former neighbor the Dunkin Donut which is closed for almost a year. Concerning the rooms that are close to the elevators, if you are a light sleeper, do not hesitate to indicate your preferences concerning the location of the room to our front desk clerks. Once again, I am grateful that you let us know of your satisfaction, it was a true pleasure to have you stay with us. We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in Quebec City and I am sure you will indeed enjoy walking around the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
8.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel l'Aristocrate
1.0 km away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 106 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel PUR Quebec
Hotel PUR Quebec
#46 of 106 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Quebec
1.2 km away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#47 of 106 in Quebec City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
10.1 km away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#19 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville
Address: 330 rue de la Couronne, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 6E6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#30 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#38 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,408 - ₹ 11,328
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 4-stars accommodation at this Quebec City hotel when visiting this charming and historic city. Located in the heart of the Quebec City business community and easily accessible from main highways, the Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville is an ideal choice for business or leisure travelers. Located a short distance from the Old City, cruise ship terminal and Plains of Abraham, this Quebec City hotel offers easy access to the Videotron Centre, the Museum of Civilization, the Quebec Convention Center and the Quebec Fine Arts Museum. Guests staying at the hotel will be close to all of the entertainment and major happening of Quebec City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus City Centre/Centre-Ville Hotel Quebec City
Best Western Quebec City
Quebec City Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS City Centre/Centre-Ville Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing