We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's an ok hotel, nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“it's an ok hotel, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is an ok hotel, the rooms were nice but for the money I was expecting more, I found the parking too expensive,20$ a day and this is besides the price you paid for your room, is a bit pricey. Besides that, when you walk in the lobby, there's stains on the carpet, it needs to be upgraded. The breakfast in the morning which is included in the room price was ok, there was a good selection of food and beverage but I didn't like the way the breakfast area was set up, it's big tables which accommodates several people, so basically you have to sit with people you don't really know.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cuty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie D, General Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear guest, I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations and thank you very much for your comments. I have to say that we get a lot of compliments for the warm set up of the lobby and breakfast in the morning. You are right, we have large communal tables but also more intimate seating. Breakfast can also be delivered to your room if you prefer privacy. As far as parking, we are located in an area where parking space is very limited and we feel very lucky to have some. We also offer valet assistance to make sure it remains available to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    159
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
121
642
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I absolutely love this hotel. We stayed her for 1 night in April 2011 and loved it so much that we are going back next weekend for another romantic night away. The front desk staff are wonderful and very helpful. They have menus of many of the areas restaurants to help you choose where to eat and will take care of your reservations for you.

The lobby: The fireplace is enormous and very welcoming. We relaxed with a coffee in front of this fireplace for a long time.

The room: Loved all the details and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The continentail breakfast: AMAZING! More than enough food and everything was delicious. We still talk about the croissants and the chocolatine to this day.

The location: For us it is perfect. A little walk away from the main tourist part but we love that its a short walk to our favourite dinner spot: Le Charbon steakhouse.

Stay at this hotel when you are in Quebec city and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I prefer the Vintage Modern rooms because of the layout and the flat screen tvs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeGermainDominion, Manager at Hotel Le Germain Quebec, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you very much, we love to read those kind of comments and we are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us ! Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Returned here for the second year in a row and love this hotel. Everything about it is fantastic. Breakfast was wonderful, the help yourself coffee and tea in the lobby lounge was wonderful after a day in the cold exploring. Staff are great and very helpful. Rooms are large, clean and beautifully designed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharlo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel Le Germain-Dominion never disappoints! It is a gracious and lovely small hotel, away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas of Quebec. Breakfast is generous and delicious. The rooms are wonderfully contemporary with lovely linens and furniture - a chocolate on your turned-down bed at night and a weather forecast card on the night table add a special touch. The 24-hour availability of the cappuccino/espresso machine in the lobby, along with the fireplace and comfy furniture make it so inviting and a delightful after a day of exploring or any time. We give it an A+ and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrollMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My Partner & I visited Quebec for Carnaval and wanted a small hotel experience. This hotel fit the bill and while in the Lower Town and out of the way of the main Carnaval events on the Plains of Abraham, the location was convenient to restaurants and we enjoyed the walks through the Lower Town.

Veronique, the concierge was extremely helpful on several occasions, providing information about where to get the best vantage point to see the canoe races (from the docked Quebec-Levis ferry car deck) and the night parade in Charlebourg; to restaurant recommendations (Patricarche: Trilogies from the Land) and arranging our rental car for trips to the Ice Hotel (discounted tickets charged to our room), Ste. Anne-de-Beaupre and Montmorency Falls.

The staff were friendly and professional and when my French failed me, were happy to continue on in English or a mix of both! Slippers for my partner and the offer of a drink while I waited in the lounge were the small touches which made the stay enjoyable and made one feel at ease.

Definitely to be repeated.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 804 which had a city view -- really faced the cliff a street away, but had a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,909 reviews
0.8 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
#1 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel 71
Hotel 71
#10 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Priori
Hotel Le Priori
#6 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Quebec? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Quebec

Property: Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Address: 126, rue Saint-Pierre, Quebec City, Quebec G1K 4A8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#9 Family Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,355 - ₹ 22,586
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Quebec 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The neighbourhood that saw the birth of Quebec. The hotel was inaugurated in 1997 in the former office building of Dominion Fish & Fruit Limited, erected in 1912, and enjoys an enviable location on Saint-Pierre Street in the heart of Quebec City's historic Old Port district. The hotel possesses the elegance, comfort and refinement that are distinctive to all Le Germain Boutique-Hotels. Although completely renovated, it still exudes the charm of yesteryear, thanks to efforts to preserve its historic character. Somehow, the hotel has a soul, and it's this in particular that attracts guests. Relaxing Comfort In Serene Surroundings. The rooms, where meticulous attention to detail reigns, each deliver a slice of history. Guests will nevertheless find that the design and amenities have a modern feel, allowing them to fully enjoy a relaxing oasis in the heart of a neighbourhood as picturesque as it is lively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominion 1912 Hotel
Dominion 1912 Quebec City
Hotel Le Germain Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing