We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable way to spend a few hours” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee national des beaux-arts du Quebec (MNBAQ)

Musee national des beaux-arts du Quebec (MNBAQ)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 31.61*
and up
Quebec City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #18 of 211 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Make known, promote and preserve Quebec art of all periods.
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband (who is not a museum lover) and I both thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this museum! Our favorite sections were the abstract arts and the Inuit arts display. The Inuit carvings were so intricate and delicate. And the best part was that it was free!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank knk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    177
    53
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A view into Quebecois art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We went to the museum on the recommendation of other trip advisor reviews. A nice way to spend a couple of hours and get a view into the art of Quebec. No Monets, Picassos, etc but that's ok.

The building itself is very interesting itself - half of the galleries are in an old prison. And, hey, visiting the permanent collection is free! Merci Quebec!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BobG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful overview of Quebecois artists”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The non-charge areas gave us a definite feel for Quebecois art history, which is time-spanning and diverse. We could move into our day from there with our wallets intact and smiles on our faces.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Set in the Parc des Champs-de-Bataille, this gallery is one not to miss if you are visiting Quebec City. The exhibitions are intelligently curated, some international in orientation, others with a focus on Canada/Quebec. The buildings and exhibition galleries are themselves architecturally interesting and provide a tranquil space to wile away a couple of hours. We caught a brilliant exhibition of the work of photographer Edward Steichen and regretted missing the new exhibition on fashion and appearance in Quebec art opening the next day. Of particular note was the impressive Museum shop. If planning a trip to Quebec City it is worth checking beforehand to see what exhibitions are offer. As the gallery is away from the centre of touristic attractions, you may wish to take a taxi. There is a free taxi phone in the foyer for your return journey.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrFoxNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Feed your spirit and your stomach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We visit this museum at least once a year, specially when they have an exhibition of european masters works. Of course, we cannot compare it with famous great foreign museums, but we always enjoy our visit because of the practical size of the museum and the possibility of seeing different artists works at every visit, plus the magnificient view on the Saint-Laurence river and the excellent meal we always have at the museum restaurant.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank RALF013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee national des beaux-arts du Quebec (MNBAQ) also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Musee national des beaux-arts du Quebec (MNBAQ)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing