We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Battlefields Park (Parc des Champs-de-Bataille)
Ranked #28 of 218 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bucolic park includes the Plains of Abraham, where the decisive battle that led to British control of Quebec took place.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Nice place to spend you day, although I didn't have time to visit the whole park, I did visit the information centre with the museum and it was a wonderful experience

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Santiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    149
    26
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL, SERENE PARK”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This beautiful park, next to the old city is well worth a detour. We visited it in the winter and had the pleasure to go snowshoeing at night with Amedee, an excursion organized by the Maison de la Decouverte in the parc. ( Melanie was incredibly professional and lovely: she included us in the group, even though we registered a little late)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yjg805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carp, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Carnivale sites”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Although very cold we all had a great time walking this area enjoying the Carnivale events - ice sculptures/ horse races etc

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mardi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like any other large urban park... but with a touch more.”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Once the site of a famous battle, the Plains of Abraham have evolved into a nice urban park 250 years later. Perched up a cliff overlooking the St Lawrence River, it's a great place for a walk, a run, a picnic, a pickup game of soccer, or a quiet read. And, of course, the views.

Those looking for history in the park, however, might end up slightly disappointed. There are certainly historical pieces (towers, cannons, etc) here and there, but for the most part it's just a large park on top of a nice hill. Go here for the views over the St Lawrence.

My recommendation: It's a nice way to spend a few hours. More if you bring something to do beyond wandering. It's not so large that you can't see most of it in a few hours.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MrChimpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Peace in the middle of the city”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Gorgeous park with huge historical significance. Amazing cross country trails. I wish I had more time to explore - I'm sure there is somewhere to rent skis from. Even in the cold we went for a lovely walk to see the river. Lots of street parking but make sure you feed the meter.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank natthefiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Battlefields Park (Parc des Champs-de-Bataille) also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Battlefields Park (Parc des Champs-de-Bataille)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing