We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all-around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Excellent all-around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here two days during s visit to Old Montreal. Location = 10/10, could not be better. Staff helpfulness = 10/10. Did not eat here but hotel had a nice restaurant and patio. Would absolutely stay here again. Valet parking is pretty well mandatory but don't fight it because ... there is, frankly, no parking available in Old Montreal, anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    351
    74
    28
    20
See reviews for
139
1,066
50
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I just spent 5 nights at the Auberge du Vieux-Port for my honeymoon in Montreal. While the room was certainly nicer than your average hotel room, I do not know that it was worth the extra money we paid for it. For one thing, the room we received was in a separate building from the main hotel and up about six flights of stairs. Also, on one set the railing was extremely unstable. I know that part of the hotels charm resides in its location in an old building; however, when I shell out over $200 a night plus tax, I expect an elevator. I feel as though the hotel should have been clearer about that. Other than this there were a number of things I noticed that I will list below.

Pros:

Centrally located. I could walk to most of the places I wanted to go from this hotel.

Charming building

Stylish and spacious rooms

Very comfortable bed.

Cons:
Expensive

Touristy over-rated neighborhood with jacked up prices. I felt as though I was in Disney land as the area felt artificially preserved. I preferred areas such as le plateau and the latin quarter that gave me more of a glimpse of real life in Montreal.

Stairs

Thin walls. There was a ton of noise at outside at night from revelers and from garbage trucks, etc. in the morning. I could hear everything, even someone in the next room sneezing.

Lack of amenities. For the money, this place didn't include much--no continental breakfast and parking was $28 a day plus tax.

Overall, I would say that this is a nice hotel, but there are probably better ones for the money in Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autumn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Vernon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I found Auberge du Vieux-Port listed in Frommer's and liked the summer special where the third night was half price. We had a very long travel day and were thrilled with the complimentary drink in the bar when we arrived. We were a bit nervous about communication since we are not French speakers but it was absolutely no problem as everyone we encountered was bilingual.

Beds were excellent, wonderful rain shower, delicious made to order breakfasts included each day, very experienced staff

It is very centrally located to many, many things in Montreal. The staff was very helpful in booking shuttles and taxis as well.

Try it! You will love the experience!

Room Tip: We were in 209 and it was quiet as it was not on the front side. Loved that the windows opened on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifemovesforward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here on Monday, 30 July 2012, spending two full days in Montreal. Auberge du Vieux-Port is a delightful boutique hotel, mere steps from the St. Lawrence River. You can exit the rear of the hotel onto Rue St. Paul, a cobblestone street with block after block of restaurants, cafes, and shops. We planned on dining at the hotel's rooftop terrace restaurant (great view) but a severe thunderstorm that evening closed it just as we arrived. Our dinner experience in Taverne Gaspar on the ground floor was a very pleasant alternative with excellent service and good food.

The hotel is built in the renovated shell of an old stone, commercial building on the waterfront in Old Montreal. Our room faced the waterfront and was surprisingly quiet that night. Walls are stone and brick face. Vaulted ceilings show the open timber frame. The bathroom was luxurious, likely the largest hotel bathroom we ever experienced. My wife didn't want to get out of the shower (rainfall nozzle overhead with three front sprays on the wall). The bed was the best hotel bed we ever slept in. We woke up well rested and ready for another day of touring the city. We had a large, flat screen TV though we weren't inside long enough to watch it. Free Wi-Fi enabled us to check on the local sites. We valet parked and didn't need the car again until we left.

Included in the room Rate was a complimentary “welcome drink”. We opted for a refreshing cold beer at Taverne Gaspar’s sidewalk café after our long day of touring. They have a great selection on draught, including local microbrews. Good wine selection as well. Also included was a full breakfast in Taverne Gaspar. You have a choice of made-to-order selections along with a variety of continental breakfast choices set up on the bar (try the chocolate filled crescents). These features added considerable value to our stay.

The location is hard to beat with so many nearby attractions and a short walk (couple of blocks) to the Metro. Rent a bike for about $7 just a few doors down the street and ride the riverfront path. There are more nearby restaurants and cafes than you'll have time to visit. Several museums are within walking distance.

Neither of us speaks a word of French. But the entire staff was bilingual and conversed with us at length in English. We've travelled to many places, meeting many people, so it is with considerable experience that we found the friendliness of the Auberge staff to be extraordinary. This hotel knows that the hotel staff is just as important as hotel amenities, if not more. The concierge and the front desk staff were exceptionally helpful and a delight to meet. A recommendation to try the “Jardin Nelson” outdoor café for lunch was especially appreciated. It was one of the highlights of our visit. When we checked out on Tuesday morning, the concierge stored our bags for us. We were able to come back later in the day and our car was ready out front with bags inside ready to depart.

Our only regret was not having time to stay longer. There’s no doubt we will be back!

Room Tip: Hotel front is waterfront, the higher the floor the better the view. But hotel rear faces Rue St. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

The old adage about the 3 most important factors for a successfull business being Location, Location, and Location are perfectly represented here. The Auberge du Vieux-Port is perfectly located in Old Motreal's vibrant heart. A stunning and unobstructed view of the waterfront and a very handy back exit directly onto Rue St. Paul's pedestrian only area made this hotel any easy choice for a weeklong stay in Montreal. The room was absolutely breathtaking and exactly what we envisioned. Old World charm with modern comforts. Exposed brick walls, hardwood floors, large window that opened up to let the breeze in (with window seats to sit with a glass of wine and watch everything on Rue de la Commune and the beautiful greenspace along the St. Lawrence.) Everything we needed was right there. The valet parking, the restaurant next door (Tavern Gaspar, which serves a free hot breakfast to hotel guest each morning,) bike rental, subway, shops, bars and Cafes, restaurants, simply everything. All within an easy walk or right at the hotel. The lobby is one of the most comfortable I have ever been in. Large comfortable chairs and plush rugs facing open windows just above steet level made for a perfect place to relax, enjoy a drink, and use the hotel WiFi on our portable device. At 5PM each night, the rooftop lounge opens. It covers the entire roof front to back and affords a panoramic view of the entire area. It is the only one on the block so you feel as if you are at a private and select club. Sit and relax and watch the boats on the river, enjoy a glass of wine and a small plate menu, and listen to the unobtrusive and extremely relaxing music mix they play there. Very enjoyable amenity. Finally, what makes any hotel stay most enjoyable; the Staff. Warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and ready for any question or need. I can not believe how well treated the staff at the Auberge du Vieux-Port treated each guest. American, Canadian, or other, all got the same incredible service and with genuine smiles. We spent an entire week at the hotel and could easily have spent months. My only complaints? An elevator that most impatient Americans will not tolerate had us taking the stairs constantly. After a day biking and walking around Montreal, climbing those stairs every day was not welcome. The only other complaint was even though the shower was a mutli-jetted marvel to enjoy, there was no place to set down a bar of soap or bottle of shampoo. A small shelf would have been most appreciated. All in all, we highly recommend this hotel for any length stay.

Room Tip: Rooms along the shared outer walls have the original exposed old stone. Rooms facing the river are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,164 - ₹ 24,599
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing