We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property and friendly proprietor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Gite Dezery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Gite Dezery
Ranked #21 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent property and friendly proprietor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The B&B is in a residential neighborhood outside of downtown Montreal. Subway stop is about 2 blocks away with easy access. Very good restaurants within walking distance. Gilles is an excellent host and provided us with delicious breakfasts and recommendations for visiting the area. We will definitely stay again on our next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
73
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed for 4 nights during the Grand Prix. I had read excellent reviews about this B&B and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, the Moroccan, and loved it. It was immaculately clean and very stylishly decorated. It has a lovely little balcony off of it, which we really enjoyed. There is a large 2 person jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, that was much appreciated after the crowds of Grand Prix. The location is excellent...a short walk to the subway, restaurants and grocery store. There is ample parking on the street and the neighbourhood is very safe and quiet. The owner, Gilles, is very friendly and helpful. He had excellent suggestions for restaurants and entertainment. Best of all were the gourmet breakfasts he prepared each morning. We really looked forward to seeing what he would serve each day. They were super healthy and delicious and they gave us a great start each day for the Grand Prix. We will gladly stay there the next time we are in Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brontecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Originally we were undecided whether to choose a hotel, B&B or self-catering option for the start of our Canadian holiday. I would now recommend the Gite Dezery to anyone who wants a boutique-style option in a neighbourhood away from the downtown hotels. Giles is a very friendly host who has put a lot of creative, stylish and practical ideas into his gite. Think contemporary decor, original artwork and stylish bathrooms, rather than flowered wallpaper, chintz and mould that can still be found in too many British B&B locations.

His attitude towards his guests can perhaps best be summarised by him inviting me to accompany him on his early morning trip to the local market (to buy fresh croissants and fruit for the breakfasts), during which he proudly pointed out locals sights and such. Although you won`t see too many other tourists in the neighbourhood, it is perfectly safe and we enjoyed exploring where the locals shop, eat, drink and relax. Downtown is a mere 15 minutes or so door-to-door by metro and a large modern supermarket is only a block away from the gite. We shared stories in French and English with fellow guests from Quebec, America, France and Britain over the delicious breakfasts.

Although Giles went on vacation with his family during our stay, Lillian was equally friendly, enthusiastic and accomodating. She was always pleased to chat about our plans for the day, offering advice and tips along the way.

In summary, we couldn`t have asked for a more friendly and stylish start to our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tw
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on the recommendation of another B&B which was full. The stay was very pleasant. We had one the smaller rooms with a jacuzzi bath. The decor was stylish and the place was spotless.
The owner was away but the lady running it was very helpfull and friendly.
The place is a 10 min walk from the subway so getting around is easy. Car parking is in the street and wasn't a problem.
Breakfast was excellent even though we would have prefered an omlette rather than French toast on our 2nd day - we didn't ask but I am sure the lady would have accomodated this.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campiTw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed five days at this B&B. Very clean. Excellent breakfast every day. Gilles is an excellent host, very personable, whose English is more than just adequate. I enjoyed the location. Quiet residential street, especially so in the evenings. Just a block away from Loblaws supermarket, which has everything one would need. ATM is right up at the corner at the Desjardins branch. You can also do money conversion there. I was always able to find a parking spot on the street, never more than eight car lengths from B&B. All rooms are different. Ours was shower only, but quite adequate for us,and very clean and new. Gilles has done a marvelous job on this B&B. Not far from Botanical Gardens, but easy to get anywhere from here. Bus right up at corner. Metro is about 1/2 mile walk away. Get the 3-day Metro pass. No fancy business center, but always-available laptop allowed web-access.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishmael_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Hotel Universel Montreal
Hotel Universel Montreal
#78 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Le Sieur De Joliette
Le Sieur De Joliette
#70 of 144 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Gite Ocoin B&B
Gite Ocoin B&B
#18 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Terra Nostra
#7 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#25 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Gite Dezery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Gite Dezery

Property: Le Gite Dezery
Address: 3545 Rue Dezery, Montreal, Quebec H1W 2S8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,434 - ₹ 9,373
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dezery Bed and Breakfast is very well located. Minutes by walk from Olympic park, on which we can find the stadium, the biodome, starcite cinema, the botanical garden, the insectarium, Maisonneuve park and the Maurice "Rocket" Richard arena. Also located a minute's walk away, Prefontaine subway station will lead you to the heart of the downtown in a few minutes. You can also find all the services like grocery store, bank, liquor store, and drugstore near the B&B by walk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing