We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“French Helpful, but Not Required” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Capitole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Capitole
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“French Helpful, but Not Required”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2006

Just stayed there over Oct. 13-15 2006. I travel almost every week so I have a pretty good feel for hotels. This was my first trip to the "mysterious" French Canada. After a single visit, I can tell you unequivocally that this is the place to stay in Quebec City. It is a modern and vibrant place that is walking distance (and a beautiful walk at that!) to all attractions. It is truly in the heart of the city. I enthusiastically recommend this to all-- business travelers and couples.

  • Liked — Location and Hotel Style
  • Disliked — They aren't much a full service hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Just enjoy!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sheen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    57
    21
    10
    1
See reviews for
13
92
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2006

I had an excellent experience at the Hotel Capitole. I travel 6-8 months of the year for business, internationally and US domestic, and I crave good non-business hotels with a bit of character. This is definitely one of the nicer "non-business" hotels I've found. Very comfortable, spacious room, nice jacuzzi tub, funkily decorated. The staff were very helpful and forgiving of my awful French. Location is ideal, close to lots of good restaurants and entertainment and an easy walk to the Chateau and fort. The attached restaurant was also pretty good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Room, ambiance
  • Disliked — Not ideal for business travelers, but still functional
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ofarreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2006

Great location on Rue Saint-Jean near shopping and restaurants. Just a short walk to all attractions. Very nice and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and good breakfast at the restaurant. Valet parking is a little pricey at $17 plus taxes a day.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2005

Hotel Capitole shares space with a theatre and jazz bar and is literally just steps away from Saint Jean in Vieux-Québec (Old Quebec).

High thread-count bed sheets, plush pillows, a nice bathroom with great complimentary products (Gilchrist & Soames of the UK) and a powerful showerhead made the stay comfortable, comfortable, comfortable.

One thing that might deter considering guests: smokey rooms...but hey, this again, is Quebec, n'est-ce pas?

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobalEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2003

If you like the little details that make a hotel stay special, you'll appreciate the "boutique-ness" of Le Capitole. On the upside, the location is great; 5 mins from Via Rail, a few steps from the St. Jean gate of the old city, across the street from a great steak house as well as the theatre on the premises.The staff were friendly, biligual and attentive. The room/hotel was spotless and decorated in a retro art deco style. We had one dinner at the inhouse restaurant - Il Teatro, food was good and service great. The rooms although small did have some nice decor and little details; well stocked honour bar, in room coffee with creamers stocked in fridge, CD player, tv with VCR (movies available for free at the front desk, however, english titles are limited) Down duvet and pillows, phone in bathroom, jacuzzi tub, terry robe, although only one, q-tips and toiletries supplied. As far as the downside...the bed was horrific! I woke up with a sore back every morning and ended up having to sleep sitting up against the head board. The bed has no box spring, just a mattress on a flat board and our mattress was in dire need of replacement. Seriously, if you want people to come back then you have to invest in a good pillow top mattress!The jacuzzi was nice, but the jets did little to massage, more noise than anything.

Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Palace Royal
Hotel Palace Royal
#33 of 106 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 106 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
Quebec City Marriott Downtown
#24 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 106 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Clarendon
Hotel Clarendon
#37 of 106 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Capitole? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Capitole

Property: Hotel du Capitole
Address: 972 rue Saint-Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1R5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,536 - ₹ 13,225
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel du Capitole 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel du Capitole, in the heart of Old Quebec! This small four-star 40 room hotel will charm you with its warm and personalized hospitality. At L'Hotel du Capitole, we always roll out the red carpet to pamper our guests with special attention. Discover the warm ambience of our hotel located in the heart of Old Quebec. Whether for a romantic stay or for a business meeting, you will be delighted by our wide selection of packages, which include lodging, meals and dinner shows. Small and large meeting halls are also available for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel du Capitole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Capitole De Quebec Hotel Quebec City
Hotel Capitole De Quebec City
Hotel Du Capitole Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing