We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the cleaning staff are thiefs!!”
Review of Loft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loft Hotel
Ranked #77 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I left my iPhone in my room one day when I decided to go out exploring in Montreal and it was not there when I returned to my room later in the day! I complained to both the woman at the front desk as well as the manager and they said incredibly condescedingly that I must of been mistaken and lost it while I was walking around. The receptionist especially was incredibly rude. This is certainly not true because I had left it charging. I am appalled with this "Hotel" and their service! and extremely so that the cleaning staff or staff in general would have the audacity to STEAL from their customers! I am telling everybody I know to NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

We are very disturbed when guests are unnable to locate lost items. We can assure you that our staff is very reliable and regularly report forgotten items in guest rooms once guest have left.

We also encourage guest to not leave valuable or important items unattended in the room, this for both your and our staff's protection.

We are saddened that your stay with us was tarred by this incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 129 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is not a hotel. The staff here does not treat you like a guest. Careful to give your money to these people because they may be shut down at any point for not actually having a hotel license. They rent loft rooms on a nightly basis and should be listed on AirBnB not as a hotel. Also most of the rooms are across the hall from "Special Events Rooms" where they hold parties so I would steer clear unless you want people knocking on the door all night.

My experience was awful. When I checked into the "hotel" I asked if i could book an extra night. The guy manning the computer took my money. At night there was an event across the hall for must have been more then 200 people (imagine the foot traffic in front of your door, unbearable) I complained but they said they didnt have anywhere to move me. I asked if there was another event the next night, sure enough yes. I told them they needed to move me for the next night and the front desk staff told me no problem there was something available. The next morning I get a knock on my door from someone claiming to be a manager, she tells me in very broken english that someone had smelled smoke from my room and that they were going to keep my deposit. She also informed me that they didnt have any more rooms (even though I had paid already...) She then tried to keep my security deposit. After a horrible night of sleep I lost it, I demanded she bring the police to resolve the matter. When she left the room I tried calling the local hotel association and they said they were not listed as an actual hotel so they could not help me.

I was so disgusted by the situation I went to the front desk, demanded a refund for the 2nd night and my security deposit, threatening my lawyer to get involved and the better business bureau. The manager finally obliged and I was happy to get out of there but had to find another room for that night.

Bottom line, this is not a hotel, the staff does not know how to run it as a hotel and it is not even registered as a hotel so dont stay here.

Room Tip: Stay Away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zeeeeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hassan c, Manager at Loft Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

We are very disturbed to hear that your stay did not go well. The Hotel does have meeting and events space and unfortunately the event being hosted the evening of your stay was much louder than what is acceptable.
We are a fully liscenced hotel but because we only have 35 rooms, we cannot be a member of the Hotel Association. That is why they weren't able to help you.
Also, we have a strict non smoking policy which is why you were disturbed in your room. We were simply responding to a customer complaint and appologise if this incident contributed to your less than favorable stay.
The Loft Hotel has been in operation for almost two years now and has a loyal and happy clientèle. Although smaller than a chain type hotel, our professional and experienced staff are always saddened when guests leave unhappy. The Loft Hotel is a limited service hotel where emphasis is put on service rather than size.
We however want to thank you for your comments as they help us improve our customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel, very English friendly, good staff, most importantly the suite was stunning. had a whole kitchen that made me want to stay forever and super attractive and fun decor totally different than any "chain" hotel we usually stay in. Price was absolutely reasonable and location was nice and central. Great find!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annamaria j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We paid $127 including all taxes for 1 night (Jan 1), with complimentary breakfast. Based on the price, I got exactly what I expected (and a bit more). The room was incredibly spacious and well appointed. Large flat screen tv, bed with duvet, several windows that opened (for fresh air), leather sofa, and stainless steel appliances in good working condition.The bathroom was ok. The closest elevator to our room was the old-school caged elevator. It was a little tricky to use at first since you had to line the elevator up direclty with the floor level or else the door wouldn't open. Front desk staff was great too. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the hotel finishings were not quite impeccable, but for my 1 night stay, I didn't really care. My friend's room looked much more fresh and finished than my room did.

Overall, I'd probably stay here again and refer it to others.

Note to the hotel: perhaps keep an iron and ironing board in the room so that your clients don't have to go pick one up from the front desk, and also maybe supply those 'do not disturb signs' to advise housekeeping to not come in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyonnequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Loft Hotel was the worst hotel we have ever been too and we travel a lot!
Its all show and no action. Yes the rooms are very spacious and modern, but please don't let this fool ya! We spent the wknd. in Montreal, overall, Montreal is an awesome city and we had a good time, but the hotel was a downer, i would give it a -1 rating if i could. We checked in Friday eve. at 7pm. we noticed that the room had no cable? in this day and age, no cable? we let it slip, then we noticed the toilet didn't work, so we called and asked to get it fixed, they said that is not possible until Monday and the customer service was beyond poor. They don't have any maintenance workers on site - not good for a hotel!! they put us in another room, again, all show, as it was very nice. After 1 shower, we noticed the water wasn't going anywhere, yup, the shower drain wasn't working, they put us in room #3, pls. note we stayed there for only 2 nights!!!! poor ratio if you ask me. The 3rd room was again nice (ALL SHOW), we noticed the room was very cold, we tried to increase the heat, but there was no HEAT, we called to complain about this, the hotel staff said the heat comes on at 6pm to 6am?!!, pls. note, its November in Montreal! What an INSANE rule to have!! We packed our things and left, after a threat or 2 we got some of our $ back and we went to another hotel nearby and enjoyed the rest of our stay, in a place that provided great customer service, with a simple room that had the essentials working with no problems.

Room Tip: Just don't look at how the room looks, make sure everything is working in that room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FrangoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#46 of 165 in Montreal
665 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#26 of 165 in Montreal
479 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#53 of 165 in Montreal
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Best Western Plus Hotel Montreal
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#38 of 165 in Montreal
398 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#87 of 165 in Montreal
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft Hotel

Address: 334 Terrasse St Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: ₹ 8,657 - ₹ 23,206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loft Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than a Hotel- Better than a Hotel ! LUXURY FOR YOUR LIFESTYLE. A stunning Montreal landmark, Le Loft Hotel combines fascinating architectural history with modern design and stylish amenities in the heart of downtown Montreal. Located near the famous Latin Quarter on beautiful Terrace St-Denis Street, guests of Le Loft Hotel will enjoy world-class service, luxurious rooms and some of the best panoramic vistas of Montreal the city has to offer. Well-appointed and fully equipped lofts, Le Loft Hotel offers the ideal solution for both short and long-term accommodation in Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing