We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, and great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loft Jacques-Cartier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Loft Jacques-Cartier
Berkeley, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, and great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

I've stayed seven times, for one to two weeks each stay. The comments below apply to apartments #1 and #2, as I'm not familiar with the newer apartments.

The apartments are well-designed and comfortable, very clean on arrival, and easy to keep clean. The photos and videos on the Loft Jacques-Cartier website are accurate, though the videos give a better impression of the room layouts, decor, and furniture. Annoyingly, I sleep better there than at home.

Loft Jacques-Cartier is located on a tree-lined street in a walking neighborhood, one block northeast of beautiful Parc Lafontaine. Within two blocks is a small convenience store, a bank, a self-service laundry, some small restaurants, several bus stops, and a public bike station (BIXI). About four blocks away is Avenue du Mont Royal, loaded with restaurants and shops, and an all-night grocery store.

The proprietors, Mio and Normand, are friendly and helpful, yet never intrusive.

In all seven visits, I've encountered only one problem -- on the first visit -- involving intermittent Wi-Fi connectivity, which may have been the fault of my laptop. Nonetheless, the next day Normand appeared with tools in hand, and quickly provided a wired Ethernet connection!

I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trimhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Wonderful place to stay. Very cozy and modern apt, near la fontaine park and mont royal street! We recommend it!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sefarebsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We spent a week in one of their 3rd-floor apartments on vacation and it was lovely. The apartment was comfortable, clean, and very well decorated. The furniture was in excellent shape and very comfortable and gave us ideas for decorating our own apartment.
The location is fabulous. The Parc LaFontaine, one block over, is gorgeous, and Laurier and St Denis were within walking distance and had so much to offer.
The owner was also very polite and prompt when dealing with any of our requests.

I look forward to coming back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdirondackRails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

this loft was absolutely stunning! my boyfriend and i stayed in apartment A for two nights from dec31-jan2 and loved every second of it.
i booked it because i thought it looked incredible based on the pictures on the loft jacques cartier website but it was even better in person! it was a lot bigger than i had expected!
the kitchen was equipped with everything needed from a toaster oven to a can opener.
the whole apartment had a european feel, especially the bathroom.
the bedroom is what i enjoyed the most about the apartment. i really liked the whole feel of the room and how the bed was so low to the ground. the remote control fan was nice too.
i loved how every light in the apartment had dimmers so that it was never too light or too dark.
the dvd player was a definite plus so that we could watch curb your enthusiasm during our down time.
the loft is only a few minutes away from the nearest SAQ and restaurants and a grocery store is about a minutes walk away.
i defintley enjoyed myself while staying at this place and will defintiley be going back the next time that i go to montreal!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pam3525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Traveled with my boyfriend and we loved this place. We stayed in Apartment 3, which is new and on the third floor. It will be tough for people with low mobility because there are some stairs to climb. Remember to request for apartment on ground floor if you are physically restricted. However, staying at the 3rd floor, there is no street noise at all like what was mentioned on the other review.

The owners are very friendly. On top of that, they are so sweet to have lots of travel guides and bus time schedule placed on the counter. There is also an area map telling where you can find bank, laundry, pharmacy, etc.

The location was wonderful. Getting to downtown only took us 10-15 mins of driving. The metro and bike share station are also within walking distance. Mont Royal is a main street with everything you need and very close by. We didn't have a chance to try the bike share but would think that's a very cool way to check out Montreal.

Oh, the apartment itself is SO cozy. It's clean, tidy, well decorated. It feels like you are borrowing a very well kept apartment from your friend. Me and my boyfriend even wish to make our future home similar to it. Privacy level is also very high. If I really need to pick on 1 thing, I would say the curtain in the bedroom does not block light very well in the morning.

It was a nice stay and would really recommend it. If everybody in Montreal live like this, I truly envy them.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayochuchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'Institut
Hotel de l'Institut
#26 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#50 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft Jacques-Cartier? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft Jacques-Cartier

Property: Loft Jacques-Cartier
Address: 4046 Cartier | h2k4g4, Montreal, Quebec H2K 4G4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,769 - ₹ 17,844
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Loft Jacques-Cartier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOFT JACQUES CARTIER APARTMENTS BEAUTIFUL HOMEAWAY FROM HOME IN THE AMAZING SPOT THE PLATEAU Our Beautiful apartments PERFECTLY LOCATED on the peaceful Cartier street between Sherbrooke & Rachel streets in the HEART OF PLATEAU MONT ROYAL - THE MOST DYNAMIC, VIBRANT DISTRICT IN MONTREAL: the best window to view the real Montreal. Close to everything: Stone's throw away from terrific Lafontaine park, this majestic green space in the heart of the city is a favourite with plateau residents who come to the park to picnic enjoy a game of Petanque ( law bowls), basketball, tennis or baseball or simply to relax in the shade of its trees. The artificial pond allows visitors to observe a wide range of bird species throughout the summer season. In winter the pond is transformed into a skating rink, with music An outdoor theatre, the Theatre de Verdure, presents events all summer long. A few steps away, the cultural bistro Espace Lafontaine presents exhibitions by local artists,original shows and offers a menu of tapas, snacks, light meals to be enjoyed indoors or on the patio. Only walking distance : From the most dynamic commercial arteries such as Mont-Royal avenue , Duluth, St Denis, Laurier streets, St- Laurent avenue where are restaurants, fancy shopping, bistro and terraces and some more waiting for enjoyment. 10 minutes from the aprtment downtown where all major attraction such as old Montreal and old port , all festivals like Jazz festival, Just for laughs comedy & Francophile festivals , Fireworks festival, High light festival UQAM and MGill university. Near also from Montreal Formula 1, La Ronde (amusement park), Casino, Olympic stadium, botanical garden, biodome, Insectarium and so much more. At your doorstep from the apartments, you can find first primary service super market,grocery stores, convenience, store, rent bike , small shops, Bakery,cafes, restaurants, laundramate, bus station, drugstore, hospital and bank . THIS AREA IS VERY WELL SERVED BY PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION Taxi stand on the corner Bus station (two steps from the apartments) Subways Papineau & Sherbrooke (15-20 minutes) Rent bike with Montreal's new public bike And of course Private parking 25 minutes from the airport (Montreal Trudeau) We offer you a magnificent apartments entirely renovated, completely furnished & equipped with all the comfort which make a home. In our modern & urban apartments you'll find: Beautiful master bedroom with queen size bed with ceiling fan Living room with sofa bed . Dinning room Open concept kitchen (cooking utensils provided) European-Style bathroom with glass shower and heated floor Quality bedding and towels included Air conditioner Internet access, cable T.V, D.V.D player Alarm clock Hair dryer, iron and ironing board For baby upon request: High chair, Playpen Bed linen and Towels Private Parking provided Balcony, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Loft Jacques-Cartier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing