We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,511)
Filter reviews
1,511 results
Traveller rating
1,218
225
41
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,218
225
41
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old montreal heated floors loft room quiet street modern design upgraded to a suite bottled water large windows beautiful hotel beautiful room high ceilings long weekend valet parking location was perfect visit montreal notre dame few blocks
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1,511 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I stay at the Gault every time I am in Montreal and am never disappointed. Small Boutique Hotel with a very artsy vibe. The staff is incredibly friendly and open from the moment you arrive (they offer a free drink) to the moment you leave (again free drink) and they are very conscientious.
The rooms are always neat and clean and the bathroom is bright and meticulous.
Room service is terrific and friendly with a nice tight menu.
Breakfast has everything associated with it, but try the Oatmeal with cream, brown sugar, maple syrup and berries next time..awesome way to begin your day! FYI get the half portion unless you are very hungry!
They have a small gym, but it works!
If you don't feel like wandering the area of Old Montreal then the snacks and dinners work well also...but the surrounding area is so incredible, please walk and enjoy!
Only request I have of the hotel is to add more English movie or other TV entertainment.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgrundy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amir B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience,

We are thrilled that Hotel Gault never disappoints you, we truly work hard at providing our guests with exceptional service that touches the heart! Thank you for your kind comments, rest assured that we will pass along the message to the rest of the staff. We will definitely pass along the message to higher management in hopes of bringing in more English channels. We hope that the next time you return, your stay exceeds your expectations!

We look forward of having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Nim Sachdeva
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We booked this hotel based on reviews from Trip Advisor and were very disappointed. We travel frequently and stay at luxury hotels. Our room was over $600/ night plus taxes and we did not receive fair value. While the location of the hotel is great, the suite was not. Our shower did not drain, our bed covering was ripped, the room was dirty, the bed frame jetted out and we constantly tripped on it, the bed linens coarse, few outlets in the room and those that were there were very no tech....We could go on and on...We expressed our feelings to management. They treated us to one morning's breakfast. That did not make the price paid and the value received any fairer. On the good side, the staff gave us good suggestions for restaurants and great directions for walking there. If our room was $400/night, we would have excepted the shortcomings.

Room tip: Don't spend more than $300/night
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amir B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent stay,

We would like to sincerely apologize for the disappointment experienced during your stay. We would like to inform you that indeed the terrace room that you had booked at our hotel is one of the highest category rooms in the hotel, therefore reflecting that rate during high season. Every day we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allow us to improve our services and facilities for all our valued guests such as yourself. We would like to assure you that your valuable comments have been shared with the concerned Management Team for further action.

Management in fact wanted to ensure that your stay was as enjoyable as possible therefore offering you breakfast for 2 as well as a discount on the room rate. Once again, thank you for your feedback and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any future stays and we will assist gladly in finding a room that fully suits your needs at the best available rate.

We look forward of having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future in hopes that you will notice the difference based on your feedback!

Kind Regards,

Nim Sachdeva
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We recently stayed at the Gault for a long weekend in the larger terrace room for a birthday celebration. I have travelled a great deal, both for work and pleasure, and I rarely have stayed at a hotel that I enjoyed as much. The hotel is beautiful, but unlike many hotels with interesting design, it is also very comfortable.

In addition, the staff at the hotel were uniformly friendly and attentive. We would gladly stay there again. Fyi, breakfast was wonderful, with great coffee.

Room tip: Terrace rooms are wonderful. Beautiful bath.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lawrence1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amir B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent stay,

We are thrilled to hear that your stay at Hotel Gault lived up to your expectations! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the hotels prime location as well as the comforts we have to offer! We really do work hard at providing our guests with exceptional service that touches the heart!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Nim Sachdeva
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

With two sets of stairs to the front door, and no ramp or elevator, I had to carry our child and stroller every time we came or went.I still have the bruise on my wrist.

Also, when we arrived, despite having advised our ETA, our room wasn't ready until after 4pm.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevegarner2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amir B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent stay,

We do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay. We would like to inform you that there is a side entrance for you to use at your convenience with a lift, making it less difficult to carry the stroller every time. Our staff is available 24/7 to help facilitate your stay by any means possible. We hope that the next time we welcome you back, our hotel will exceed your expectations! Please do not hesitate to contact me personally at nsachdeva@hotelgault.com to book a future stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Nim Sachdeva
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I booked this because this is number 1 on tripadvisor. While the hotel is nice, rooms are big, decor modern, nothing to really complain. However some of the staff are not that friendly, housekeeping lacked attention (did not replace shower gel), and gym was tiny.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amir B, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience,

We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the beauty and comforts that Hotel Gault has to offer! We work hard at providing our guests with exceptional service in hopes of becoming number 1 on TripAdvisor! We do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay, we hope that the next time you return the level of service will be of your satisfaction!

We look forward of having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Nim Sachdeva
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews