We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
273
58
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
58
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomchamplain roomother guestsgracious hostsgreat neighborhoodsherbrooke metroschwartz's deliprivate bathwithin walking distancecable tvmontreal experienceold montreallocation was perfectmetro stopyvesephraimgarage
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Gingerbread Manor not only provides a place to sleep but lively entertainment as one of their amenities! And Ephraim's macrons! Totally delicious! The boys are totally engaging, full of fun, teasing, and jokes!

Make sure to get a spot in the parking garage since parking outside is limited. You will be glad you did.

Here I sit at work, wishing I was at Gingerbread Manor….!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank DCE2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

We are overjoyed that you enjoyed staying with us. Ephraim works hard to make those macaron and come up with unusual and interesting flavours. His white chocolate & wasabi are back in stock and he made Irish Cream last time.... and such a nice add-on! You made our day with your review. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Gingerbread! Our Host's were knowledge on the sites of the City + Restaurant recommendations. Ephraim prepared awesome breakfasts with tasty homemade preservers. Great location near Metro, easy walking distance to Old Montreal and downtown. Beautiful Neighborhood, close to shops and restaurants.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Lorie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you Lorie. We so love it when guests leave happy. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Charming b&b very well located in the heart of Montreal.The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. We also loved the breakfast !One of the host made blueberry pancakes and they were fabulous. Would recommend to reserve one of the two parking spot available in the inside garage (10$ per day). Would certainly go back again when I'll stop in Montreal.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you Philippe, we appreciate it and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

I agree with previous reviewer. One of the owners has a very superior attitude. We enjoy B and Bs because it usually affords us an opportunity to learn and share in the locality. In this case it was very uncomfortable as most of the conversation was critical of "Americans".
Location was very close to public transport. Guest rooms and bathrooms were nice. Common areas, outdoor deck and food prep areas were unclean.
It would have been helpful if they had some maps and tourist info available.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

We regret you didn't enjoy your stay.

Yes, as you noted, we are proudly Canadian, but that does not mean we dislike guests from other countries. We're proud of our heritage as you are of yours. As we hope all guests are proud of where they live. Every country is different, different isn't better or worse, it's just different. If all the countries weren't different and proud, we would have no need to travel to see how wonderful the world really is.

As for your mentioning areas of the house you deemed 'unclean', we stand fully behind our housekeepers and the excellent work they do as many others have noted over the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The location is great, close to the metro, a lovely park and streets with many restaurants. The house is a beautiful old residence, on a shady street and with secure private parking available for a fee. The bathrooms are modern and kept clean and nice. The savoury hot breakfast was excellent, and the sweet one well prepared and presented but more usual and a bit sweet.

The worst thing was the very noisy room A/C unit, which prevented us from enjoying a deep refreshing sleep every night. it was too hot to sleep without it, and too noisy to sleep with it on. This is not the first review to complain about a loud disturbing A/C unit. The sheets and the pillow cases were 100% polyester, which do not have the cool comfort of 100% cotton.

Old houses need a lot of on-going maintenance and there were areas where the house looked tired and worn. The paint on some of the woodwork on doors and trim, some doors and windows could not be opened, the hallway rug was a bit ripped and needed a good cleaning, the old porch is in poor repair in places.

The dining room was hot and stuffy in the mornings. Poor separation between it and the private owners' room adjoining it: sounds of morning coughing and clearing of throat audible to guests at the breakfast table, and owner emerging into public space while still fastening belt and with t-shirt exposing belly.

The dining table does not accommodate all the guests, so two are asked (firmly directed) to sit at the bar counter situated on the pass through between the kitchen and dining room. The stools are too low for the counter for a person of average height and eating here feels like being a dog at its bowl, your plate is up near your chest. Guests at the bar sit with their backs to the other guests at the table, and face to face with the owners who are a few feet away making the breakfast at the kitchen counter below the pass through.

The choice of cereals was not to our taste. Mostly processed cereals, including a kids' one: brightly coloured sugary pops/puffs; whole grain or fibre rich cereal were scarce and Raisin Bran was not offered. Only flavoured and sugar laden oat flakes, no plain regular ones.

The owner's half joking half mocking comments to guests can cross the line from good humour to inappropriate personal remarks with a sarcastic edge.

Unfortunately, this B and B could be run a lot more efficiently. Slip ups and critical reviews are deflected with a folksy "Aw shucks, we're just loveable old rascals", or "If you had asked, you would not have had a problem". A "take us as you find us" attitude can lead to a comfortable bubble of not maintaining the high standards that many other B and B owners aim for and often achieve.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fisheagle2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadManor, Owner at Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

As you said, most of the issues you raised could have been solved had you told us immediately, rather than wait until you were home to write about it. Bringing it up now doesn't allow us, as innkeepers, to help you in any way. As we cater to a multitude of world travellers, we cannot please everyone, but we appreciate being given the chance to try. It would have been our pleasure to provide you with cotton sheets, ear plugs, oatmeal, and even asked someone else to sit at the bar, etc., had you told us, rather than decide to complain online when you got home.

We are rarely asked for cereals once a guest has tried our fabulous breakfasts that include such selections as French toast with blueberry & lavender syrup, freshly baked vegetable quiche or lemon poppy seed pancakes with raspberry syrup. We try to do all the maintenance in the winter months to limit the inconvenience and toxic smells, and so in the summer the wear and tear from guest luggage does show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews