We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
162
37
10
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
37
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscold meatsmaid service isold cityyogurthard boiled eggscharming b bcomfortable bedseuropean stylewithin easy walking distanceplenty of hot waterquiet streetbreakfast is servedfloor roomromantic getawaylong weekendrue stquebec
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Castel d Amerique Francaiseis a very clean and well maintained 5 bedroom bed & breakfast located in a quiet section of Historic Quebec.Your are however only blocks away from many fine restaurants, local attractions and views of the Saint Lawrence River. Breakfast is served in the dining room; fresh fruits, soft & hard cheeses,bagels & croissants,hard boiled eggs, yogurts, etc.

Our 1st floor room was large, clean and very French with numerous antiques and windows overlooking the street. The bathroom was very adequate with plenty of hot water. Maid service is offered upon request. Jolanta was very willing and helpful in assisting us in finding the areas and places we wanted to to visit.

Room Tip: no elevator - select a lower floor Radisson room, one flight up
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Love this place! Gracious Jolanta runs this Old Quebec town home with delightful warmth and style. Spacious rooms with beamed ceilings, exposed brick walls, and period furniture, some overlooking historic Rue St. Ursule, have old-world charm, but Jolanta's collection of bold, contemporary art makes them feel fresh and lively. Breakfast is a European-style treat--you can help yourself to a wide selection of breads, cheeses, cold meats, baked goods, cereals, yogurts with all the toppings, and the BEST COFFEE EVER. We were a group of nine, spending a long weekend in the city, but this little hotel would also be ideal for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EJFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

A hidden marvel. The hostess is extremely gracious, the breakfast is fabulous with cereal, fruit, bread, cheese, ham a great start to the day. The location is fantastic within easy walking distance of all the highlights of the old city. The room was very comfortable, and full of artwork and antiques which gives the whole building a real touch of class, there is something interesting to see wherever you look. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anybody and I would certainly return there anytime I'd find myself in Quebec. I had a car so had to park at a local car park, it was only five minutes walk from the B&B which was not a problem, it cost just over 20 dollars a night to park. As I said the Castel is a magical place to stay when experiencing the charm and culture of old Quebec which to me is a must stop for anybody who is visiting Eastern Canada.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richardkeane2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Jolanta is the superb hostess, making you feel welcome in advance of your arrival. The breakfast is vast and with special cakes and cheeses and home cooked ham. She encourages you to see places and try restaurants beyond the usual guidebook fare. We had a lovely view of the Frontenac, with kitchenette and a terrace as well as a beautifully attired spacious room. The heat and ample bath were perfect which is not always so in restored houses. I would not think of staying elsewhere. The avenue is easy to access for loading and unloading, parking nearby and you are walking in minutes to the heart of old Quebec or to the Plains of Abraham. Not a sound from the streets at a festive time of the year. The other guests were nice people too. The art that pervades the house is fascinating.

Room Tip: If stairs are okay, go to the top, loved the Chamber Cartier , each has a distinctive decor.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Jen and I had a great time at Castel d'Amerique! It is an extremely charming place. The location was great for us to explore the city. It's on a quiet side street, but a very short walk to interesting spots. The hostess was very sweet. Parking was a challenge because we had to park a little ways away in a garage, but this wasn't a big deal. The room itself was large, clean, and well decorated. The breakfasts were great as well, especially the cakes - mmm. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews