We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE AND OVERPRICED HOTEL”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Bella
Ranked #113 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE AND OVERPRICED HOTEL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2007

This is the most horrible hotel in the world. It will be good for $30 per night, but $100 per night is just TOO MUCH.

We stayed there for New years.
The room was ugly.
A chair was broke
The sink had a HORRIBLE SMELL
The Bathtub was soo dirty! IT HAD LOTS OF HAIRS YUCK!
Behind the toilet was soo sooo so dirty. It seemed like nobody cleaned it since long long time ago.
The breakfast was ONE CROISSANT, half a cup of yucky coffee, and half a cup of orange juice. THAT WAS IT.
The TV was interesting. I think my parents had that TV when I was born. The transmission stopped all the time and we had to wait a little bit until the transmission was normal again.
The carpet had big stains on the floor. I had to put on my shoes after waking up. I just couldn’t put my feet in that carpet.
And after all this, they charged 100 DOLLARS!!!!!!! That hotel is worth $30 MAX!

After our ugly stay, I wrote an email to the hotel about my complaints and he never answered. I am sure he knows that his hotel has a rank of 0.

It is just not fair that people take advantage of others. I mean, they put beautiful photos on the website, but they are way far from the reality.

If anybody need more information write here and I will answer your questions.

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PaolaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    28
    35
    23
    17
See reviews for
23
31
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2006

We learned of Casa Bella Inc. from a travel guidebook. We call them directly and the guy on the phone sounded really nice, so we went for it. My boyfriend and I stayed there the week before Labor day when we were traveling trough Canada, and realized that it is probably the single busiest week for Montreal with all the movie, jazz, and rock festivals they have that week. It cost us $624 Canadian including taxes and parking for 3 nights for one queen bedroom and 1 night in a two queen bedroom (they had to change us rooms because they already sold out the 1 queen room for the weekend to another couple) We had to take it because there were no more places available.

Pluses: Even though, the front desk girl didnt speak lots of English, she was very pleasant and attentive. The hotel is located near Boulevard St. Laurent and Rue Saint Dennis, both streets that have the best night and restaurant scene. The location allows you to walk to most places of interest. The rooms were surprisingly very spacious.

Minuses: It says that the room has AC, but ours never worked, so I had to open the window and couldn’t sleep at all the first night because of the busy and noisy street. The room is cozy and clean, but it looks very much like a two star hostel. The breakfast is not good, cheap concentrated orange juice, store bough cheap croissants. I read that someone liked the breakfast, judge for yourself order it one day and see if you like it, I still recommend you to add in your budget breakfast outside, just in case.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The overprice rooms we paid due to the highest season in Montreal
  • Tips/Secrets — There is a Peruvian fine dining restaurant called 'Mochica' in Rue St. Dennis with food to die for: goggle it and check it out.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lili_Marlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2006

The room was ok but the towels are threadbare and there are no
extra blankets. The staff was indifferent and made it quite
clear that they didn't want to be bothered. When we asked for
an extra room key they said it would be ready for us but when
we went to pick it up they didn't have one. The breakfast is
nothing great just one slice of toast, an obviously store bought
croissant, and a small cup of coffee, tea, or chocolate. When
there was a miscommunication about the breakfast beverage
and we were given tea and chocolate rather than coffee and
chocolate we tried to get coffee instead and were rudely
informed we couldn't have it. One gets the feeling that the
owner is nowhere around and just wants to cut costs.
I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — it was conveniently located
  • Disliked — the total indifference of the staff
  • Tips/Secrets — be very careful when booking hotels
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eshatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

san jose, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2006

You cannot go wrong with staying at this cute and elegant French flavored hotel in French speaking Montreal, the world 2nd largest French speaking city. My room was large with a terrific shower. The room was kept cool without the annoying A/C noises (central A/C?). The family that runs the hotel attends to your every need. The hotel is smartly located within walking distance to downtown, China town, and the shopping district. It's also a block away from the metro subway! I miss it and will stay there again and I will try to ask for the wing that has a lot more traditional European decor, if I am lucky to get it.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bon-Bon-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Efland, NC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2005

You get what you pay for. Great location, just a short walk from the Metro and an Underground City food court, as well as lots of "regular" restaurants and downtown attractions. Unfortunately, I arrived after hours on a Friday and stayed the weekend. The off-hours desk person did not speak English other than 1 or 2 words. I can ask "Where is a nearby restaurant?" (among other things, thank you) in clear French, and she just didn't get it, trying to direct me to the grocery store across the street. It was impossible to communicate with her, even by pointing at posted bilingual notices. (InfoTouriste assured me that ALL tourist-related locations in Montreal have fluent bilingual speakers available. InfoTouriste is wrong.) Rooms didn't have alarm clocks; no wakeup call available; individual room temperature controls non-existent; not even a box of Kleenex! No tub either. I'd been looking forward to relaxing from the rest of my trip in a bubble bath. But the rooms were clean (mattress was thin but comfortable enough after a hard day of walking), and breakfast could be ordered in the mornings. Their website says, "fresh warm croissants baked on the premises," but the croissants were obviously those soggy store-bought things, warmed up somewhere. They were edible, though, as was the toast, tiny glass of orange juice and tea. Towels were small, thin and miserly in number, stairs were abundant and steep, and I feel sorry for people who brought their cars with them as all the cars had to be shifted around by valet every time someone needed theirs. PS: An English-speaker appeared at the desk early Monday morning -- too late for my needs.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarolStrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Le Saint Andre
Hotel Le Saint Andre
#103 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Viger
Hotel Viger
#108 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
Hotel l'Abri du Voyageur
#73 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#68 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#114 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Bella? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Bella

Property: Hotel Casa Bella
Address: 264 Sherbrooke ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1X9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,650 - ₹ 5,365
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Casa Bella 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From our location downtown Montreal, we are 2 minutes away from the Quartier des Spectacles and the Place-des-Arts subway station, and walking distance from the Business District, the Shopping Area, the Convention Center, Latin Quarter, Chinatown, Universities (McGill and UQAM). We are also a few minutes away by walk from the Mont Royal (20 minutes), the Old Montreal & the Notre-Dame Basilica (10 minutes), the Bell Center, Museums, everything is within a few blocks of our hotel. Free parking (if available, places are limited). Free continental style breakfast (served in your room) and Free Wi-Fi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Casa Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Hotel
Casa Bella Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing