We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Stay in Quebec City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay in Quebec City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

My fiance and I took a trip to Quebec City in early July this year. We had a wonderful stay at L'Auberge Saint-Pierre for 4 nights.

Customer Service:
Throughout the entire stay, the front desk receptionist were very kind. They listened to our needs and helped us out when we needed. Even when there was a mistake on our bill at checkout (they charged us for 4 extra breakfasts), there was no question about it once I showed that breakfast was included through my booking on Expedia, and they ripped the paper up. They also gave us excellent recommendations for place to eat (which we always appreciate).

Breakfast:
Breakfast was wonderful. There was about a dozen options for breakfast. They all tasted fantastic. Even if your breakfast is not included, I would be tempted to eat here as it is a great price! There is also an option to have breakfast delivered to your room if you like.

Rooms:
Comfortable and quaint. They served the purpose that we needed for them. We were not in the rooms too often as were were off seeing the city.

Location:
Great location in the lower part of Quebec City. Very close to some very neat restaurants and pubs. We always felt safe and welcome.

We would not hesitate to return to this place if we needed a place to stay in Quebec City.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bisonbison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear bisonbison,

Thank you for your detailed review of our property.

We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed Le St-Pierre for what it is: an unpretentious and quaint property in an excellent location!

We are looking forward to welcome you and your Fiancé’s back for another great stay with us,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    277
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
228
642
24
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Our family of 4 stayed in one of the suites on the 4th floor for 2 nights. The location was great - we really found we preferred to be in the lower town where it was quieter and close to a lot of dining options and stores yet easy to get to the upper town for sightseeing.

The suite had enough room to comfortably fit both the pull-out sofa bed and an additional roll-away bed. The room configuration, although it was really one large room, used some room dividers that enabled us to read in bed after our girls had gone to sleep. . The only real negative for us was the quality of the extra bedding. The roll-away had a very thin mattress and no support in the middle, leaving my daughter sleeping on almost a V shaped bed. The sofabed was passable but not at all really comfortable. One of the reasons for selecting this hotel was that the accomodations would be big enough for a family yet unfortunately the quality of the extra beds suggests that perhaps this is really a hotel geared primarily towards couples.

The breakfast was a really positive feature of the hotel - very efficiently prepared and served and of good quality. We found the front desk employees to be well informed and helpful with information and directions to the places we wanted to see as well as restaurants we wanted to try.

The hotel is across the street from the Museum of Civilizations and was an excellent stop for a short touch of history and thought provoking exhibits. Check out the free Cirque du Soleil show while in town as well!

I'd recommend the hotel to any couple or a family with perhaps a small child who doesn't need much support on the extra bed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Dear dsa,

We would like first to thank you for sharing your review of our property.

We enjoyed the fact that our location, suite size and breakfast arrangements made a difference for you and your family.

About our roll-away beds, we are currently looking at replacing them with other models more suitable for heavy hotel usage.

We certainly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back for another great family escape in Québec City!

Au plaisir,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at L'Auberge Saint-Pierre on the recommendation of a friend - and were quite disappointed. The rooms were small and bare bones. We left the hotel at 9:30am on more than one morning - and our rooms were not cleaned until after 3:00pm - which we discovered on two separate days when we came back to the hotel to rest. The showers were mediocre - and the water was never hot. The most disappointing aspect of the hotel was the concierge Francine. We asked her for a suggestion of where to see REAL Quebec City - where people lived -real houses. We were sent to a distant shopping street - with no residential properties at all. It was a waste of an afternoon. We also asked the concierge to make a reservation for us at a nearby restaurant - only to show up at the restaurant and have no reservation waiting for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank m_loveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Dear m_loveman,
Thank you for submitting your review about our property. We were very sorry to read about your disappointment concerning your recent stay with us; I take that your experience was different from your friend who recommended our property.
Here are a few things I did want to clarify with you, hoping that you will be back, someday. First, please know that depending on the accommodation reserved room size can vary as we offer a few categories of room and suites; the least expensive rooms are also the smallest, the same goes about bathrooms. Also, should you require your housekeeping service to be before a certain hour, a simple request would provide it to you at the requested time even though you did get the service but later during the day: our housekeeping service is guaranteed prior to 4h00PM daily.
We have informed our engineering department about your hot water issue and proper action will be taken if necessary as it is the first time we received that specific comment.
About Francine, our Concierge, I am sorry that your experience with her services was not satisfactory. I am wondering if there was a misunderstanding… As a Clefs D’Or concierge, Francine, have to prove her knowledge, experience, savoir-vivre, etc. against very strict guidelines which she passes with Flying Colors every year.
I apologized for the fact that your stay was not satisfactory and will personally take care of you should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit; please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Sincerely,
Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed there during the independence holiday.
When I arrived to my room, I was disappointed to the small sized room.
But it disappeared soon.
When I needed some items and called the front desk, they responded to me instantly & got them within 1 minute.
The bathroom was compact but had convenient structure.
In addition, I was impressed by the next morning's breakfast which was served by the waiter and good quality food.
The one of best things is the location. From here you can access to the main attraction quickly on foot.
When I visit Quebec city, I'll necessarily stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlrhkddnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear dlrhkddr,

We appreciate the time you took to share your review about Le St-Pierre.

Our location, our Team as well as our services are certainly some of our best features!

As far as the room size, please know that we do offer three different categories of rooms from small to oversize for different needs and budgets.

To the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Located in the lower part of Old Quebec in the building that was the first location of the National Bank of Canada surrounded by art galleries in easy walking distance to many nice restaurants. Our third floor room on the St Pierre Street side was flooded with morning light.

Room Tip: Our third floor room on the St Pierre Street side was flooded with morning light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scornellier, Director of Sales at Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
Bonjour ggreider,

Thank you for sharing your comments on our property.
We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed our location as well as the great morning lights coming in to your room!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon,

Sébastien Cornellier
Director of sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.4 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
0.7 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#7 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 104 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 104 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive

Property: Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive
Address: 79, rue Saint Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#10 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,598 - ₹ 16,889
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is no small wonder that Le Saint Pierre is one of Quebec City’s most sought-after properties. The combined beauty and elegance of its 200 year-old façade with the natural warmth of its interior with parquet flooring and exposed stone and brick walls is, quite simply, beautiful.Fine hotel elegance and incomparable, intimate Old Quebec charm make our 31 rooms and 10 Suites a winning combination for all our guests.Cozy, warm, dynamic atmosphere as well as complimentary breakfast and Internet access await you at Le Saint Pierre, Auberge Distinctive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Saint-Pierre Hotel Quebec City
Auberge Saint Pierre Quebec
Auberge St Pierre
Le Saint-Pierre Auberge Distinctive Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing