We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Relais Lyonnais
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ruby Foo's(Montreal)
US$ 196
US$ 165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 226
US$ 205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 224
US$ 211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 493
US$ 456
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 215
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 322
US$ 313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 337
US$ 326
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 258
US$ 250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 366
US$ 313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
301
90
16
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
90
16
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslatin quarterrue st denisthird floorsmall hotelnespresso machinerain showerreplenished dailylively streetboutique hotelno elevatorsitting roomold montrealcroissantsgreat boutiqueevery morningbars and restaurantsgreat shower
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Room was small, but well designed, very clean, and an effective use of space.
Bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.
Rainfall shower in the bathroom was fantastic.
Nespresso machine was a nice touch and just like home.

Location was great - we got in around dinner time on a Friday night after a long drive up and it was fabulous to have a ton of dinner options within a few steps. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to old Montreal and the Metro is literally a few steps away.

Breakfast at the cafe downstairs was nicely sized and quite tasty.

The down sides -

No one was ever at the front desk. When we arrived to check in, someone from the cafe had to come up to help us out. When we went to check out, no one was there and one of the housekeeping staff helped us. We received the coupon for breakfast for the first day, but not the second (housekeeping will help you out though).

Parking is behind the cinema across the street (around the block if you're driving) was included, but you needed to have the ticket validated, which is difficult when no one is ever at the front desk. My husband went to get the car, while I checked out and ran back 10 minutes later after finding out the ticket had to be validated. Again, the ladies in the cafe downstairs came to our rescue. We are not high maintenance travelers by any means, but these little things made it a bit annoying.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThreeGoodVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I've been in Le Relais Lyonnais with my husband, 2 nights during our honeymoon. It's well connected and 10 minutes walking from the center of the city (old town). In fact the hotel is in downtown, in the heart of the "Quartier Latin", where there are lots of restaurants and pubs. It isn't big but our room was clean and modern and a nespresso was always available in the room. Good Breakfast for free. Pay attention if you are by car, parking isn't free!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monik79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

we were looking for a reasonable priced room to visit our daughters studying in Montreal. What a perfect place. The host is extremely cordial and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and homey. The bathrooms are very sweet with a skylight . The location can't be better. The breakfasts are exquisite. We are very happy here.

Room Tip: upstairs room has great terrace which would be wonderful in the warmer days
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AniaKx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I'm probably going to regret adding to the collection of great reviews about this place, because it will likely become perpetually booked and I'll never be able to get a reservation again.

I made the reservation online without really understanding where this hotel was located...but as it turns out, it could not have been better situated for us. It is a half-block from a major metro station (Berri-UQAM) that offers 2 routes/ lines, so you are really accessible to most of the city from that spot. Additionally, the area is very walkable, even at night. Yes, there are many clubs and so forth that operate late at night but the crowd seems pretty harmless.

We are in our 40s so the club scene is over for my husband and I but the noise didn't really bother us too much. (We stayed on a Saturday night.) I was able to sleep very well, despite having a room overlooking the main street.

The room (3rd floor) was smartly decorated...very urban feel, very clean and had all the necessary amenities including free wi-fi and a cappuccino machine. There was a computer and printer outside my room which made it easy to check in for our flight.

We were pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast offered on Sunday morning at the restaurant downstairs. More than ample and very good. My somewhat particular husband raved about how skillfully his potatoes were cooked. They also served fresh-squeezed orange juice (imagine, fresh-squeezed in winter in Montreal.)

The gentleman working the desk was extremely helpful...he gave us a map and plotted all the places we told him we wanted to visit. He also arranged for a cab for us the next afternoon.

Really, this was a gem of a place to stay and we will definitely make this our "go to" hotel in Montreal.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights based solely on the reviews here at Tripadvisor. Really not much else to add that hasn't been covered! We took the metro from the train station and were very happy with how close it was to the stop- 1/2 a block. The neighbourhood is very lively- not "touristy"- and we were greeted by some panhandlers as soon as we emerged from the station. They were harmless but definitely a fixture of that corner.

We wanted a quick getaway where we could be in the middle of things, and people watch- this is definitely a great neighbourhood for that! Even mid-week in February, many students and locals about.

We were greeted by a young man that followed us up to the lobby- we were early but he held our bags for us and was very welcoming. He promptly gave us a map and showed us several sites of interest and assured us we could walk to different destinations. Very helpful. When we returned he brought our luggage upstairs for us.

The room is probably the cleanest we have ever stayed in- and the cleaning ladies obviously take pride and treat the room and guests like it is their home. Nice little touches.

We stayed in a room at the back- SO quiet! We were amazed that despite its location and small size it is completely quiet. Unlike other hotels where you hear doors opening and closing, other guest traffic, etc... completely peaceful. After days and nights of walking around it was very nice to escape to a quiet little corner of the world!

Amazing pillows- all 6 of them!

Everything is within walking distance- Old Montreal, food, shopping, Ste Catherine street.

We did meet Albert and he really is genuine and charming- eager to welcome you and answer any question.

We had breakfast at the Brioche downstairs- after reading the reviews we were excited for it the first day. The waitress gave us menus but then quickly told us that the hot breakfasts were not available during the week- only weekends. We were quite disappointed, but enjoyed the pastry and bread.

The next day we were going to find another breakfast spot where we could have a big breakfast- but decided at the last minute to go downstairs for coffee and the newspaper first. A different waitress gave us the menu and assured us that the eggs and omelettes were available- and were included with our complimentary breakfast! Also nice to grab a dessert in the evening. The girls were happy to package it up for us to take up to the hotel.

All in all a wonderful little gem in a vibrant neighbourhood- and with the deal found on tripadvisor a STEAL. Would definitely recommend and hope to return with my daughter this spring.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kaece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews