We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Le Grain De Sel - CLOSED

Restaurant Le Grain De Sel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I expected a lot given the reviews. I was underwhelmed. I thought the food was average. I was there less than 10 days ago and I can't remember what I had. I guess unremarkable is a good way to sum it up. Good service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank jnb2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    37
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First trip to Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our first trip to Montreal and we had a great meal at Le Grain De Sel! It is a short cab ride there but well worth it. The staff was exceptional including the chef that stopped by our table. We ordered the a bottle of wine, Wild Mushroom Ravioli and the Beef Short Ribs and they were both amazing! Then, as if we weren't stuffed enough, we ordered dessert that the waiter so artfully drew out the choices on our table paper:) We had the Sugar Pie and Blueberry Cake which were delish!! And all for a very reasonable price! Highly recommend!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank MichelleV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but worth the cab ride?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was my first time in Montreal & we stayed in Old Montreal near the Port. While I enjoyed the food (the bread probably the most), the menu was small & the location not the easiest to get to. Our cab was about 14 Canadian dollars not the most expensive cab ride I have ever taken but given all the restaurants within walking distance of our hotel, I'm not sure I would return. However, very reasonably priced wines & the waitress hand writes/draws the dessert options directly onto your table, which was very cute

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahfinn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

What a delighful experience we had here for our final dinner in Montreal. This restaurant is located a few blocks from the village. The staff were all very friendly including the Chef whom visited tables. We started with the Wild Boar and Black Pudding both were delicious. For dinner we had the Smoked organic Pork Shoulder and the Veal Spider Steak again both delicious. I would definitely recommend this place and would return in a heartbeat next time in Montreal. Thumbs Up!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mattha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A place to discover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is a great little restaurant a bit outside the touristic downtown area, but easily reachable by subway (Papineau station, and a 5-min walk). Food is sublime: I had the mushroom ravioli, which was by far the best pasta in my life! Staff is very professionnal and friendly, and prices are reasonable, especially if you go for lunch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Puzzpouding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le Grain De Sel also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing