We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of HI Montreal Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HI Montreal Hostel
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Unfortunately my experience at this hostel was less than satisfactory. I was told that this was a very good hostel to stay at and from the moment we checked in we were dissapointed. My friends and I were told that there was no hot water and there was nothing that could be done. Over the next two days that we used the bathroom, we didn't have any hot water and the staff seemed reluctant to update the guests on this situation. In these cases compensation must be delivered to guests of the hostel. How can you not have hot water in Montreal in winter? Unacceptable.

The other gripes we had were with the size of the room and the size of the bathroom. The four bedroom dorm that we were in was barely big enough for the three of us and the bathroom was so small that one barely fit inside. Very uncomfortable!

Also HI-Montreal, learn what a pub crawl is all about! Going to three places for a couple of hours is not a pub crawl! Worst pub crawl ever!

I should end with positives. The hostel is quite clean, no complaints on that front. Also it is in quite a good location so getting around Montreal from the hostel is not problem and they serve reasonably priced food and drink in the downstairs bar/cafeteria.

Overall unfortunately, I would no recommend this hostel for people to stay at based on the experiences of myself and my friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auberge H, Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Bonjour,

First of all, I apologize for all the hassle… We always try to be ready for all possible situations, but honestly we did not expect a water tank break on January 1st, when all the plumbers in town were on holidays. We managed that issue the best and quickest we could, but I understand it was not the best situation for the guests... Now the good news is that it is all fixed and it should not be a problem for the next couple of years! Yeah!!

Regarding our rooms, they have all different sizes and if some could be tight for 3 tall males, we should be more vigilant when we assign the beds at check-in… I’ll make sure to pass the message along! As for our free daily activities, I’m sorry some were not up to your expectations. Now, the other good news is that we’ve just promoted one of our senior staff to the programming coordination position… Knowing him, I’m sure that he will help to raise the quality standards of the activities (including the pub crawl) for the benefit of all!

Finally, I would like to thank you for your feedbacks as it is the best way for us to move on with improvements. From all the other comments online, we're normally pretty good at meeting everyone's expectations and should you give us a second chance, I remain positiv that we would be up to the challenge,

Bon voyage,

Nicolas Lemaire , Manager HI-Montréal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    176
    59
    17
    6
See reviews for
17
42
166
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I was booked in for five nights in a private room but after I went to my room I returned to reception and cancelled three (due to the cancellation policy). Although my room was clean and quiet the only window faced right into the common area, meaning anyone could see into my room. On top of that the room was freezing cold because of the intense AC. I went up to ask if there was a way I could control it in my room and I was told there were no separate controls and that maybe I should turn the heat on. Nice. So I did, but because the heating vent is under the bed and in the corner - it did nothing.

My room came with a TV but in order to get a remote I had to hand over my driver's license. Why they don't just take $10 and hold it until the remote is returned...I do not understand. People need their ID and running back and forth to the busy reception is a waste of valuable time.

When I went to check out the female staff member was either horribly hungover and just rude by nature.

I lost my sunglasses there and inquired by email if anyone had found them and I received no reply.

This is a hostel...it has good amenities and SOME members of staff are lovely. The location is just fine. But guess what? I went on Hotwire and for $10 more a night I got a room at the Hilton and was treated well and slept in total comfort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelSkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auberge H, General Manager at HI Montreal Hostel, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Bonjour,

It's a hostel, indeed! But a good hostel I shall add... Well, normally!...

Reading the last 3 reviews, I must say that I am a little exasperated... We're usually a blast for all travelers visitng us but it seems that around new years we failed for various reasons.. Hot water thank break, an air conditioned working too good... Is that what we call Murphy's law??!

That being said, I would like to highlight that we're a team of young travelers passionate about our work... We'll go through all comments listed in the feedbacks and see how we can improve on them, while pushing on aspects that we're good. I like to think that we are one of the best hostel in town (maybe the world ?:)) and we'll work twice as hard in order to remain so!

Best Regards and Bon Voayage,
Nicolas Lemaire, hostel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This place is exactly like the city outside its doors; fun, friendly, welcoming and eager to help you have a good time. I didn't hang around much at the hostel, but anytime I was here I felt comfortable and had everything I needed from a place to stay.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are well set up and clean and the beds are comfy. The location is also great; the Metro and Bell Centre are both just around the corner, Rue Sainte-Catherine is only a short walk away and is packed with shops and cafes. plus the side streets running across it are also full of cool little bars and restaurants. The 747 express to and from the airport is right across the road. I doubt that there is a hostel in a better location anywhere else in the city.

One other reviewer mentioned that they could have gotten a hotel for the same price. I think that any hotel you could stay in for the same price would be in a lot worse condition and wouldn't have the same kind of staff or fun and relaxed vibe that they have here.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I loved this place. Great location, excellent kitchen and common areas. It even has a bar downstairs that sells some pretty good meals. The bar however does mean that it's far too noisy to actually watch anything in the "tv room", maybe they could curtain this area off? The daily tours that the hostel runs are great, join in, see the sights with a local and meet some of your awesome fellows travellers. The downside? The website/brochure says free wifi throughout the hostel. You can't get wifi in the rooms so you need to sit in the noisy bar area. Apart from that, a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The hostel is in a great location! It's easy to get to places within the city. It's also very clean. I didn't have any issues with the cleanliness.

However, the prices listed online are for members, and when we arrived we were charged roughly 25 dollars more (for 2 nights) than we anticipated. For the money we spent there we could have gotten a hotel room. It does say that the prices are for members on all websites, but it's not well advertised. We weren't the only ones surprised at check-in. We were at the desk area when three other groups checked in and all were surprised by the price of their rooms.

Also, parking is said to be included with the price of the room. It's clearly advertised on the website, another reason we thought staying at the hostel would be a better price than a hotel. However, there is no parking anywhere near the hostel. They claim that they have never offered parking. We arrived on a Montreal Canadiens hockey game night and parking was very scarce and prices were inflated. We shelled out an additional 29 dollars for parking.

If the hostel would just list the proper prices, and not rely on getting people in the doors with false advertising, it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,389 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#67 of 164 in Montreal
646 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#40 of 164 in Montreal
1,637 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
M Montreal
M Montreal
#1 of 95 in Montreal
336 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Samesun Montreal Central
Samesun Montreal Central
#2 of 95 in Montreal
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Montreal Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Montreal Hostel

Property: HI Montreal Hostel
Address: 1030 Mackay, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,595 - ₹ 8,131
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Montreal Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HI-Montreal Youth Hostel is dedicated to making you discover the best of the city! We’re not only centrally located in downtown Montreal, close to Irish pubs, supermarkets, microbreweries, restaurants, a pool hall and even an all-you-can-eat Indian buffet, but we also organize several daily activities, such as pubcrawls, urban walks, skating and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your HI Montreal Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Montreal Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing