We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 1/2 stars - Marriott Chateau Champlain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“4 1/2 stars - Marriott Chateau Champlain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

When you walk into the lobby of this commanding building in Montreal you are immediately met with a sense of history. If the walls could talk I am sure that there would be lots of stories of the people and groups that have stayed at the property. The location is very good - a quick walk to the canals with the bike paths that lead you all over this lovely city, a very quick walk to the hustle and bustle of St. Catherine's Street, and a nice stroll to Old Montreal. One discovery during this trip was a very brief elevator ride to 'Underground Montreal' and all of the passageways and walkways to the circuitous shopping and dining venues. There are a number of eating establishments in walking distance above ground as well - not to mention a short block walk to the Bell Center. The people here are great - the breakfast buffet had a decent selection and our room (Room 2911) was as quiet as can be. We will definitely plan to stay at the Chateau Champlain again - and would recommend it to others with enthusiasm!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the corner away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    823
    274
    85
    36
See reviews for
395
520
102
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed that for the weekend, and was felt very welcomed right away as I arrived midnight Friday. This is not the first time I've stayed in this hotel but it is the first time I provided feedback.

Got a room with a decent view. While I was there over the weekend, the hotel was quiet, and that is a huge plus for me. The executive lounge is also very nice but unfortunately they are not open during the weekends. However, they do compensate for the inconvenience by letting you dine in their restaurant for breakfast, which offers great breakfast selection.

I also felt the hotel staff is friendlier this time around, not sure if they have changed since I stayed there last year, but I hope it wasn't a coincidence. The location is good, close to the train station, close to downtown St. Catherine, but also far enough away from the main crowd to be quiet.

Room Tip: There are two Rueben's restaurant nearby, and if you are a fan of Smoked Meats or Deli style res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingmanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager980, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear KingmanP,
Thank you for your praise of the service you received. Your positive comments will be passed along to our team.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Chateau on your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I went here for a conference in Feb 2012. I stayed in a double and the room size is nice. The room was facing the courtyard. The entire hotel is a strange layout. As far as I'm aware there is only two elevators to take you out. By lunch time the was a huge line of people waiting to use it. The service was mediocre. When I checked in the front desk didn't give me clear directions to get to my room and the layout is a little confusing. I also to ask the concierge a question and after waiting for a while the person walked away right when I got to the desk without even mentioning if he was coming back. Otherwise the hotel is very conveniently located. The hotel restaurant food was good with some originality in their menu. I didn't find the place to be extraordinary but average.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager980, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear kimfamilyof4,
I am sorry to read you felt our 5 elevators were not enough to serve your needs quickly. Please accept our apologies. If we failed to give you clear direction, we assure you it was not intentional. Your positive comments about our restaurant food will be shared with the entire team. Thank you and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

great location but hotel seems dated. I prefer the Hilton, which is next door and has a much better atmosphere. I will continue to stay to collect the points. The bed was comfortable and room was clean. The only complaint I had is that most Marriott's have a large bottle of water on the desk and this was not available in the room. I was on the 27th floor with nice view of downtown. Parking is not as versatile as other downtown hotels.

Room Tip: always get a high floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager980, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Bonjour brooklintravel,
We appreciate your comments and are greatful you still consider us when in Montreal. Hopefully our next phase of renovations will improve the overall atmosphere. I am happy to read that you found the location and food to your liking.
I sincerely hope you will continue visiting our hotel on your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and had no complaints. It was a perfect location because we were going to the Bell Centre for a hockey game - just a block away. The room was very clean and spacious, we were on teh 7th floor with a nice view of the city. The subway is also accessible right from the hotel which was great for some of our sight-seeing needs. The staff was very friendly. We did not eat at the hotel, or use room service so I cannot comment on either. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. We were in 720 and looked out over the Bell Centre to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkc904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager980, General Manager at Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear kkc904,
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Marriott Chateau Champlain.
We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#54 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain

Property: Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Address: 1050 de la Gauchetiere West, Montreal, Quebec H3B 4C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#35 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#37 Business Hotel in Montreal
#38 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,793 - ₹ 19,970
Hotel Class:4 star — Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chateau Champlain Hotel Montreal
Marriott Hotel Montreal
Marriott Montreal
Montreal Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing