We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Still a great Place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #6 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Still a great Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here in 2005 and again two weeks ago. Still a great hotel and very wonderful staff--especially the parking valets and Concierge ladies. They made all meal and tour reservations, drew maps and the parking valetys always made sure our 12 passenger van was ready for us--not an easy task in the cramped parking area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    158
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
120
641
25
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Pardon the delay in reporting. We stayed here last summer, but I wanted to write a review (however belatedly) because of the greatness of this hotel. Very spacious rooms, extremely comfortable beds, and superb service. As the French say, "Ca vaut la peine." It's not cheap, but more than worth the cost.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlieworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvieD492, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Pardon the delay in responding. I read your Magnifique comment before but reviewing it again, I thought you might want to know that our rates go lower in the low season and, our woodburning fireplace is on and hot chocolate is served...

We hope to see you again soon. Warmly,

Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel has recently been updated and the rooms, service, staff were wonderful.
The morning breakfast, included, was more than expected. This definitely added to our Quebec experience...
Location allowed you to walk everywhere...many good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: We were not facing the river, but high enough to get a great city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank frequenttravelers68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The hotel was perfect (once we found it!). It was on a small side street that we kept missing. It was simple, but refined. There were no children, just adults staying, so it was very quiet and serene. Their free breakfast was very good and there was plenty to eat, all very fresh and healthful - except for the chocolate croissants(!) - with many choices. You can sit outdoors on a patio and eat, or relax in the big comfortable lobby. They left us a package of two kinds of jams for a 25th anniversary gift. They served the same ones at breakfast and they were so good! The pear, vanilla and caramel jam especially. The room was big, but simple. There was a mini bar and snacks, all very expensive, but there was plenty of room in the fridge for my own food and drinks. The bathroom had a very large soaking tub and separate shower stall, and a built in night light - finally a smart hotel! - I always travel with my own. We discovered all the free bottled water we wanted in the fitness room. There is fresh fruit and a coffee/cappachino/tea maker 24 hours in the lobby. The staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. They gave us all the maps and directions we needed to see all the sights outside the city. The only thing I would have changed is to get a room on the other side for a river view rather than a city view.
There is no restarant in the hotel but there are 6 cafe/restaurants, a Subway shop, right across the street. The valet parking is $21 a day, we had no issue with that, it was worth it. There is an automated city bicycle rental station right outside the parking lot. We were able to walk to everything in the lower city from the hotel.
We had a huge, comfortable king sized bed with down comforter and pillows. The bedding and towels were all very new and soft. Also a flat screen TV and Bose radio-CD player-alarm clock. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Premadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Excellent location but this area gets busy with tourists and noisy due to construction works. You really feel welcome in this intimate setting and everybody is nice and discreet at same time. Rooms are really nice and great for extended stay. I will return there on future couples trips. No restaurant in this hotel but great selection just steps away. More suited to pleasure trips than biz.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beaulije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeGermainDominion, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. However, we are very surprised that you wrote about the noise due to construction works because we don't have any around the hotel. It's true that we have a lot of road repairs like most cities during summer time, but we didn't received any complaint from guests because it's still very quiet in our area. We are located in the lower town, which is less touristic than the upper town and it's a great period to visit us. We hope to see you back again, for leisure or business.
Lise
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#17 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
0.8 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.4 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,728 - ₹ 23,118
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing