We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service - crap beer”

Jack Saloon Old-Montreal
Ranked #1,750 of 7,154 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican, Canadian
Neighbourhood: Ville-Marie
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Ville-Marie
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Very excited to visit this place but what a let down . The server was arrogant and the beer very poor .
Not worthy of a visit ... Much nicer places close by

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank JLL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2015

We had the best ever pulled pork nachos and beer! The live music also made for an amazing visit! The cool decor also made our visit that much more special. Would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Bailey5763
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

We ordered three different burgers and three different side dishes. All were very good. The crispy cream donut burger was very unique and delicious. Onions rings, Mac and cheese and fries were all much better than expected in this high tourist area. Will be back for sure and hope to take in the live music next time.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank Westscotian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Visiting Old Montreal for the first time, we were strolling through the streets deciding where we would have dinner. We heard the live music coming from Jack"s Saloon and decided to dine there.

Warning - it is VERY loud when live music is playing. We were seated near the back of the restaurant and still had to yell at our server in order to be heard. She was very accommodating, explaining items on the menu that we (with limited French) did not understand.

We settled on burger and fries which was a great choice. The burger was huge and probably could have fed two. It did take a long time for our food to arrive, but overall we were quite satisfied with the experience.

Date of visit: April 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LuvsToShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2015

This place is very nice for its ambiance and to go for a drink. However food is not very good...it is very basic. They serve burgers by themselves, you have to buy your side dish apart from it, so at the end it comes to 25 $ for just a basic burger and fries! The flavours and kind of food is very "USA style", not surprising because this restaurant concept comes from the US...For example, do not expect real crispy bacon in your burger because it will be very thick and uncooked bacon.

I would not recommend this place as there are plenty of nice place to eat around, and in the same style, I would recommend more a place like Gaspard Tavern with a nice terasse on the street or on the roof top.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank salsaSISI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Jack Saloon Old-Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Jack Saloon Old-Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing