We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel near Bell Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #51 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gatineau, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel near Bell Centre”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We have stayed on a number of occasions at this hotel and always had an enjoyable stay. The rooms are nice, clean and well decorated. They are also a good size and the beds - and bedding - are comfortable. Ultimately though the reason we keep coming back is the outdoor pool opened year round. It is just awesome to be swimming outside when the temperature is minus 20!
As others have stated, the hotel is situated on the top floors of a small building and the layout is a bit strange. The decor of the hotel itself is very much in the "it's 1972 and I am an architect who loves concrete" style but in the end it works.
Also, I found that the hotel often has some good deals and you can get a room there for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLarok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    877
    357
    110
    72
See reviews for
511
604
97
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I would say the best part of this hotel was that it was central to almost everything and that the concierge was amazing!

To start with the negatives: The pictures are a lot nicer than what it was like in person. Our window overlooked a "courtyard" which was on the rooftop, so we didn't really get to really see how high we actually were. We also were then unable to open our window, open the shades or curtains because if anyone was outside in this courtyard, they would be able to see directly into our room.

The positives: Chantal, our concierge was awesome and gave us REALLY great recommendations. I have to try to remember what they were to write reviews, but she really knew what to recommend that would fit with the couple. She gave us some really trendy, late night venues where locals hang out, which was EXACTLY what we were looking for. Another great thing is that we were also able to walk everywhere! This hotel is so central to so much, we were able to see a lot just by walking. The underground train is also in the same building, so we were able to use that too, which was really great.

We weren't able to use the pool since it was June and it was too cold. It actually rained about 70% of the time we were in Montreal. We also really didn't eat there. But, the bartender that we had (I cannot remember his name now) was really friendly and really great too. He knew a lot about beer, especially "local" beer and gave my boyfriend a bunch of new kinds to try.

All in all, the Bonaventure really knows how to hire their staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the courtyard, but that has a city view or something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Sarab555:
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that the accommodations were not to your liking. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure Chantal is made aware of how much you appreciated her service.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel is a 20min taxi ride ($40 flat rate) from Trudeau airport, and you're delivered to a set of glass doors and door men that get you into the and explain how to get to the lobby with practiced easy. As other have mentioned, the hotel in on top on a building and a short elevator ride is required to get to the lobby - admittedly, its not the fastest elevator you'll ever ride in, but does that really matter?

Check-in was very efficient, and instructions on how to find the room given when the key was handed over. Again, as most people mention, they layout is odd, consisting of a number of half floors up and down from the reception level. Have to admit the bare concrete walls are not the most appealing interior but the various paintings on the wall do their best to distract you from this. The rooms are a good size and the beds among the most comfortable I've come across. The double layer desk provides a nice amount of room to work when you need to, and the three levels of network access allow you to pick the one most appropriate for your needs - cheapest is free and is fine for checking email and simple surfing. If you're wanting stable VPN then the middle ($14) level was rock solid and there isn't a need to go for the highest. This tiered access is something more hotels should offer!

The bistro/bar area is comfortable and the food pretty good as well, ranging from Pizza Hut pizza to steaks,with nice sandwiches and salads. However, is it pricey and given there are a large number of good restaurants/pubs within a 15 min walk of the hotel then you can get a greater variety and save some money while also getting to see a bit more of the city.

One thing that sets this hotel apart from other, and others in the Hilton chain, is the willingness to help whenever you ask even when it's busy. Nothing seems to be too much of a problem for them, even when dealing with 500+ conference delegates trying to checkout on mass on the final day of a meeting.

One of the advantages of being up so high is the noticeable lack of traffic noise, especially if your room is on the inside of the building overlooking the rock garden. If you get one of the rooms at the end of the corridors then there's next to no noise from other guests walking past either. I'm sure this lack of noise, and the comfortable beds contributed to some of the best night sleep I've ever had in a hotel.

Some have wondered why Hilton would pick such a odd hotel and have questioned it's location - it is a handful of blocks from the main hotel strip - but if you consider the hotel has a large conference facility, and is also directly above another major conference venue the I think you have your answer; Two large conference locations in one block and you have a high occupancy whenever there's a meeting in town.

So, the hotel doesn't look like your typical Hilton either inside or out, but the service and rooms are a cut above the norm. Would have not hesitation in coming back here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windswept_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Windswept_traveller:
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and your time in Montreal. Indeed, our layout is definitely unique to the other Hiltons and hotels in the area. We are pleased that you will consider staying with us again and we look forward to your future visits.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

One of the better Hilton hotels. The staff were excellent, except please check your bill as mine was incorrect twice!!
executive lounge was a special haven after a working day.However charging for a glass of wine I thought was mean. Most executive lounges in other hotels include this.
Rooms good size
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: try to stay on the main floor by the lobby as there are no lifts, so if you get a room on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelvalIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Travelallreland:
Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us! We regret the inconvenience with your bill. On a positive note, we were glad to learn you enjoyed your time with us and please let us know if you need anything else from us to make your stay a great one.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

With a little extra $ per night, we decided to book the executive room with 2 double beds for 4 nights. It was SO worth it! Free access to the club lounge that offered unlimited bottled water and soft drinks, espresso beverage machine, hot chocolate all day long, also included breakfast, afternoon hors d'oeuvre, and evening snacks. This hotel calls the breakfast that they serve at the lounge "continental breakfast", I call it "full breakfast buffett"; egg dishes, other hot dishes change daily, all kinds of meat and cheese platter, pastries, muffins, bagels, fruits, cereal, etc. The hors d'oeuvre was excellent too, very good quality.

Check in and out were smooth. ALL the hotel staff there were either nice or very nice. Some were outstanding. We were always greeted by them and everybody was very helpful. There were few nights when I left a gratuity for the housekeeper, and she wrote us a thank you note each time. All these years we've been travelling, not even once (even in a 5-star hotel) we received a thank you note for the gratuity from the housekeeper.

My 2 and 8 year old enjoyed watching the ducks swimming on the rooftop ponds with all the waterfall. The swimming pool was nice and heated although it was 35F outside, we entered from the indoor part so we stayed warm as long as we stayed in the water. Only in Canada :)

The bedroom and bathroom was not the most luxurious and a bit on the smaller side but it was not crampy at all, and it was very clean and very well maintained. It had everything you need; safe, free wifi :), great shower water pressure, fridge where you could store your stuff, radio, and microwave by the ice vending machine.

The location was good too, very close to Rue St Catherine. Next door is subway station, and an indoor ice skating rink with food courts and cafes. The hotel itself has an access to the underground walkway throughout downtown however it's not stroller accessible. So we just ended up taking taxi most of the times because it was more convenience and cold outside, and it wasnt too expensive either for all 4 of us.

We purchased a day trip to Quebec City through the hotel, it was very nice and the price was reasonable I think. We got picked up at 7:30 and came back around dinner time. 3 hr each way by bus but it was comfortable.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay, we were very happy with this hotel and would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Book the executive club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, Director of Sales at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Mluv2travel:
Thank you for your excellent review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade to the executive rooms. Our new Club lounge is great for a light snack or an evening getaway. We look forward to seeing you again.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,605 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 165 in Montreal
1,586 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,411 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,409 - ₹ 28,942
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing