We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Ranked #72 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
San Pedro, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

What's not to like? The price was reasonable compared to others in the area, it is in a good location on a main avenue, clean and secure and there was a helpful bi-lingual staff. On the first floor was a gym and a computer room with printers. There was a small snack bar where you filled out a slip and dropped it in the box to be charged to your room. There was a good sized laundry room with plenty of machines all for free. All of these services and the elevator could only be accessed by using your room card.

Our room was fantastic. It was on the 13rh floor and faced Old Montreal. We could open the windows and enjoy the breeze and the views below including the thousands of student demonstrators that marched below when we were there. We had a sitting area with a couch, reading lamp, coffee table and a large HD flat screen TV on top of a dresser. Right next to it was an breakfast counter with stools facing the kitchen that had fridge, micro, stove, washer, sink, toaster, coffee maker and dishes. There was a full service grocery store two blocks down and we stocked up to make many meals and snacks instead of restaurant meals.

The bedroom was big and the bed was too, clean and comfortable with a big window air conditioning unit. The bathroom was good size and clean.

The location of the hotel was excellent also. It was walking distance to Old Montreal, Chinatown, a big underground shopping complex and St. Catherine's street.

If there is a downside, it's that you only get room service every three days.

Parking is $18 a day It's underground, self park and secure.

Room Tip: The market down the street has many deli items including lunch meats, cheeses etc. plus many ready...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williequin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    193
    86
    27
    24
See reviews for
106
98
39
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Two of us stayed here because we had found the hotel in our travel book and it had a decent rating. They advertised a specific price range that is good all year. The hotel overcharged more than one hundred percent of the advertised rate and added taxes that weren't even mentioned in the reservations section of their website. Some amenities were missing in our room, like the two chairs that are mentioned in their website, and the staff was totally indifferent. The AAA Three Diamond Rating that is given in the travel book is much too generous for this hotel. This rating is for "distinguished style...with marked upgrades in physical attributes, amenities, and guest comforts." There were no luggage holders, the curtains were soiled and needed repair to the rods. There were no towels in the bathroom, nor were there the usual extra pillows or blankets. We were initially excited about staying so close to the Old Town. This place was a great disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azteca14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Azteca14,

Thank you for this review regarding your recent stay at our property. Kindly accept my sincerest apology for the issues you encountered during your recent stay with us. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My one-bed suite was clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet and well-equipped, with lots of storage room. The aircon unit was only in the bedroom but was rarely needed, even on hot days, because the windows/balcony gave a good airflow. Wifi worked well, and there were plenty of electric sockets (note, some didn't work, but I didn't bother to report that because there were plenty to choose from). The kitchen is well-equipped in terms of electrical appliances, and has a couple of saucepans etc, but don't expect a full range of cooking equipment. The bathroom had plenty of space, and there were basic toiletries (shampoo and soap). I had a nice view of Mont Royal, over the rooftops.

Laundry and business facilities were clean and well-maintained. There's a courtyard where I think there may be barbecue facilities, but I didn't check that out. Front desk service was welcoming, friendly and helpful; service was fast on all occasions except one, when they looked understaffed and overwhelmed. I had one problem with the room on arrival and the front staff came up and fixed it immediately, but I imagine that may only be possible at quieter times.

I got a very good rate for a week that included the F1 weekend (when hotel prices rocket in Montreal) and it was ideal for an extended stay - it did exactly what it said on the tin. Don't expect it to be a full-service hotel with daily cleaning and lots of staff - that's not how it advertises itself - it's very much aimed at the more self-sufficient/independent traveller, and the facilities are well-designed to give you what you need to look after yourself.

The area is safe and within walking distance to many central areas. It's close to several metro stations and bus lines, and to the start of the underground city shops and walkways so you can avoid unpleasant weather. The airport bus (747) stop is within a few metres. It's on a busy main street so don't expect to be able to park immediately outside. There's a good supermarket (IGA) within walking distance, a corner shop closer by, and emergency food supplies can be bought in the hotel's "larder".

I've stayed at several 4* hotels in Montreal before but I enjoyed the independence of a suite hotel like this, and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This hotel is located parallel to the main shopping street in Downtown Montreal, very close to the Berri subway. Making this a great hotel location wise. We requested a high room and that's exactly what we were given. It was huge too. Our very own apartment for the week which was great as it allowed us to eat in a few nights - the kitchen was fully equipped for this. There is a supermarket a couple of blocks down.

We stayed at this hotel over the F1 weekend which was perfect as it was just out of the way of the busy F1 festival street and very close to the subway which took you to the F1 track in 7 minutes (1stop).

Overal the hotel was extremely clean. The staff on the reception were very friendly, with a nothing is too much attitude. They even provide complimentary water, ear plugs and fans on the mornings of the F1 weekend.

There is a small gym, which if you use your imagination is adequate enough to get a good work out. Although there are other gyms close by that you can have a day membership for for under 15 CAD.

Room Tip: Request a high room as the street is quite noisy although with the windows shut and air con on, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our hotel is exactly in the right spot for what we are here to do --- see Montreal! We arrived by train into the Central Station less than 1/2 mile from our hotel. Great staff, and clean, roomy suites. Everything we need is within easy walking-distance.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms in this hotel have suites equipped with kitchenettes. IGA is near-by so shopping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yelrcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
Hotel Faubourg Montreal
#70 of 164 in Montreal
858 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Zero 1
Hotel Zero 1
#54 of 164 in Montreal
1,178 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Holiday Inn Montreal Centre-Ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#78 of 164 in Montreal
514 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville

Property: Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
Address: 191 Rene-Levesque Blvd E, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,513 - ₹ 13,931
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Apartment Hotel Montreal downtown. The Candlewood Suites Hotel is a member of the IHG family of brands, which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal offers apartment like suites to government, business, relocation, training & extended stay hotel guests requiring long or short term hotel or real estate accommodations. The Candlewood Suites Hotel Montreal is within walking distance to the Old Port of Montreal, Chinatown, Place des Arts, Contemporary Art Museum & St. Catherine Street Shopping. Walk to nearby businesses including Bell Canada BCE, CGI, Bomardier, Hydro Quebec, Desjardins Financial, SNC Lavalin, Complex Guy Favreau, IBM, CBC, Alcoa, Alcan, ING, VIA Systems Standard Life, London Life Power Corporation & CHUM Hospital Project. Enjoy your evening dining on St. Laurent Street before retiring to your spacious suite. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) features studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work areas, TV with DVD player, free high-speed wired Internet access, two phone lines with personalized voicemail. Other apartment like conveniences include 24-hour business center offering free Internet access, printing, faxing & copying capabilities, complimentary guest laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard & lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Candlewood Montreal
Montreal Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing