We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big hotel never again”
Review of Le Relais Lyonnais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Relais Lyonnais
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A big hotel never again”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We went for graduation at McGill and decided this time to avoid the big hotels near campus thinking they would be a bit loud.
This was a lovely surprise..clean, reasonable, and quite a lovely experience.
The parking is a minute away and has 24hour guarding so is an easy and safe place.
We were upgraded to the third floor suite which has a lovely outdoor patio at the back.
Wonderful shower.
Upgraded amenities.
Nespresso machine.
Pillow selection!
Fabulous breakfast...Have the smoked salmon omelette!
We found therewas always someone at the desk..Alberto was so helpful.
You will love this clean and homey place.
Rue st Denis will make you fell that you are in the real Montreal.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: At the back is quieter but our daughter had a main floor front room and had no noise issues. Room 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exeter_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    86
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
252
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Room was small, but well designed, very clean, and an effective use of space.
Bed and pillows were extremely comfortable.
Rainfall shower in the bathroom was fantastic.
Nespresso machine was a nice touch and just like home.

Location was great - we got in around dinner time on a Friday night after a long drive up and it was fabulous to have a ton of dinner options within a few steps. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to old Montreal and the Metro is literally a few steps away.

Breakfast at the cafe downstairs was nicely sized and quite tasty.

The down sides -

No one was ever at the front desk. When we arrived to check in, someone from the cafe had to come up to help us out. When we went to check out, no one was there and one of the housekeeping staff helped us. We received the coupon for breakfast for the first day, but not the second (housekeeping will help you out though).

Parking is behind the cinema across the street (around the block if you're driving) was included, but you needed to have the ticket validated, which is difficult when no one is ever at the front desk. My husband went to get the car, while I checked out and ran back 10 minutes later after finding out the ticket had to be validated. Again, the ladies in the cafe downstairs came to our rescue. We are not high maintenance travelers by any means, but these little things made it a bit annoying.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThreeGoodVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I've been in Le Relais Lyonnais with my husband, 2 nights during our honeymoon. It's well connected and 10 minutes walking from the center of the city (old town). In fact the hotel is in downtown, in the heart of the "Quartier Latin", where there are lots of restaurants and pubs. It isn't big but our room was clean and modern and a nespresso was always available in the room. Good Breakfast for free. Pay attention if you are by car, parking isn't free!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monik79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

we were looking for a reasonable priced room to visit our daughters studying in Montreal. What a perfect place. The host is extremely cordial and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and homey. The bathrooms are very sweet with a skylight . The location can't be better. The breakfasts are exquisite. We are very happy here.

Room Tip: upstairs room has great terrace which would be wonderful in the warmer days
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniaKx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I'm probably going to regret adding to the collection of great reviews about this place, because it will likely become perpetually booked and I'll never be able to get a reservation again.

I made the reservation online without really understanding where this hotel was located...but as it turns out, it could not have been better situated for us. It is a half-block from a major metro station (Berri-UQAM) that offers 2 routes/ lines, so you are really accessible to most of the city from that spot. Additionally, the area is very walkable, even at night. Yes, there are many clubs and so forth that operate late at night but the crowd seems pretty harmless.

We are in our 40s so the club scene is over for my husband and I but the noise didn't really bother us too much. (We stayed on a Saturday night.) I was able to sleep very well, despite having a room overlooking the main street.

The room (3rd floor) was smartly decorated...very urban feel, very clean and had all the necessary amenities including free wi-fi and a cappuccino machine. There was a computer and printer outside my room which made it easy to check in for our flight.

We were pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast offered on Sunday morning at the restaurant downstairs. More than ample and very good. My somewhat particular husband raved about how skillfully his potatoes were cooked. They also served fresh-squeezed orange juice (imagine, fresh-squeezed in winter in Montreal.)

The gentleman working the desk was extremely helpful...he gave us a map and plotted all the places we told him we wanted to visit. He also arranged for a cab for us the next afternoon.

Really, this was a gem of a place to stay and we will definitely make this our "go to" hotel in Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#43 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#40 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais Lyonnais? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais Lyonnais

Property: Le Relais Lyonnais
Address: 1595 rue St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
#46 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,474 - ₹ 14,991
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais Lyonnais 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the "Quartier Latin" (Latin Quarter) on the world famous Rue St-Denis, Hotel Le Relais Lyonnais is sure to impress the most discerning traveler. Designed with every detail in mind, Le Relais Lyonnais combines the authenticity of 19th-century architecture with the amenities of modern comfort, all to ensure that your stay with us is a memorable one. The building dates back to more than 130 years and every painstaking step has been taken to keep the architecture and design of the period intact. The gleaming maple floors, the polished wood banisters and spectacular wood details, all combined with a chic decor immediately takes you back to elegant 19th-century living... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Le Relais Lyonnais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Lyonnais Montreal
Le Relais Lyonnais Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing