We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We thought this hotel was just fine. Location is great. Lobby and lounge is a little dated but if you like the TV Show Mad Men and have some imagination this Hotel is actually kind of fun. It must have been a really big deal when it originally opened. The concierge was also helpful in giving recommendations and guidance where to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecloudguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear thecloudguy,

Thank you for your observations about our hotel and its facilities.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and that our concierge gave you good advices where to go, during your stay.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    823
    274
    85
    36
See reviews for
395
521
102
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Marriott Chateau Champlain puts you a short walk away from Old Montreal. You also have access to the rest of the city by way of an elevator straight down to the Bonaventure metro station. $18 Canadian gets you unlimited usage of the metro and buses for three days. Make sure you have cash, as they don't accept charge cards. The hotel and the rooms have a very European flair. The staff are bilingual and couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hank053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear hank053,

Thank you for your great feed-back. Very much appreciated!

I am glad that you enjoyed Montreal, the location of our hotel and its facilities.

It is nice to read that you found our staff very helpful. I will make sure to pass them your kind words.

Looking forward to your next visit to Montreal and our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This past August, for 2 years in a row, I stayed at the Marriott Chateau. Great location, excellent rooms, wonderful view and the very best staff! Not being able to speak French was not a problem, most employees speak English (and 2 other languages). The rooms were spotless and comfortable. I ate at the breakfast buffet and the Concierge room at the 35th floor. Both were excellent. Extremely friendly and knowledgeable staff made my stay most productive. The hotel is close to old town (downtown) and tour embankments are within 2 blocks of the hotel. There is an entrance to the "underground" shopping mall and subways are close to the front desk. The concierge booked my tours and had all of the Church schedules at hand. Television stations, however, are split between French and English so bring your streaming tablet if you have to watch more TV!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince6236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Vince6236

Thank you for taking the time to write such pleasant comments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the location, the view and the comfort of your guest room.

It was nice to read that you find our staff extremely friendly and knowledgeable. I will share your kind remarks with them.

Looking forward to have you stay here again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is conveniently located for business and sightseeing. The staff was professional and friendly, the rooms were very nice and the restaurant and bar served very tasty food. I have stayed here twice and am already planning my next visit!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Therese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Therese H,

Thank you for your kind feed-back.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and that you found our staff professional and friendly.
I will share your comments with them. Thank you!

It is nice to know that you are already planning your next visit to our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton, alberta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

this was my first visit to Montreal (since i was 8 and spent a day here - don't even remember what i did) and i think the Marriott Chateau Champlain was the perfect place to check out the city.

the location is great - the hotel is located right over Bonaventure metro station with an elevator connecting the lobby to the station and only a few blocks walk to St. Catherine's. i'm a shopper...my 'sight-seeing' is checking out all the different shopping malls and street-front stores...so this was a great place to stay. i could walk to St. Catherine's and the Reso and i could take the train to shopping areas further away.

i was hoping to save a bit of money getting from the airport to the hotel so i decided to take the 747 STM bus...it would take a little longer but a lot cheaper than a shuttle or taxi. the ride was pretty quick and the stop closest to the hotel was only a couple blocks away! i was really happy about that...i definitely recommend going this route if you want to save some money as the stop is really convenient.

the hotel itself was alright. yes, it is dated, but it was still undeniably a 4-star hotel. check in was efficient and pretty friendly. when i got to my room, it was a pretty standard room - nice toiletries and clean bathroom, comfy bed, well stocked mini-bar. i definitely enjoyed the room and it was very cozy and comfortable. during my 7-night stay, there were a couple days where i just lazed around in bed practically all day - the bed was that comfy!

i didn't get a chance to try the pool or fitness centre but i did check it out. it seemed pretty run of the mill. nothing stuck as particularly good or particularly bad from my quick visit but that's not necessarily a bad thing. i did try the hotel bar for dinner one day. the service was pretty good. my server was very friendly and checked up on me a couple times through my meal. i had a craving for a decent hamburger and fries, which it was, but maybe a little pricey since the food wasn't anything to write home about.

there is a Starbucks in the lobby which was great when i wanted a morning coffee or cool afternoon drink. and right beside was a convenience store with souvenirs and snacks as well as toiletries you may have forgotten to pack.

one small thing i didn't like was the very obvious age and wear and tear on the lobby furniture. some of the seat cushions of the wingback chairs were either frayed or thinly worn or just plain shredded from a lot of use. this was definitely not 4-star, but i think it's minor and definitely not something to prevent me from staying here again.

i will say i did get a very decent rate from a discount website for this hotel, given the location and the fact it's 4-star. so a lot of the things i didn't like i easily ignored.

all in all, i had a great stay. if i can get a good deal like i did this time around again, i would stay here without a doubt.

forgot to mention, that i was i need of some laundry services since Montreal was only one-half of my trip. the concierge recommended using the laundry room (coin operated washer and dryer) at the Marriott Residence Inn which was about 4 blocks away. that was very handy and very close. from the looks of the Residence Inn and again it's close location to St. Catherine's, i wouldn't mind staying there either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear ryan411,

Thank you for taking the time to write your valuable comments. They are important to us.

First of all I am grateful that you enjoyed your first visit to Montreal and that you found our hotel conveniently located for all your activities. It was nice to read that your guest room was comfortable and cozy and that your check-in experience was efficient and friendly.

I am also glad that your shopping experience was great!!!!

However, I regret that the furniture in the lobby was not up to your expectations. I have addressed your comments to the relevant department.

Even if our sister hotel is a nice place to stay, however should you have to come back and stay again with us, we will have other options to have your laundry done.

We sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back very shortly to our beautiful city.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#54 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,649 - ₹ 20,306
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing