We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Chez Marie-Claire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Marie-Claire
Ranked #19 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed here in July for 5 nights during the summer festival. Our room was spacious, with 2 queen beds, private bath, wifi, and a/c. The a/c was a life saver as it gets humid in the summer. During the festival the sound from the bands can carry so being able to close the window and not swelter, was nice. It is centrally located so we were able to go out and back as we pleased. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The free Cirque du Soleil show was within 15 mins walking. The breakfasts were very tasty and filling, service was friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    46
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
77
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

After booking what we thought was a room at Chez Hubert, we turned up at the door and the hostess advised us that work was being done and that she had organised a room 2 doors down at Chez Marie-Claire (she said it was the same management). Whilst initially taken aback, I didn't mind so much once I saw the room as it was super spacious with high ceilings and had a king bed. The bathroom was a feature, you could tell that it was new and had a luxurious feel to it.

Being on the ground floor we did hear the footsteps of the people above us for a little while in the evening but other than that slept well.

The breakfast was lovely - french toast one morning and bacon and eggs the next.

It would have been nice to be able to make tea or coffee either in the room or the lounge. Overall a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor room has a sparkling new bathroom and king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seaswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2011

A great charming bed and breakfast in the beautiful old city of Quebec.
The owner is very personable, and so very helpful. We visited with her over breakfast, and talked about many corners of the world.
Parking is available behind the building.
The rooms are big.very clean and comfortable. A nice living room and dining room.
We were here near Christmas, and the decorations are splendid. Very tasteful.
I look forward to coming back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksaccal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Chez Marie-Claire for 2 nights to explore Old Quebec City. The location of this B&B is fantastic - it is within Old Quebec City so you're steps away from everything, and you can even come back to get a sweater or take a nap.

Our room was clean but quite small - enough for the bed and a dresser. We had brought duffel bags but there would be no way for someone with luggage to open it up. Our window view faced Rue Ste-Ursule and it was a nice view with minimal street noise. However, the floorboards creaked a lot and we were able to hear other people's conversations through the walls if they were talking loudly.

Our private washroom was just outside our room - and also the biggest downside of our stay. It was a very small and narrow bathroom (smaller and narrower than the one in the pictures), that requires you to step up. The shower and sink space is impossibly small; it was difficult trying to shower without bumping into the walls. Hopefully you are able to get the room with the bigger bathroom like the one in the picture!

The hostesses we had were extremely nice - and thankfully for us, very fluent in English. We had a wonderful hot breakfast each morning - eggs/bacon/waffles. There was always fresh fruit, bread, assorted spreads/jams and coffee available with the hot breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to inquire about the room with the bigger washroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hailo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The B&B is always very welcoming. We were on the second floor in a room with two queen beds, ensuite bathroom, air conditioner and TV. We were extremely comfortable spending 3 days in the room. The breakfast includes fruit, buns, confitures, cold meats and a hot dish is added, The hot dish is different every day. We started the day contented. The sitting room was a lovely area to relax in and catch-up on the news on the TV or read.
The location is great for seeing everything in the old city and out on the Plains of Abraham. Parking was included in the price and was behind the B&B rather than in the City Hall Garage that many B&B's use.

Room Tip: Make sure you know if the bathroom is in the room or has to be entered in the hall outside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 102 in Quebec City
4,397 reviews
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 102 in Quebec City
1,198 reviews
Downtown Quebec City
Hotel Acadia
Hotel Acadia
#53 of 102 in Quebec City
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 102 in Quebec City
564 reviews
Hotel Clarendon
#36 of 102 in Quebec City
1,439 reviews
Auberge Place D'Armes
#10 of 102 in Quebec City
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Marie-Claire? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Marie-Claire

Property: Chez Marie-Claire
Address: 62 rue Ste-Ursule, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,274 - ₹ 9,437
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Marie-Claire 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Old Quebec! Welcome to the beautiful Old City! Two minutes from Château Frontenac, the greenery of the Plains of Abraham, cafes, shops, etc. Find yourself in a peaceful place, with a large comfortable room, with a private bathroom available. Complete breakfast Private bathroom Parking included Start you day with a generous breakfast in a warm, relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Marie-Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Marie-Claire Hotel Quebec City
Chez Marie-Claire Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing