We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge du Carre St-Louis
Ranked #37 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a B&B but had the feel of a boutique hotel. I was quite pleased with my stay at Auberge du Carre St-Louis. The location is perfect - across the street from a metro stop. Around the corner from all the party spots and restaurants. I spent little time in my room. Just sleeping and getting dressed to go out. It was very comfortable. I am a difficult sleeper but i slept easily. I had a room on the top floor overlooking St. Denis. (the 4th floor with no elevator is ok except for luggage) The rooms were clean and well kept but a bit on the small side. Though my room seemed to be bigger than some others. The breakfast was weird to me but convenient. Placed in your refrigerator the night before. A croissant, muffin, boiled egg, fruit, yogurt, juice and cheese. I think there was coffee and jam etc. All very cold of course - the juice and croissant were ok. I was not a fan but its technically free as the price for the hotel was very good. parking is difficult and the hotel has a few odd spots to the back of the hotel so i suggest you pay extra for one.

Overall this was a resting place during my visit to Montreal - perfect for that. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms are quiet and clean. Not a place for young kids or elder persons in my opinion. But perfect for people not spending much time in their room.

Room Tip: Ask for lots of windows.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank know i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Carre St-Louis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have always wanted to stay here the website looks so inviting and this past weekend I did.Right on St Denis this three story walk up is everything and more that it claims.Attention to detail is the key to their success.Nothing was missed.From the water in your room when you arrive to the napkin on the cup and saucer for your morning coffee.Breakfast is in your fridge each night already for the next day.The bed was more then comfortable for a good night sleep.I booked a massage and would very much recommend this.There is a room on the top floor so no need to travel outside very pleasant and professional.All staff very friendly and helpful.Will return for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Every holiday presents you with a dud & this was it for us after 40 days traveling. Everything from the stairs to either the 3rd or 4th floor rooms ie no elevator, to paper thin walls, poor service & to constant traffic noise & the list goes on made this a most unpleasant sleepless stay for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Husky20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here during a conference trip in Spring 2011. We picked this Auberge for its location, in a great neighbourhood and near a Metro (subway) stop. The price was very good. The room ("Navarre") was comfortable but small, especially with the large bed (which was very comfortable). The bathroom was also small and a bit tired. Noise from Carré Saint-Louis was not an issue for us, and the door from our room directly to the balcony was great. The spa on the roof was great, but very exposed to the midday sun. The breakfast was plentiful, and always delivered early in our case. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is a place for those who like small independent hotels with a bit of eclectic charm off the beaten path, not chain hotels and cookie-cutter rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nameleftblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Very unsatisfactory stay at Auberge Carré Saint Louis in Montreal for the following reasons:

Room on Rue St Denis is noisy and other continuous noise from the building can be heard all night

Cold breakfast is brought in the room on the eve, supposedly between 7 – 9 pm, but often is delivered past 9 p.m and on one occasion at 10 p.m while sleeping.

The reception stated that they were flexible and could swap food items that we do not eat. We accepted the offer and stated, among the proposed options, what we wanted. Yet, nothing was changed.

Some of the food items were inedible and one could wonder if the beverage could be named coffee!

We requested to change our room for a more quite one. The latter was indeed very small with no spaces to put up one’s clothes. The door of the corridor that leads to the room was so badly fixed that every time the door swings back to the closed position, our room was shaken (literally). The heating in the room was an absolute nightmare, with either too cold or too hot leading to dehydration during the night.

Needless to say that despite we were promised a less noisy room, it took us 2 hours to have the room changed, to end up in a rat cage.

DO NOT rely on the pictures you see on the web – sweet and glossy, but actual fact is another matter. Very disappointing and will flag this up to Quebec Tourism.

John & Aiyshwaria.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mimizermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#26 of 165 in Montreal
471 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
Anne Ma Soeur Anne
#87 of 165 in Montreal
125 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#41 of 165 in Montreal
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#5 of 147 in Montreal
229 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#16 of 147 in Montreal
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Carre St-Louis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Carre St-Louis

Address: 3466 rue St-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3L3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: ₹ 5,464 - ₹ 15,685 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du Carre St-Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Auberge du Carré St-Louis. This is how we’ll greet you when you arrive. We like to keep things simple, and our services were designed with your comfort and pleasure in mind.Located in the very heart of Montreal, in the Latin Quarter, the Auberge puts shows, festivals and boutiques within easy walking distance.Located directly across the street from the Sherbrooke métro station, the Auberge gives out onto a unique cityscape: Carré St-Louis, which has witnessed Montreal’s cultural history and has over the decades been home to writers, poets, musicians and visual artists, who collectively have given the square its special charm and personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge du Carre St-Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Carre St-Louis Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing