We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely stay in a brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #17 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay in a brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel in July. The reception staff were professional and friendly. The room was a good size, the bed was very comfortable and the ensuite was classy. The hotel is well located for exploring downtown Montreal and the reception staff will happily point you in the right direction for any tourist sights or restaurants etc. The air conditioning was great and very quiet. Perhaps the only negative to this hotel is that it only offers free wifi for 24 hours and then charges around €25 for every 24 hours there after. On the whole this hotel deserves its 4 stars!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Bonjour Louise M,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    506
    130
    34
    25
See reviews for
325
714
125
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel is in a nice location, you are near a lot of galleries, the museum of fine-arts, close to Rue Saint-Catherine, the Bell Center, Mont Royal, etc. Some reviews mention lack of restaurants in the area but we had no problem finding a place to eat, there are tons of options within a 10-20 minute walk of the hotel and when you consider the easy access to the metro a few minutes away the options are limitless.

For the hotel itself the service was fantastic and it's well maintained. The room was quite small but makes up for it with what is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and a nice bathroom. I was also surprised as while our room was near the elevator, I did not hear it once during our stay. The one downside is that the hotel has no pool- and considering how warm this summer has been, it would have been something to look forward to after spending hours in the heat running around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Feneant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Bonjour Feneant,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sackville
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights recently because of a tremendous promotion that brought the rates down below many competitor hotels. Overall, it is a stylish place, quiet, and definitely catering to a business clientele. But the deal breaker for us- no coffee makers in the rooms. There was coffee in the lobby, but it was put away quite early each day (8:30?). We were told we could order a carafe from room service- for 14$. Really? At this price range the competition (e.g., St.Martin, Le Crystal) not only has in room coffee, but Nespresso machines! Some boutique hoels have cafes that are complimentary to all guests (free specialty coffees all day long!). I really don't understand this restrictive coffee policy at the Sofitel- it just doesn't make sense from a business perspective. The fitness room is also pretty small for a hotel of this size and there is no pool or hot tub. Other than that, the hotel was fine- nothing special, nothing terrible. For the money, there are better options in terms of amenities. I guess that is why they are having price promotions. If it is a great deal and you're not a coffee addict, then their deals are worth considering. Otherwise, there are better options in Montreal.

Room Tip: high floor on the side = less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr.weinerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Bonjour mr.weinerdog,

We are truly disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to make sure that each and every one of our guests feels the touch of our very personal service, and that every need is looked after no matter how small or large.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to the area! 

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The service at the Sofitel is very good. There is nothing, which is too much trouble for the staff.
We stayed in one of their smaller rooms,but it was tastefully furnished and the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spotless (in marble) They provided the bathrobe slippers iron etc, which is missing more and more from higher-end hotels.
Big fluffy towels Bottles of water delivered early evening to your room and the turndown was great. All done with thoughtfulness.

The parking rates were very expensive($34 plus tax) The parking nearby is $10 less, but of course no in and out priviliges.
I have become a fan of Sofitel (and can be picky) and will thoroughly reccommend a stay here when in Montreal. Very convenient location too, shopping, restaurants etc.

Room Tip: High floor with views of Mount Royal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OakesTPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Bonjour OakesTPI,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,

François Marceau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Property: Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,027 - ₹ 20,053
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing