We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The location was good for us as we were looking for a quiet neighborhood walking distance from the bus station (10 minutes) and the old town (20 minutes).
We stayed on the top floor in the back in a room called deMaisonneuve.
We got no neighborhood noise. There was some internal noise from the bathroom next to our room. But it had to be quieter than being on the street side.

The bed was comfortable. There's not a lot of room to put your stuff. Our AC was not noisy, but provided a gental low level white noise that i like to sleep with.

We opted for the additional purchase of some macaroons which were in a variety of interesting flavors. You can't go wrong there.

Breakfast was freshly made and plentiful. You won't go hungry. We enjoyed the fresh cooked specials each morning.

We stay at a lot of small B&Bs and the hosts are usually warm accepting people that make you feel special. Don't expect that here. The best approach is to sit back, enjoy the show and don't take any of it personal. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again (if we haven't now been banned for writing anything less than a glowing review).

Room Tip: rooms in front are larger with seating, rooms in back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016

Gingerbread Manor not only provides a place to sleep but lively entertainment as one of their amenities! And Ephraim's macrons! Totally delicious! The boys are totally engaging, full of fun, teasing, and jokes!

Make sure to get a spot in the parking garage since parking outside is limited. You will be glad you did.

Here I sit at work, wishing I was at Gingerbread Manor….!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank DCE2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

We are overjoyed that you enjoyed staying with us. Ephraim works hard to make those macaron and come up with unusual and interesting flavours. His white chocolate & wasabi are back in stock and he made Irish Cream last time.... and such a nice add-on! You made our day with your review. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Gingerbread! Our Host's were knowledge on the sites of the City + Restaurant recommendations. Ephraim prepared awesome breakfasts with tasty homemade preservers. Great location near Metro, easy walking distance to Old Montreal and downtown. Beautiful Neighborhood, close to shops and restaurants.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Lorie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you Lorie. We so love it when guests leave happy. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Charming b&b very well located in the heart of Montreal.The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. We also loved the breakfast !One of the host made blueberry pancakes and they were fabulous. Would recommend to reserve one of the two parking spot available in the inside garage (10$ per day). Would certainly go back again when I'll stop in Montreal.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you Philippe, we appreciate it and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I agree with previous reviewer. One of the owners has a very superior attitude. We enjoy B and Bs because it usually affords us an opportunity to learn and share in the locality. In this case it was very uncomfortable as most of the conversation was critical of "Americans".
Location was very close to public transport. Guest rooms and bathrooms were nice. Common areas, outdoor deck and food prep areas were unclean.
It would have been helpful if they had some maps and tourist info available.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

We regret you didn't enjoy your stay.

Yes, as you noted, we are proudly Canadian, but that does not mean we dislike guests from other countries. We're proud of our heritage as you are of yours. As we hope all guests are proud of where they live. Every country is different, different isn't better or worse, it's just different. If all the countries weren't different and proud, we would have no need to travel to see how wonderful the world really is.

As for your mentioning areas of the house you deemed 'unclean', we stand fully behind our housekeepers and the excellent work they do as many others have noted over the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 166 in Montreal
329 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Petite Auberge Les Bons Matins
Quartier des Spectacles
Angelica Blue Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plateau Mont-Royal
Auberge de La Fontaine
Auberge de La Fontaine
#13 of 144 in Montreal
395 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#5 of 144 in Montreal
239 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Maison Des Jardins
Maison Des Jardins
#11 of 144 in Montreal
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3445 Avenue Laval, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3C7, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: ₹ 5,547 - ₹ 7,858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gingerbread Manor welcomes you to Montreal. Located in a manor house built in 1885. This delightful B&B invites you to enjoy a comfortable bed, a wonderful breakfast and Victorian splendour. Located in downtown Montreal near Square St-Louis. Close to most downtown and old Montreal points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Manor Bed And Breakfast
Gingerbread Manor Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing