We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Ranked #15 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I booked via hotwire and consequently, I believe, received the smallest room on my floor. It was, however, still large enough for my needs. It was very well-appointed with modern finishes, floor-to-ceiling windows, a comfortable chair and desk, and a Bose stereo with ipod dock. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was spacious, with a large shower and good quality shampoos, soaps, etc.

There was a fair amount of audible street noise in my room, but I figure this was unavoidable trade-off given the great location of the hotel. Service was very good from check-in to check-out.

I'm trying to find some points to criticize, but I really can't. I suppose my cell phone reception was a bit spotty in my room, but that's about it. It was a very well-executed hotel experience.

I would definitely look to stay here again. Recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLRCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Bonjour MLRCQ,

Thank you for reviewing your experience! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We will look forward to welcoming you again at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile!

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,352 - 1,356 of 2,201 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

My wife, two teenage daughters and I recently stayed at the Sofitel on our first trip to Monteal and would recommend the hotel to anyone for their visit to the city. We appreciated the sophisticated and stylish architecture and decor and the wonderful downtown location near museums, great restaurants and the best shopping in the city. Rooms could have been larger, but were well appointed with plenty of storage and high quality furnishings. Staff was excellent, especially the concierge who gave us terrific restaurant recommendations. Hotel bar was great (specialty cocktails were expensive but worth it). All in all, a wonderful stay at a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWLMontgomery_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Bonjour Monsieur,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was so glad to read how much you, your wife and your daughters enjoyed the service and the amenities we offer.

We hope to see you in the near future at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This french hotel chain located in the best area of Montreal provide you with a sense of comfort in an appreciable enviroment by its design and relatively human scale with examplory staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdesjardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Bonjour bdesjardins,

We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the kind words and compliments of our staff. We hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at this hotel, We stayed in a luxury room. Based on the reviews and the price I expected more from this hotel.

Yes, the bed was very comfortable, the view from the the floor to ceiling window was great and the huge bathroom with separate tub and shower were also nice. However, the water pressure wasn't the greatest and unfortunately the shower door did not close properly so we always ended up with water on the bathroom floor. Though if that's all the negative things that I have to say, that isn't too bad.

The staff was professional and pleasant.

Overall we had a very good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Bonjour Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all feedback. We are very sorry that you experience some problems with the shower, and we are looking into the issues you raised. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we may have the opportunity to provide you with the Magnifique experience enjoyed by the majority of our customers.

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Had a fabulous stay at the Sofitel. Moved to this hotel from another, pretty bad, hotel in Montreal. They were SO nice, easily accomodating us despite our calling in the morning for a room on the same day. Super flexible and kind also with the late check-out request the following day. Concierge was fantastic, hotel staff were top-notch with the exception of the bar staff (really, really nice...but really, really slow 20+ min wait for a martini...10+ min wait for an espresso).

Rooms are great. Spotless, airy, SUPER comfy beds, great bathrooms.

It doesn't have the opulence, etc of the Ritz or some of the super up-scale places in Old Montreal, but the Sofitel is a perfectly nice 4+ star hotel and is GREAT value for what you're getting. Would definitely recommend it over the Omni across the street or the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth (probably two of the most direct competitors). I think it's slightly better value than the St. Germain as well. Location is also really, really great and we really can't say enough good things about this gem. Definitely going to stay here again the next time I come to Montreal.

Room Tip: If you want extra quiet rooms - ask to face Mont Royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofitel M, Social Media Coordinator at Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Bonjour Swissorio,

We love to hear that you enjoyed the property and were well taken care of by our staff! On behalf of all of our Ambassadors at Sofitel, thank you for taking the time to review your experience and we will all look forward to having you back again soon!

Sincerely,

François Marceau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 165 in Montreal
2,723 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,502 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,459 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,096 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile

Address: 1155 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2N3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: ₹ 9,565 - ₹ 22,840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile is conveniently located in the heart of the city ideal for business travelers and art lovers - at the foot of lush Mount Royal Park, next to the renowned McGill University and Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Enjoy the masterful blend of minimalist design and warm sophistication at our luxury hotel embellished with Victorian accents from the estate of North American railroad pioneer William Cornelius Van Horne. Choose one of 241 elegant and stylish hotel rooms or 17 suites all featuring Sofitel's luxurious feathertop and duvet sleep system - SoBed. 258 rooms including 17 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing