We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half good, half average”
Review of Mas Cuisine - CLOSED

Mas Cuisine
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We were driving through Montreal, and was fortunate to score a table for 6 pm by calling at 5:30pm. The young lady who took the reservation and ended up serving us was great. Great smiles and great device. The gentleman who managed the front of the house was dour, not a smile the whole evening (that's the way he treated all of the patrons), and not a " you're welcome" when we said thank you when he poured water. Wow, he must the the most emotionless guy ever.
Entree were steak tartar (very flavorful) and pork belly ( very oily/greasy with a underwhelming sauce). Mains were piglet (soft moist and perfectly seasoned with fabulous lentils and roasted artichoke) and duck magrat ( so which semi- competent home cook cannot pan sear a duck breast, wilted greens with pecans; mismatched and incongruous). Dessert were pot-o-creme with vanilla ice-cream?, a brownie and an almond cookie (let's see what else we can find to put on a plate to fill it up) and a pear and sour cream cake with pear sorbet ( unbelievably moist and peachy cake with a perfect crust and matched impeccably with the peach sorbet).
So, exactly one half great food and service; and the other half was pretty mediocre.
My wife and I shared everything, so half good and half bad all around.

3  Thank PLTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

This restaurant, actually in the Verdun suburb of Montreal, truly has upped its game. We ate here 3 years ago when it was fairly new and found it to be somewhat humdrum. Not this time.

It is a small place with a limited selection, prix fixe menu. There were 8 of us, so we sampled most of what they had and all dishes were excellent, including desserts. The service was top quality as well. Our only complaint was the coffee, but minor in the overall pecking order.

Date of visit: June 2012
1  Thank UESfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Four of us booked 10 days ahead at Mas Cuisine on Wellington Street in Verdun but surprisingly on this Tuesday night, it was quite empty which meant we had the full attention of chef and charming waiter. The style of cuisine is very original and delicious. As well,the cost is very reasonable owing to the policy of entree, main and dessert priced at the price of the main around $46 per person As well, the wine list is most fair, our white burgundy came at $31 so we had a couple of 'em. My starter was albacore tuna with a wonderful accompaniment I can't remember in detail and my main was magret de canard and confit combined with vegetables. We had a perfect evening and managed to park right in front of the door, most welcome on a wet evening.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CandNMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

An early seating was perfect for us away from the hype of downtown. Entrees were the steak stare and the albacore tuna. The tartar was done perfectly, no overwhelming onion and not drowning in sauce or oil. Accompanied by endives and some garden onions it was perfect. The albacore tuna was also a happy mix of flavors grilled perfectly. The main was the scallops which were done perfectly as well. The accompanying greens were different than I would expect, consisting of snap peas and some other market veggies, but nonetheless, excellent. The lamb was also excellent. What is great to now is that nothing was salty beyond recognition. The favors were all present, and the dessert was also sublime. All in all an excellent experience that confirmed my belief that good food is still alive and well in Montreal. Dinner for two, two beers and one wine glass with tip: 150.

Thank mtlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

In the cab, leaving the center of Montreal for one of the less-popular neighborhoods, all I could think is "what have I gotten myself into"! What indeed...as this restaurant can hold its own with the finest fares in all of Montreal.

Admittedly, the neighborhood isn't much to look at...perfectly safe, but still one that people wouldn't be stroll up and down the streets window shopping.

Instead, Mas Cuisine is located in a quiet local neighborhood and serves up its five-star cuisine without fuss, but with excellent service. The menu is simple, but with diversity of flavors and tastes for even the pickiest of eaters (like me). And simply put, the food is outstanding. No "minimalist" approach here. The food is plentiful, with an excellent blend of flavors and textures.

The pricing is straight forward (prix fixe) and a relative bargain given the pricing at other Montreal eateries.

It's a relatively smaller space (only about 12 tables), so please DON'T tell anyone about this place!!! We need to keep this restaurant a secret so that we can secure a table the next time we're in Montreal.

Date of visit: May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DuncanTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mas Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing