We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Top rate hotel even better staff. Let me explain...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top rate hotel even better staff. Let me explain...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The hotel is in a great and tucked away location. The decor is contemporary and the rooms are very nice and comfortable. All get an A rating. The staff makes the difference. Here's the explanation. We had a great evening after checking in and enjoyed the room. The next day we went on a bicycle tour and upon return the staff informed us that their boiler had exploded and would not be fixed. They had already made arrangements for us at an equally nice hotel and transported us and our bags to the other hotel. The staff made the difference and made what could have been an unpleasant situation stress free. That says a lot about management when they truly put the guests ahead of everything else. I'll definitely go back. A++

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skibumajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    190
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
108
662
77
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Gault for our "babymoon" in early April 2011 (I'm late to post because we had our daughter in August). The concierge was amazing (he was on during the day) - he was incredibly helpful and made reservations for us, recommended everything to us to do in the city, helped us navigate the city by car (we drove up from NY) and helped us figure out our plans each day. The hotel was great - in a wonderful location (and down the street from an amazing men's clothing store - Rooney). The hotel itself is very sleek and modern - minimalist, so if you like that type of look, this is a great hotel for you. Each room is different - we had a great big room, with a separate area for the shower/bathroom, heated floors. Great space. The staff took great care of us - I didn't feel well one day and the staff made me eggs (not on the menu for dinner). We would definitely stay here again - in fact, my husband stayed there for business earlier this year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed for the second time at the Gault and have to say that my comments from my first stay last October are still up-to-date. Great room and bathroom (and still the best bed in the world, I really ought to get the same one for home !). Lovely and helpful staff. Very good breakfast. No doubt I will return there on my third visit in Montreal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Capital
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was our fifth visit to the Hotel Gault, although it had been two years since our last stay. After this most recent trip, we left wondering whether standards may be slipping or whether the hotel is perhaps resting on its laurels. The various reasons may appear picayune on their own, but collectively it did leave a bit of a sour taste. What went wrong? The hotel parking and unloading area is non-existent so one depends on the front door personnel keeping an eye on arrivals. We had to park our car illegally out front, unload the car and carry the bags up the stairs to the front desk before we were able to rouse any help. On check-in, we asked whether our "I Prefer" membership number had been recorded, since that should have entitled us to an upgrade, based on availability. We were told that it had been received. We were then taken to our King Loft room, which we soon discovered had no bathtub, only a shower. When we called down to see whether there were any rooms with a bathtub, we were asked to wait until a search could be undertaken. Ten minutes past before we were called back, to be told that a Junior Suite was available for a charge of $80 more per night. We asked whether our "I Prefer" membership should have taken care of the upgrade and were again told he would call back. Another 5 minutes went by, and the desk clerk reported that, yes, a suite was available at no charge and that they had somehow missed the fact that we were "I prefer" members, despite the fact that we had specifically verified that information with the same clerk on check in. Another 5 minutes past and we relocated to our new room. Apart from the sketchy arrival, we did note that breakfast is no longer included in the price of a room unless one is a CAA member. One can't complain too much about that, since the former spread was quite elaborate and no doubt costly to maintain, especially since it was "a volonte". Finally, we were shocked to find that overnight parking cost $37 including tax, an enormous surcharge, even in a quartier where space is clearly at a premium. Will we return to the Gault? Perhaps it won't be an automatic choice next time. Perhaps we'll see if we can find a new and better favourite.

Room Tip: Regular or upgraded Loft Rooms should offer a bathtub. The ones with shower only are smaller and le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyandBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your last experience at the Hotel Gault.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we received from our valued guest enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary action to ensure similar situation can be avoided. Unfortunately, we missed the information regarding your I Prefer membership and as soon as we realized our mistake, we reacted in order to correct this situation right away. Please, rest assured that this situation has been brought to the appropriate departments in order to prevent such situation in the future.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

From the moment we entered this fantastic Hotel, we were impressed. Every staff member we came across greeted us with a smile.The room was amazing and so well appointed, with sweeping views of the lush grounds. From a massive room size to all the extra touches , such as robes, slippers, free WiFi and a truly luxurious bathroom.Every part of this Hotel is gleaming, spotless and well maintained. reception staff were attentive, the treated us like VIPs and the Spa staff were so proud of their facilities, wanting to show guests what was available at .Indeed we were so emoured with the Gault, we wanted to extend our stay, but couldn't reschedule new flights! Having just spent the last month in very ordinary rooms at high prices in Italy and London, this 5 star boutique hotel truly deserves its rating.My husband and I will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel William Gray
Hotel William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Property: Hotel Gault
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,958 - ₹ 37,787
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing